We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Heritage Inn, Excellant Customer Service, Cheap Price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saskatoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 14 Saskatoon B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This B&B was an absolute pleasure to stay in. The rooms are beyond spacious - for $105.00 I got a private room, with full bath, kitchen, dinning & living area. The immaculately restored home is spacious, brimming with antiques, and has a stunning view of the the river below. The friendly and charming Innkeeper prepared a delicious vegan breakfast for me and made every effort to make my stay extra special. Would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cross_Country_Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

Tried to arrange a time with the operator for arrival. We agreed that 9 pm would work for both of us. What happened next defies my imagination. I arrived 15 minutes early and went to the door - everything was dark inside. I knocked loudly on the door - no answer. I knocked a second time loudly on the door - no answer. We waited in our parked vehicle out front until 9 pm - no one entered the house, no sign of life. I telephoned at 9 pm and the operator answered ... but hung up. I telephoned back and could only connect to the voice mail. By this time I was getting frustrated so we ended up taking a hotel. The next morning, the operator emailed with a single word message "insane" - no explanation, no apology or anything constructive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank hike20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

If you read the reviews from 2007 and 2008 you will see things like, great potential, serves breakfast in your room as the dinning area is under repair, well, here is it 2010 and nothing has changed. The dinning room is still under repair as is the kithcen and the rest of the house should be. We did see one very nice room, but that is it. I stayed in the Victorian, the bath tub does not have a shower but there is a hand held shower fixture, but no shower curtain. The towels were old, "hard" and smelt terrible. The small "kitchen" was not what I would call useable. The light switch did not have a face plate over it but a piece of wall paper over it. The hardwood floorts move under tyou feet and creak like crazy. Sadly while Mari is a very nice lady, I would recommen you do not stay here. There are many many other issues with this B&B. This is not the place to say.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillybare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

This inn has cleaned up a little bit compared to that described in previous reviews, but there are still plenty of dust bunnies. Little effort is put into preparing the rooms for the guests. For example, our room, the Joan Chase suite, had a giant dead potted plant blocking half of the kitchenette floor, and there were cassette tapes strewn on the floor around a dusty boom box. There is a hand held shower with no hook, and the tub has no shower curtain, so you will be crouching down and washing with one hand if you want a shower. The bed had lumpy chipped foam pillows. The house is very badly insulated - in the winter the walls to the outside are very cold to the touch. There is radiator heat which cannot be controlled for temperature, supplemented with an old decrepit space heater which is almost certainly a fire hazard.
Also note: The innkeeper is completely batty (not in a charming way) and talks non-stop. Our suite was next door to her sitting area, where she sits AND sleeps with the door wide open, right at the stairwell. Our theory is that many people have snuck out in the dead of night so now she keeps watch!
The breakfast is pretty good. But, as a previous reviewer said, it is haphazard. She just whips up something. She does not offer juice. And you cannot enjoy the breakfast because she talks at you about wacky things while you are trying to eat. Better than sleeping in the street? Yes. A romantic, comfortable getaway? No. It's like staying with a crazy grandmother who won't leave you alone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hjsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Hello, we had the worst experience ever during our very short stay at the FILTHY, OLD AND DIRTY Calder House in Saskatoon. We still can’t believe that someone in 2009 would greet customers in such HORIBLE conditions. The innkeeper doesn’t clean the house and it really feels like it hasn’t been cleaned for ages! BE VERY CAREFUL: the innkeeper wants your money in advance because she knows that when you will get there, you will want to run away. The bathrooms are SO FILTHY… rusty sinks, old toilets that clog, dirty old baths (NO SHOWER) and dirty floors. BELIEVE ME, you do not want to wash your self there. We couldn’t even find SOAP in the house so nothing to wash your hands in the dirty old rusty sinks. We even found old food in one of our fridge. Every time I think about this place, I just makes me feel itchy. NEVER GO THERE, I WOULDN’T EVEN SEND MY WORST ENNEMY.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Koolaid_FX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I was excited to stay at this property after reading the description on the BBcanada website but was sorely dissappointed as soon as we stepped out of our vehicle. The yard was in a sorry state compared to the neighboring houses and the patio was covered in debris and junk, It only got better as we entered the dirty, dingy and musty parlor. Norman Bates would feel right at home here. The "innkeeper" greeted us and led us to our room on the second floor. The room was sub-standard to say the least. The bedding looked like it hadnt been washed in quite sometime. The ceiling and walls were cracked and peeling there was also a weird smell of campfire smoke and mold. We were asked to be careful when using the handwash in the tub as there is no caulking and she was worried about water getting in the walls(mold smell anyone?). Whatever renovations that were started abrubtly ended and havent been restarted in years. The tiles in the mini kitchen were all loose and coming up . Thinking that the view of the city and river could rescue this dive was shot down when we stepped gingerly onto the rotting deck and were met with an amazing view of tree branches. Although the promised view was non existent the dead flowers and the broken trampoline were a nice touch.
We have stayed in grass huts in Africa and tents in the Amazon and they were luxury compared to this dive. As we were bolting out the door a half hour after arriving, the"innkeeper" was shocked when we told her that the room was sub-standard and that we would not be returning. I cant comment on the quality of breakfast as we were long gone. Forget about a refund on your prepaid amount. Do not stay at this place unless you like inflicting pain upon yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The inn keeper demands cash up front, no credit cards debit etc. i think she does this,so she gets your money as much as you will want to leave. Not just dirty filthy- hairs in tub, dirty sticky sheets, bugs infesting the rooms, dirty old dishes, over all very unpleasant.Breakfest is the same meal everyday.The house is very cold as she is too cheap to heat it.
Let me just say you have been warned!!
The worst B&B Travel experience ever.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank crant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Wildwood
Wild Rose Bed & Breakfast
Wild Rose Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Saskatoon
65 reviews
Varsity View
Laura's Lodge
Laura's Lodge
#7 of 14 in Saskatoon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 41 in Saskatoon
1,060 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 41 in Saskatoon
966 reviews
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 848 Saskatchewan Cres E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 0L4, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saskatoon
Price Range: $27 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a piece of Victorian England nestled along the banks of the scenic Sakatchewan River. At Calderhouse Inn, you will feel like royalty as your are treated to your 'personalized' fancy at tea, supper, or brunch. Our 1910 Victorian is quick walking distance to the University of Saskatchewan, downtown Saskatoon, and the famous Broadway Avenue! Suitable for the business traveller, small workshops, romantics and families! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing