We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Experience!”
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel Experience!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From the first moment we walked in and were greeted by Blaine, I knew we made a great choice. Blaine was welcoming and throughout the weekend was very helpful and showed that he cared about the guests. We stayed in the Roderick Suite and it was spaceous, clean and had all of the comforts of home. The beds and sheets were the best, I've never felt softer sheets. The kitchenette was perfect for a hotel suite. There was a very nice view of the river, from all of the windows and balcony. Each morning, a hot breakfast was included. All of the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. This hotel really understands how to make your experience amazing!

(Side note: some comments refer to the expense of this hotel compared to others. I didn't see that much of a price difference, on the weekend when we visited, between this hotel and other quality hotels. You can't compare prices at the Motel 6 and Super 8 to these level of hotels. Keep in mind breakfast and parking were included in the price.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exuma-elkhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    35
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
155
11
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The room, service, staff, amenities, cleanliness, view, food and outlets were of the highest quality and excellence. My husband and I live in Saskatoon and we were looking for 2 NIGHT AWAYS from the kids, or a "Stay cation" as we called it. The James Hotel made it the perfect getaway. The staff were friendly, efficient, and genuine, making our experience relaxing and wonderful. The HOTEL was breathtaking, as every detail, right down to the wood finishes on the doors, had been clearly considered to set the James apart from other Saskatoon hotels. The amenities, turn-down service touches, the elegant lounge, and the breakfast every morning were the perfect touches to make our stay PERFECTLY WONDERFUL. And the rooms....well beautiful does not do them justice. WOW!!!!! This is a MUST HOTEL to stay at, especially when getting away from the everyday hustle of life. It is an experience you will never forget!

Room Tip: A river-view is a must! The best view in town and it will make your Saskatoon experience so much be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I travel about 10 months a year for my career. The James is far above any hotel I stay in and is more comparable to the cleanliness, service, and expectations of renowned hotels in Tokyo. Everyone from the front desk staff, housekeeping, and breakfast room is sincerely kind and helpful, without going overboard. They welcome me by name and are always available without being intrusive. The rooms are quiet, well-appointed and have those little details that set the James apart from others: real coffee cups, wonderful robes, private balconies, living rooms, and nightly turn down service. After a long day, I look forward to coming back ... what snack will I get tonight? Cheesecake, mints, an apple? Book early as they fill up quickly, with good reason. True, it's more expensive than others in the area, but whether I'm needing to get work done in the evening or just relaxing on the sectional, it's worth the price and unbelievable quiet.

Room Tip: River view is wonderful and the extended stay suites have a fantastic kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THEJetSetGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I typically stay at other hotels in the area, but this time my options were either the Motel 6, Super 8 or The James. Obviously there is a huge difference in the cost, but as a frequent traveller, I do have some standards that I'm not prepared to go below. First off, I'm not sure if my room was standard. It had a separate sitting area/living room and bedroom. Hardwood floors, fantastic view over the river (the fall colors really added to the experience), balcony, everything was very high end. The staff were awesome and made me feel very welcome. The included breakfast was great - Eggs Benedict were the special the morning I tried it, and the room included free parking and Internet. I typically stay at the Sheraton which is physically attached to the same building, and I believe The James is owned by them. Parking at the Sheraton is extra. I would really recommend this place and will try to stay there again the next time I visit Saskatoon so long as I can get a better rate (it wasn't cheap!). The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the pressure in the shower sucked, which was odd since the water pressure from the bath faucet was very strong.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jospos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary at the St. James and had a great experience. The room service burger was great, as well as the array of cocktails in the lobby bar. The best part, the bed! The mattress was unbelievable and the sheets were so soft! There was an issue with the room we had booked and the manager called before we got there to ensure we weren’t affected upon arrival and had a comparable room at a discounted rate. Between the service and that wonderful bed, I would defiantly stay at the St. James again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Modern and small minimalist rooms Was really looking forward to this and had heard it would be great. It was just ok. The rooms in the neighboring Sheraton are as nice and less expensive Staff were polite and friendly for the most part. Staff had said breakfast would be amazing. My eggs Benedict never came and the cook was gone for extended periods of time. Had to wait to get a cup of coffee and a second cup was never offered and it is kept in another room so you cannot even help yourself. There were only about 10 people in the room so it's not like they were swamped. Finally just left no sign of the cook anywhere. Save lots of your money and go elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank DP N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The James Hotel has a great boutique feel. The welcome by the front desk staff was warm and the rooms are nicely laid out and decorated. The bed was heavenly. It is in a great location to visit the downtown area including the beautiful riverside. Only small complain was that the breakfast could have been a bit better. It had the feel of being very picked over both days we were there. All in all I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
854 reviews
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Property: The James Hotel
Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing