We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but a bit pricey for Saskatoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, but a bit pricey for Saskatoon”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I'd rank this hotel in the top ten that I've stayed in over the past couple of years. Ultra modern, very spacious room, with a fabulous bathroom befitting a high end boutique hotel. Clean, secure parade. I looked around Saskatoon for someplace to eat, and settled on the Hub in the hotel. Somewhat limited menu, but good food, and a decent if very small wine selection.
The location could be better, there's really nothing right close by other than the Greyhound bus terminal (ugh). the convention centre and arts centre are also right across the street, so if you need to be close to these facilities, the HI is perfect.
The Bessborugh, the Sheraton, and the Radisson all have superior locations near the river however.
And...at $229 a night, $249 for the corner room, it's pretty pricey for Saskatoon. Never mind that, it's pricey for just about anywhere. I routinely stay in downtown Toronto for under $200.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    113
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
46
10
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Beautiful hotel, central location! Very modern, new and clean with great guest facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown was of super value.
Walking distance to downtown area. The rooms were crisp and clean.
The hotel had been open only a month beforehand. The best Internet connectivity ever!
Four large internet stations with huge monitors in the lobby makes accessing email and the web easy.
The bathroom was large and well appointed. The shower was powerful and the water hot!
the People were polite and extremely helpful.

Highly recommend this hotel for pleasure or business!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanderson39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sask.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here twice now. First time here I had numerous difficulties with my room keys. Couldn't get into fitness center and even had to change rooms because of keys. Very inconvenient. Second time here my iPad and touch would not connect through the hotel wireless. Called front desk and was told this was a common problem at this hotel with apple products and that they could not help. This was odd because I've never had an issue anywhere else. Once i finally connected, the system kept booting me off. Very frustrating. Although this hotel has the cleanliness associated to a new hotel, I will not stay here again after two frustrating stays in a row.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prarieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Brand new place.
Very modern look in the lobby
Everyone on staff was new and in training. They were all friendly and helpful.
The rooms are large and well finished. My room had 2 queen beds and a pull out chair bed.
The only downside was the hot tub was not operational.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDSchro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Recently opened, the Holiday Inn is a very comfortable stay. The design is up to date and attractive, the beds are really great. The service is a little rough around the edges, but there were many who admitted to be "learning" or "in training", and were very friendly and courteous, even when things went a little awry. Good location, and excellent for business.

Only one downside is that the breakfast options are limited to cold continental buffet for $9 - essentially toast, cereal, fruit, or $15 for hot and cold, which included sausage, eggs, chef station, etc. Turned out to be an $16 breakfast for having scrambled eggs and a piece of toast, which is all I really wanted. Hopefully they will come up with more flexibility and more options.

Room Tip: I was on a higher floor, which had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
You're right, breakfast has changed at the Holiday Inn. The Holiday Inn has launched a new concept called "The Hub at Holiday Inn" of which Saskatoon can proudly say,we are Canada's first. We have tried to make breakfast so simple that you won't have to miss out. Our trio of breakfast stations lets you create the perfect breakfast. Our two breakfast options make it easy to order and eat without the wait. You can choose to "Have it All" and visit all three of our breakfast stations including our Chef's station, where you can order a custom omelet, stack of pancakes or waffles, our Hot & Hearty station which serves specialties like Eggs Benedict, and our Cold & Light station, which offers fruit, oatmeal, muffins, cereal and more. Or, choose to "Keep it Light" and enjoy unlimited trips to our Cold station.
The Hub Cafe is an alternate breakfast option for those guests that don't have time to stop. The Hub Cafe offers freshly prepared breakfast items that are easy to take to go. You can try a hot breakfast sandwich, bagel, fruit or a yogurt parfait. Expresso-based drinks and regular coffee will get your day started off right.
The new concept in breakfast is one of those areas you mentioned that our staff is "learning" within the Hub at Holiday Inn and with feedback like yours, we can continue to improve "breakfast" for our guests.
Thank you again for choosing the new Holiday Inn Saskatoon, my team looks forward to greeting you with a friendly smile on your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I've stayed in most hotels in Saskatoon for business and family, had a meeting at the Holiday Inn across from the TCU Place/Centennial Auditorium so thought I would try it. On arrival the lobby is large and modern, bright and welcoming, big windows. As in previous review, the smell of 'new' is everywhere which definitely adds to the positive atmosphere. Parking ramp is a bit steep, but open and easy to find a spot. Hallways are very wide. Rooms are huge, I had a big king bed and sofa, large flat screen with actual HD channels, great bath room with cool sliding door. Pool and hot tub is nice, tread mill. This really is a hidden gems in downtown Saskatoon. If you were attending a conference or concert at TCU Place, wanted do to be close to Midtown shopping Centre, or just needed to be in Saskatoon, this would be my top choice for a hotel. Beautiful, great property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to take care of you during your most recent visit to Saskatoon. The hard work and dediction from a large group of people involved in this project have allowed us to create a special place in the heart of Saskatoon's downtown core. I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Park Town Hotel
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Address: 101 Pacific Ave, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#4 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon's latest, state of the art hotel is ideally located in the Central Business District in the heart of Saskatoon's vibrant downtown core and across the street from TCU Place-Saskatoon's Arts & Convention Centre, Midtown Plaza Shopping Centre and the YMCA. Designed to give guests a true taste of the new IHG lifestyle, Holiday Inn Saskatoon has become one of Saskatoon's most desirable destinations. Holiday Inn Saskatoon was the first property in Canada to unveil the new "Hub at Holiday Inn" open lobby concept. There's more! All that you have come to love about Holiday Inn is here: FREE high speed internet, heated indoor pool and fitness centre, indoor heated parking, banquet and meeting space. Its all here..Saskatoon style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing