We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to make you comfortable in a Polar Vortex”
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How to make you comfortable in a Polar Vortex”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Its cold outside -18C (and this is a warm day here), but the Hotel lounge with its fireplace and staff, shelter you from the cold. This small boutique hotel, steps away from the centre of this tiny Hamlet, offer constant attention. It's as if they were trained by Four Seasons management. A small kitchen on the second floor prepares first class food in a buffet style with a chef at your beckon and two waiters. Then its over to room service who are on call 11 to 11.
The rooms are designed perfectly, great shower facilities, state of the art heating and cooling. Plugs at the desk for work, under the desk, you have to look for them. This is a diamond in the rough, only problem is its in Saskatoon. Doubt I will be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the clasic room to the studio, so you have a desk with a working are, worth the cost in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmittyYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    35
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
163
11
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited the hotel this summer as part of a longer trip across Canada. It was one of the highlights because it felt like a condo. The clean contemporary space and cozy well designed lobby made the stopover wonderful. The staff were all nice but we remember the kind server in the lobby bar the most. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, definitely the nicest hotel I've stayed at in Saskatoon. My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in a one bedroom river view. The beds were absolutely amazing! The decor is beautiful, very modern and tastefully done! It is a very secure hotel, don't go anywhere without your room key! The staff were great, rooms were clean, and the breakfast was delicious! Had no trouble with parking, it was outdoors, but very close to walk. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely get river view, its beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskgirl455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fabulous stay!! A great place to relax and get away from the hubbuble of your life ;)

Fabulous linens!! Fabulous decor! Great little touches that enhance your stay. Friendly staff. Great location. Walking distance to the downtown streets and shops.

I love staying here, a tad pricey...but worth the splurge! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

After realizing that the rate at this hotel was only a few dollars more than a basic room at other chain hotels in the area I thought I would be adventurous and try something new. I was very happy with my choice. Though the hotel's posh atmosphere can be a bit intimidating to a mid-salary living gal like myself, the staff were very friendly and made my boyfriend and I feel welcome. The beds were amazing, feather pillows, feather duvet...awesome :) within a half hour we received a complimentary dessert which was a nice surprise! Lastly, the breakfast is very tasty with a chef onsite. I would recommend The James Hotel to any couple looking for a special place to spend some time together :)

Room Tip: I may have got lucky with the rate on our suite...make sure you check a couple of websites before bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgvstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before and room small but location of hotel helps. This time cancelled single night reservation at 4:00 PM because meeting plans changed for law firm. Was nailed $230 cancellation fee. What a poor business decision on James' insensitive staff member's part.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank calgarylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked this hotel based on recommendations found on Tripadvisor. It is a lovely small, lovely hotel located on the river accross from the Bess Bourough and centrally located in downtown Saskatoon. We loved the balcony with the spectacular river views. The hotel is clean and modern including the very lovely lounge. A hot breakfast is included.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a higher floor with a balcony with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newshoesWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,012 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Property: The James Hotel
Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing