We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beds don't get any better than this!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beds don't get any better than this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The James is right downtown with a beautiful view of the river. Our window faced a outdoor ice rink that is lit up at night by three trees that are covered in lights. It was a pleasure to watch the skaters!

I have never slept in a bed that was so comfortable with such amazing sheets in my whole life! I had to force myself out of bed. My husband tried on one of the hotel dressing gowns and said they were very luxurious!

The rooms look lovely - quite spare and very modern but the couch were very hard to the point of being uncomfortable. The bathroom was full of square corners. I bashed my toe a number of times.

Breakfast was very good - fresh fruit, yummy bread, eggs made to order. Again, the breakfast area looks lovely but it was difficult to move the chairs on the carpet.

I thought the staff were excellent. Overall, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    34
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
32
149
11
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the James on a recent work trip to Saskatoon. The part that sticks with me the most was how amazingly comfortable the beds were! But the ambiance in the entire place was fantastic! Not a detail was missed. The layout of the suite made for a great evening of working while watching tv and the view of the river didn't hurt either. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

when we go to visit friends and family in Saskatoon we always stay at the James. Its stylish and modern. The lounge is very good the food amazing . what we really love about the hotel is the friendly warm service we receive. The day after we were married we had a party with family and friends in the penthouse , it was perfect !!

Room Tip: we like the extended stay room as it has a full size fridge and kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezzacelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful stay, lovely staff and great breakfast. The rooms are lovely, spacious and with a beautiful balcony facing the river. The only downfall is that people have not taken care when staying in the rooms as they look quite worn in some areas and yet I believe the hotel is only around a year old. Overall, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here with our two children (3.5 and 7 months) as a stop on our way to Winnipeg. We chose the 2 bdrm suite, which had a wonderful view of the river. The suite was clean, and extremely spacious. (The master bathroom has a huge glass enclosed shower, huge soaker tub, and plenty of floor space). We also had more than enough room in our master suite to put our infants playpen where he would be sleeping). The kitchen had a dishwasher, small fridge, sink, island, etc. The chef appointed breakfast was great as well, and the service was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissArmyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Breakfast wasn't exactly as advertised but still good. The dining room and ajoining washroom also could have been cleanier. Other than that the rooms were spotless. The staff friendly and everything from the king size beds to the couches were soft and luxurious. I was impressed overall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksckv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was surprised by my significant other to stay at the James for my birthday last week. The hotel is perfectly located with a stunning view of the river. The decor is beyond impressive and the staff is consistently helpful and polite. The space is comfortably premium. Not so formal that it is intimidating. Breakfast was beyond our expectations as well! We are proud to have The James as a signature hotel here in Saskatoon!

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view - you can't beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#6 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Property: The James Hotel
Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing