We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel not just in Saskatoon-Best Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel not just in Saskatoon-Best Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We usually do not stay in hotels in Saskatoon as we know lots of people there but this time it worked best to rent a room for a night. Because it was short notice there was not much availability and found a room available the new James Hotel overlooking the river and downtown. Im so glad we did! Now I know where we will always stay if we ever have to spend a night in Saskatoon via hotel again! This was not just the best hotel in Saskatchewan this was the best hotel I have ever stayed in AND I have stayed in many many very nice hotels all over the US (Houston, Katy Mills, Orlando etc... and other hot holidays) This hotel is very new so not many know of it. It is attached to the Sheraton on Spadina. I cannot say enough. To name a few things, the bed is to die for! seriously had the best sleep I have ever had. The moment they sell their linens and pillows I will be the first to buy! Their rooms are immaculate with great views. The river view is so pretty at night, especially in the winter! rand new bathrooms with awesome bathtubs and shower. Very Very Clean! Water available in room, free hot breakfast in the morning (this is a full breaky, omelets, waffles, fruit, bacon, pototoes, etc...) free parking, free valet service, free extension cords, great customer service, very polite! There is not many hotels that will even come close to this one. Our room rate was $220 night, and is slightly cheaper for a room that doesnt overlook the river. The classic rooms all have king beds and again was the most comfy bed I have ever lied on! And I have a great Kingsdown to sleep on every night. I recommend this hotel to anyone, couples, singles, families.

Room Tip: Rooms im sure are all good. We chose a room that overlooks the river. At night is was gorgeous with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sneids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    34
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
32
149
11
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

The James Hotel is a truly fine Luxury Hotel in decor, atmosphere and warmth of true Hospitality.The Lobby is intimate and luxurious with its use of fine marble for the magnificent front desk and fireplace.
The Guest Suites are generously provisioned with the finest furnishings & linens and exceptionally comfortable beds.The bathroom in my suite was quite stunning with all marble floors and walls. The level of Housekeeping in the Suites and public areas is outstanding.
The entire Service team at the James from check in to check out are dedicated to providing an exceptional experience for all of the Hotel guests.
The lobby bar is a superb place to join friends for drinks and Hors-d'oeuvres with great service in a most elegant setting.
Over the past many years I have always selected a 5-star Hotel to stay in if available in which ever City or Country I travel to, The James Hotel exceeded my expectations.
If you enjoy Luxury- this is the Hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Every detail is luxurious in this boutique hotel-from the softest linens and L'Occitane toiletries to the beautiful furniture and fixtures and the incredible views of the river.

The rooms are quiet and private, and you feel like you're in a Home and Garden feature. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in and the robes had me wishing I could lounge all day.

The cocktail bar has all the classics and some great appies, too. Room service was delicious and the complimentary breakfast in the Odessa room includes hot dishes made to order (omelettes one morning, eggs benedict the next).

I only wish I could've stayed longer and had enough time to make use of the top notch gym.

The set up in my room was perfect for entertaining, with a large l-shaped couch. I decided to have friends for a glass of wine. It was like staying at home, only better.

A true relaxing spot to stay during a busy weekend of meetings and you don't have to leave the hotel to have a great cocktail and bite to eat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmandaJaneXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This new hotel in Saskatoon is a MUST stay. It is a boutique hotel with the best staff in all of Saskatoon. The rooms are wonderful and super clean. Guests are treated like royalty. The location is perfect. If you are traveling to Saskatoon this is the place to stay! By the way, the price was less than the Delta, Sheraton and Radisson.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EllenBug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just was in Saskatoon for Board meeting and was wowed by this new boutique hotel. My room overlooked down town Saskatoon with a balcony that was was revamped with new railings, tile floor and stylish furniture. Furnishings including a huge L shaped couch, wood and marble flooring and the most comfortable bed and sheets made my experience top notch. Compared to other "similar" hotels in Canada the price/value experienced is the best there is. Private food area for guests provided me with excellent hot and cold food (included in hotel stay) items to get me started. Beautiful lounge with limited but excellent appetizers. Nice workout facility with the best workout machines make this property my favourite to date.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed in a spacious studio suite with a king-size bed separated from the sitting area by a partial wall with flat-screen TVs on either side. The bed and linens were excellent. The wood floors are very stylish. The bathroom is a little small, a reflection of the fact that the hotel was a conversion from an older residential building, but is so well appointed you'll overlook its size. The overall size of the room, its floor plan and furnishings makes it a very attractive place to spend time and entertain friends.

We didn't try room service, but the complimentary breakfast was excellent and is served in a bright room. The room had a Keurig brewing system for coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There is a small lobby bar which we didn't try but was very attractive.

The only downside of The James Hotel in our experience was a small one. Not to be the humbug, but every time I crossed the lobby I had to run the gauntlet of very accommodating "guest experience coordinators". The hotel opened five days before our stay so the staff are all primed to do their job and understandably proud of their hotel, but sometimes their enthusiasm and friendliness can be intrusive. The hotel is probably the most expensive in the city, but provides very high value. We plan to stay there when we're in Saskatoon again. Two thumbs up for The James Hotel.

Speaking of Saskatoon, I continue to be more impressed with it every time I go there. While small on a national scale, it has a really nice buzz. The "City of Bridges" has running trails on both sides of the South Saskatchewan River across the street from The James Hotel. Broadway Avenue across the river from the hotel is a funky little shopping area. Check out Outer Limits with lots of selection for active outdoor clothing and a number of other interesting restaurants, Bliss, Calories and the Broadway Cafe which we didn't get to try this trip. We had a fixed price three course meal at Truffles Bistro - excellent and lunch at Jakes on 21st Street - very good, both are within walking distance of the hotel. We tried the well advertised Berry Barn south of Saskatoon for lunch to meet some friends, too kitschy for me.

The Ukrainian Museum and Mendel Art Gallery are also close by the hotel and worthwile to spend time in. Overall, two thumbs up for Saskatoon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cdn_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

An amazing boutique hotel located in downtown Saskatoon right by the Bessborough and physically connected to the Sheraton. Just opened in October, 2011. Was a condo or apartment building and was converted to a hotel. Beautiful view of the river and park area. Quiet and spotless. Right from the moment you enter, the staff are very welcoming and accomodating, Rooms and all common areas are beautifully decorated in a modern style - felt like I was in New York. Beautiful, high end bedding and pillows, extra large bath towels, a terrific robe and lots of little thoughtful touches. Room service food (untried) is brought in from an adjoining restaurant, but no on-site restaurant. There is a breakfast area with daily specials - day I was there, sausages, bacon, individually made omelletes, waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal, etc. The main floor bar is amazing - very comfortable seating, intimate, beautiful and you feel like you're in a private home. Price a little higher than others but includes the great breakfast and free parking. I've stayed in a lot of hotels all around the world and I can't think of any nicer! Can't say enough. Perfect for the business traveller or a couple or a honeymoon

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - great sunrise and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#6 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Property: The James Hotel
Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing