We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travellers be warned”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saskatoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 13 Saskatoon B&B and Inns
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travellers be warned”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

This inn has cleaned up a little bit compared to that described in previous reviews, but there are still plenty of dust bunnies. Little effort is put into preparing the rooms for the guests. For example, our room, the Joan Chase suite, had a giant dead potted plant blocking half of the kitchenette floor, and there were cassette tapes strewn on the floor around a dusty boom box. There is a hand held shower with no hook, and the tub has no shower curtain, so you will be crouching down and washing with one hand if you want a shower. The bed had lumpy chipped foam pillows. The house is very badly insulated - in the winter the walls to the outside are very cold to the touch. There is radiator heat which cannot be controlled for temperature, supplemented with an old decrepit space heater which is almost certainly a fire hazard.
Also note: The innkeeper is completely batty (not in a charming way) and talks non-stop. Our suite was next door to her sitting area, where she sits AND sleeps with the door wide open, right at the stairwell. Our theory is that many people have snuck out in the dead of night so now she keeps watch!
The breakfast is pretty good. But, as a previous reviewer said, it is haphazard. She just whips up something. She does not offer juice. And you cannot enjoy the breakfast because she talks at you about wacky things while you are trying to eat. Better than sleeping in the street? Yes. A romantic, comfortable getaway? No. It's like staying with a crazy grandmother who won't leave you alone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hjsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    2
    20
See reviews for
3
14
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Hello, we had the worst experience ever during our very short stay at the FILTHY, OLD AND DIRTY Calder House in Saskatoon. We still can’t believe that someone in 2009 would greet customers in such HORIBLE conditions. The innkeeper doesn’t clean the house and it really feels like it hasn’t been cleaned for ages! BE VERY CAREFUL: the innkeeper wants your money in advance because she knows that when you will get there, you will want to run away. The bathrooms are SO FILTHY… rusty sinks, old toilets that clog, dirty old baths (NO SHOWER) and dirty floors. BELIEVE ME, you do not want to wash your self there. We couldn’t even find SOAP in the house so nothing to wash your hands in the dirty old rusty sinks. We even found old food in one of our fridge. Every time I think about this place, I just makes me feel itchy. NEVER GO THERE, I WOULDN’T EVEN SEND MY WORST ENNEMY.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Koolaid_FX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

I was excited to stay at this property after reading the description on the BBcanada website but was sorely dissappointed as soon as we stepped out of our vehicle. The yard was in a sorry state compared to the neighboring houses and the patio was covered in debris and junk, It only got better as we entered the dirty, dingy and musty parlor. Norman Bates would feel right at home here. The "innkeeper" greeted us and led us to our room on the second floor. The room was sub-standard to say the least. The bedding looked like it hadnt been washed in quite sometime. The ceiling and walls were cracked and peeling there was also a weird smell of campfire smoke and mold. We were asked to be careful when using the handwash in the tub as there is no caulking and she was worried about water getting in the walls(mold smell anyone?). Whatever renovations that were started abrubtly ended and havent been restarted in years. The tiles in the mini kitchen were all loose and coming up . Thinking that the view of the city and river could rescue this dive was shot down when we stepped gingerly onto the rotting deck and were met with an amazing view of tree branches. Although the promised view was non existent the dead flowers and the broken trampoline were a nice touch.
We have stayed in grass huts in Africa and tents in the Amazon and they were luxury compared to this dive. As we were bolting out the door a half hour after arriving, the"innkeeper" was shocked when we told her that the room was sub-standard and that we would not be returning. I cant comment on the quality of breakfast as we were long gone. Forget about a refund on your prepaid amount. Do not stay at this place unless you like inflicting pain upon yourself.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

The inn keeper demands cash up front, no credit cards debit etc. i think she does this,so she gets your money as much as you will want to leave. Not just dirty filthy- hairs in tub, dirty sticky sheets, bugs infesting the rooms, dirty old dishes, over all very unpleasant.Breakfest is the same meal everyday.The house is very cold as she is too cheap to heat it.
Let me just say you have been warned!!
The worst B&B Travel experience ever.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — paying for it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

In a word: DISASTER. Our stay at Calderhouse Inn started off wrong even before we left for Saskatoon. Upon speaking to the unprofessional owner/operator to book a room, she insisted that we send a money order because she did not take credit cards. This should have been a red flag but she seemed courteous and the Inn itself seemed lovely from the website, so we obliged.

Upon arriving, Mari (the owner/operator) greeted us at the door with "who are you?" - which I don't think appears in the handbook of how to properly greet paying customers. She then tried to put us in a different, smaller room, despite the fact that she had sent an email confirmation for the room we had requested. She gave us significant attitude upon realizing that we were going to stay in the room she had originally booked for us. Her lack of professionalism and general poor attitude made our experience uncomfortable. (From the way she polices the front door and removal of shoes despite dirty floors and cluttered entrance-ways, her behaviour and the experience was unsettling to say the least).

The Inn itself is decrepit, unkempt, and in disrepair. Our room was not properly cleaned - in particular the bathroom - dirty sink, bathtub, floors, and toilet.

Finally, breakfast was disgusting - the same from-a-box waffles and canned peaches (no other options available) that came late to our room every morning - once 15 minutes late, the second day, a half hour late.

This was hands-down the WORST bed and breakfast experience we have ever hand in over eight years of B&Bing in Canada. It is not often you go to a lovely old Victorian B&B only to return home thankful for the luxury and cleanliness that surrounds you. If we can spare anyone the discomfort and waste of money that we encountered at Calderhouse, this review will have done its job.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WaywardTraipser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

I had a wonderful time in this amazing old house, really delicious waffle breakfasts with strawberries and whipped cream and good coffee made to order every day. The location is absolutely ideal and the rates are the best in town, I know because I spent some time researching this. I will always stay here when I go to Saskatoon, it has a great energy and the innkeeper is one of my very favorites. Delightful in every way. Can't wait to go back for another waffle!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ultravioletrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

While the Calder House Inn is appears on the internet advertising as a charming turn of the century home, the home is a great distance from what is advertised. The updating and care appears to have been been minimal since the turn of the century and it is questionable how often it has been cleaned since then.

Among other deficiencies, the mattress in the room in which we stayed might have been dragged from a dumpster, complete with rodent-eaten holes. The cutlery served with breakfast was too dirty to eat the breakfast with, and there was hair and what may have been body fluids on the quilt cover. There were also many other cleanliness issues.

Combine those factors with the treatment we received from the owner, which was lacking in concern, to the point of being cavalier, this was a very unpleasant experience and not a credit to those who run lovely heritage home B&B's.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank MJF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Park Town Hotel
#6 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#8 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 848 Saskatchewan Cres E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 0L4, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a piece of Victorian England nestled along the banks of the scenic Sakatchewan River. At Calderhouse Inn, you will feel like royalty as your are treated to your 'personalized' fancy at tea, supper, or brunch. Our 1910 Victorian is quick walking distance to the University of Saskatchewan, downtown Saskatoon, and the famous Broadway Avenue! Suitable for the business traveller, small workshops, romantics and families! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calderhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing