We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around”
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great all around”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for a night for our anniversary and it was well worth the little bit extra paid (and it was minimal compared to other hotels in Saskatoon). Right from your arrival they treat you right, and the parking and breakfast is included in the cost. The breakfast was great, with a chef making omelettes and such, and other hot and cold options. The hotel itself is situated in a perfect place, right beside the river and near many great restaurants in the area. The room itself is decorated well, with nice accents and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra to get the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPP566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    35
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
155
11
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kindersley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

PROS:
Great location close to the University of Saskatchewan, downtown, & scenic park-river view. Convenient parking beside front doors.
The checkin process was seamless and fast. The bellman immediately showed us the closest parking space and carried our bags up to the room.
We had a riverview 1 bedroom suite with a Kuerig coffee machine. At night you could see skaters at the open air rink & a beautiful view of the South Saskatchewan River. The suite was tastefully decorated in tonal grays and the floor was hardwood with a carpeted bedroom area.
There was a large desk with lights and plugins; appropriate for work or just extra space.
The bed & linens are to die for; best & most comfortable hotel sleep ever!
The complimentary breakfast was very good with hot & cold items, eggs benedict, & a chef in attendance making omelettes to order. Fresh fruit juices too.
The checkout process was just as seamless and fast as check in.
We did not use the lounge area but it appeared to be very tasteful & inviting, facing the river.
Kudos to all staff including the wait staff at the breakfast. All were very attentive & friendly. No request was any problem at all.
CONS:
Outdoor parking.
Fairly high room rates which could be prohibitive
BUT
You get what you pay for & the James is definitely worth it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were beyond impressed by the service and attention to details at the James Hotel.

Check in and getting our parking permit for the outdoor parking lot was a breeze. The room (we had a river view suite) was exquisite. The updated rooms are so beautiful, and details (like having a nice blanket on the couch) made it feel very luxurious. We enjoyed having drinks at the bar on the main floor, and then retired to our room where we ordered room service that was prompt and courteous. The nightly turn down service included homemade brownies left by our bed! Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. It included self-serve toast, oatmeal, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, bacon, hash browns, sausage, etc. There bad also a chef's station, which that morning was serving made-to-order eggs Benedict (I had spinach and smoked salmon). There was table service for drinks. The breakfast room was clean, spacious, and relaxing.

The only things that were less than perfect are things mostly beyond anyone's control. The worst thing was that the room was not very quiet, and we could hear everything our upstairs neighbour did, every step they took, etc. Also, the elevators are kind of scary and noisy. Neither of these things was bad enough to make me hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Overall, this hotel experience was amazing. I will definitely return any time I am in Saskatoon.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are worth paying a bit extra for. Asking to be placed in a room that is not dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, SK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were so impressed with everything about this hotel. The service was impeccable, the rooms were new and modern and the breakfast was delicious. When we arrived, the parking lot was full, but the bellman took care of it immediately and found us a parking spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBB402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Its cold outside -18C (and this is a warm day here), but the Hotel lounge with its fireplace and staff, shelter you from the cold. This small boutique hotel, steps away from the centre of this tiny Hamlet, offer constant attention. It's as if they were trained by Four Seasons management. A small kitchen on the second floor prepares first class food in a buffet style with a chef at your beckon and two waiters. Then its over to room service who are on call 11 to 11.
The rooms are designed perfectly, great shower facilities, state of the art heating and cooling. Plugs at the desk for work, under the desk, you have to look for them. This is a diamond in the rough, only problem is its in Saskatoon. Doubt I will be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the clasic room to the studio, so you have a desk with a working are, worth the cost in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmittyYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited the hotel this summer as part of a longer trip across Canada. It was one of the highlights because it felt like a condo. The clean contemporary space and cozy well designed lobby made the stopover wonderful. The staff were all nice but we remember the kind server in the lobby bar the most. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, definitely the nicest hotel I've stayed at in Saskatoon. My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in a one bedroom river view. The beds were absolutely amazing! The decor is beautiful, very modern and tastefully done! It is a very secure hotel, don't go anywhere without your room key! The staff were great, rooms were clean, and the breakfast was delicious! Had no trouble with parking, it was outdoors, but very close to walk. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely get river view, its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskgirl455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
854 reviews
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Property: The James Hotel
Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing