We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chain with Growing Pains?”

Rock Creek Tap & Grill
Ranked #133 of 676 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We describe ourselves as a kicked up casual restaurant with bar area. Kicked up reflects the innovation and flavours of our menu in a modern yet unpretentious atmosphere. Rock Creek can be enjoyed on date night , after work socializing , watch the game , girls night out......or just about any reason to have a great time. We are a Saskatchewan born restaurant company that we are proud to have you experience. We look forward to being of service!
Canmore, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Chain with Growing Pains?”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well, it was interesting. At first I thought that any place that had Guiness and Rickard's White on tap couldn't be all bad. Seemed reasonable at the time. We had high expectations. Then the food came. Chicken tacos were so-so at best and we no where close to hot. The Blu Burger was good but it must have been a bad night for the grilled ceasars - which are really just a romaine grove drizzled in dressing with a couple of hard croutons and some spice. Not particularly fresh and really on the low side of mediocre. So, all in all, average is the best that I can do. Its casual, comfortable, good bar and nice decor but at the end - well, its just another chain doing what chains seem to do - serve average food with no real flair. Server was a nice kid but not nice enough to think about a return visit any time soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A BIG let down!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the one in Regina and it was very good. Have gone to the one in Saskatoon about 4 or 5 times now. The brunch is delicious, service okay but don't go for supper. Overdone food that was all the same taste. Nothing stood out other than the size of the flattened shrimp and that was extra small! Very disappointing! Seriously will not be returning for supper! Sorry but it's true....& we dine out a lot and in a lot of different places.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not fresh food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had lunch ordered the chicken and fries. Fries were reheated and nor fresh . Chicken was hard not tender as if it to had been reheated as well. I would expect this at a fast food outlet but not for the price one pays at this place.
Would not go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“not worth it”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great menu selection, and had a good first experience there. The second time, not so good. We ordered BAKED brie, and it came back HARD in the middle to use twice. The manager argued with us that baked brie is supposed to be hard in the middle(it is not), which was kind of funny. Then my friend found DIRT in her lettuce(romaine salad) and the manager again told her it's impossible to get out all the dirt. Will never go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuremom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time visit - atmosphere was great (a smaller place so if there is a group, best to make reservations) and the food was yummy! Very nice servers however had to be reminded to bring items such as small plates for appetizers. No biggie - we will definitely be back. The Firestarter appetizer was delicious and while the calamari tasted good and was cooked to perfection, there was very little of it for the price. Each one of us had a different entree & everyone was pleased. The caesar salad was very good even though it is served a bit unconventionally. I will have it again. The steak on my steak sandwich was cooked to perfection and was very tasty. I'm sure that this will become one of our favourite places to eat. (They have 25% off wine every Tuesday - another reason to go!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Creek Tap & Grill also viewed

 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Rock Creek Tap & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing