We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverview, in the action!”
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was floored that all of the staff were so helpful and knew all of the guests! I did hear church bells on Sunday morning but they were beautiful and not disturbing. I think the air conditioning may need an update, but overall a beautiful hotel! Excellent service and attentive staff in the heart of Saskatoon.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for The James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 389 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The relatively new James Hotel in Saskatoon is a respite for the weary traveller. A small botique hotel has found a niche amongst the larger ones around it. A converted apartment building with extremely well renovated rooms and spectacular views of the Saskatchewan River make the weary traveller feel almost like they are at home. The professional courtesy and warm welcome of the staff are a treat amongst today's busy hotel lobbies. I would stay here everytime I visit Saskatoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river with a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the James recently and we loved it.The beds are to die for,we even bought some sheets at the front desk. The breakfast was amazing .We will always stay at the James every time we come to Saskatoon.We have stayed at many hotels in Canada,US and Mexico this is by far the best. I recommend this to any couple even to business and family and even to hang out with some friend at the bar and if you are solo it's great too. We love the James and we will come back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Over the years we have stayed in a number of Saskatoon hotels and not one of them even comes close toThe James. It was superb in every way-from check in to check out. We would never stay in another hotel in Saskatoon because all of them would pale by comparison.

Others have commented on the location, the view etc. All of which are marvelous. What stood out for us more than anything was the staff. Without exception they were courteous, helpful and friendly. You felt at home from the minute you entered the hotel premises.

We will return to The James as often as we can and we will recommend it to everyone we know who will come to Saskatoon in the future.

Thank you James Hotel for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Go for the river view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeulahAndhortense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

great location downtown, easy to get to, park in, and check in. professional staff, clean rooms, micro-fibre sheets, delicious in-room coffees. nice river views. worth it.

Room Tip: beautiful view of the river, request river view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel certainly lives up to its reputation and we now understand why it is always booked up. Parking was easy, convenient, and free in a good spot in downtown Saskatoon. The rooms are modern, well decorated, clean, and comfortable. When we arrived, the front desk staff were polite and helpful. Upon arriving in our room, we were presented with a complimentary bottle of water and a chocolate brownie. The bathtub was a deep soaking tub which was amazing and comfortable. The free breakfast was superb with a great variety of food and a chef on hand to make any type of eggs or omelette you desire. We would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrairieVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed over one weekend. STaff was very professional and friendly. The room was clean, bed was super comfy. We had a street/river view (recommended). I would not rent a west facing room as it overlooks a parkade. This hotel is attached physically to the Sheraton, looks like a renovated old apartment buliding - but nicely done. Complimentary brekki was delicious!

My only complaints: the small deck was dirty (cigarette ashes and rain/dust). And the price ~200+/night.

Would consider it again if I could afford it.

Room Tip: I would not rent a west facing room as it overlooks a parkade.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madman_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#11 of 40 in Saskatoon
1,036 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 40 in Saskatoon
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range: $195 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing