We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thien Vietnamese

Thien Vietnamese
Ranked #102 of 660 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 306 653 2288
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Decided to try a new place today.
My husband likes noodle bowls and since we were downtown,tried this place out.
Its nice inside.
Service was prompt.
The food was average like most vietnamese places.
Nothing sets it above any other place.
Would we go again, probably not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank litew8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average food. Rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's not the greatest. The staff are very abrupt possibly because of language difficulties.The food was average.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice noodle bowl”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had the Jumbo combo chicken and shrimp vermicelli bowl. They had BBQ chicken but just 2 miserable pieces of shrimp for an extra dollar. Just save your one buck and take the chicken bowl instead. Overall, it was quite nice, worth eating and ambience is nice. Did not try any other dishes. The outside does not look inviting though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A sleeper...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This place looks almost uninviting from the outside, looks like it needs a remodeling job inside. Service is terse but reasonably efficient. Food servings are generous and reasonably priced. Food taste is a bit above average with fresh ingredients. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fearlessbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Food not that great and service wasn't any better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I came by this restaurant and couldn't tell how busy it was inside but I decided to try it. There were a few tables towards the back and they seated me in a booth. There's a menu with many items and cheap prices. I ordered the grilled chicken with vermicelli and spring rolls for $6.95 which was a good deal. While waiting, the hostess asked me to move to a smaller table since I was solo and they want to give my table to a bigger party. I carried by purse, coat, water to the other table. I wasn't impressed to be seating near the window at a table for 2 with one chair facing the wall and the other facing the back of the restaurant. I chose the chair facing the restaurant.

The food didn't take long to come out and there were 2 large fried spring rolls and lots of chicken. The chicken wasn't hot, just warm temperature and there weren't many vegetables. But it was a lot of food and cheap so I can understand why this place was busy throughout the lunch hour. But it was probably one of the worse vermicelli bowls I've had (and it's difficult to go wrong with this) and the service poor, which isn't unexpected.

The line up to pay snaked around tables and good thing it didn't take too long. If I'm In Saskatoon again, I won't be visiting this restaurant again and try others in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thien Vietnamese also viewed

 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Thien Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing