We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“250 dollars deposit up front so for 2 nights it was 700 dollars what a rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“250 dollars deposit up front so for 2 nights it was 700 dollars what a rip off”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel staff park in parking lot so there is no parking for guests to stay the damage deposit is not shown any where on web site very expensive for a family to stay 2 nights Regina is almost 100 dollars cheaper a night the pool could not be used and the room was very hot went to turn on the air but the knob was broke off and did not work and the bed spread was burnt from cigarettes and the curtains had burn holes in them and to top it off we were woken up by someone using a table saw down the hallway told the front desk they could of cared less as long as they got your money they did not want to correct the situation

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    48
    51
    17
See reviews for
24
37
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I usually have good luck with the Sandman chain so I chose this one (despite the reviews). It IS old and tired. There is a sign in the lobby saying they are renovating and it needs it. Staff was courteous and professional. Room showed lots of signs of wear. One reviewer says do not stay if you like a cool room to sleep in. Exactly my problem. Room was on the west side of hotel so sun beat on it all day. Window opened but room did not cool down. I asked for a fan but they brought me a small ineffective one (the only one they had). Left window open and was constantly awakened by road noise.

Have to rethink this whole thing of staying with Sandman Inns.

RS

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the north side would be cooler to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Your feedback is appreciated. Please accept my sincere apologies for the guestroom temperature not being comfortable during your stay. As the outdoor temperatures vary in between seasons in Saskatchewan, thus inhibiting us to de-winterize our in-room air-conditioners until weather permits. As you noted, we are very excited about our current renovations.

My apologies again. It is my wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future hotel accommodations needs.

Beverley G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Things I liked about this hotel were: Good price - Surprised at the lower prize offered by calling the hotel directly than I found on-line. Room was clean and spacious and in good shape save a little bit of general wear and tear here and there, overall nice. Found my room to be very quiet, no noise from other guests unless they were right outside the door. Staff was really efficient and friendly at any hour of the day or night. Comfortable and affordable.
Things I didn't like: The beds are a bit hard, and I like a firm bed so they are super firm. The turnoff into the parking lot is on just the other side of a major intersection, and if you miss it you can go for quite a ways before you can get turned around.

Room Tip: I found the second floor to be very quiet. Not much of a view no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairie_Sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked a room 2 nights for business. Was told when booking that I would get 2 queens & a fridge. On check-in it was 2 doubles, no fridge. When I spoke to the front desk was given a room with a king. Still no fridge. Room also had a couch and coffee table. If there are upgraded rooms, neither the first I saw or the one I stayed in are amongst them. The rooms seem old and tired. Tube tv, old bedspreads, stained couch and carpet. Was not impressed the first morning to find they had neglected to provide coffee for the coffee maker. Wi-fi was slow and found the room too warm. Will not stay again unless no other option. They do have a pool and fitness room though did not get a chance to try either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa-lisa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

First of all...the lobby was fairly nice...after that nothing...
The room had a stale smell. Paint was pealing in many places in the room and even on the light fixtures. The carpet is old and in need of changing. The glasses were only wrapped in paper and set on the counter behind the toilet! Gross! I used to clean hotel rooms and I know how poorly the glasses are cleaned. I prefer them to have plastic wrapped plastic glasses such as the Best Westerns I have been to.
To top it all off our toilet was plugged when we got there and we had to call customer service to take care of it. All they did was drop off the plunger and leave...not very good service to me...
Oh well, you live you learn, and I have learned to stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lincjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhunt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Rooms look OK, but if you like it cool to sleep, forget it. The windows won't open, the thermostat does nothing, I don't even know if it is hooked up. Poor is giving this hotel credit. There are lots of other hotels in Saskatoon, so go to them, unless you are real desperate.

Room Tip: I don't think there are good rooms in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived believing a two night reservation was made - they had me as one. Fine... make it 2? Not here, at least, not unless I wanted to get gouged another 70 bucks. One lucky thing though - I travel a lot so I buy bottled water upon arrival in a city. After going out for a bite to eat in the evening I found out the city had a "boil water advisory" happening. No mention of that by the front desk staff, easily could have drank their tap water and gotten ill! 90'sstyle dinosaur TV only had limited channels. Upon checkout, no thank you or queeries about the stay. I have now asked my office to REMOVE this hotel from the accommodation-option list.

Room Tip: To choose a good room... go across the street to Days Inn, or Travelodge or the Riviera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Saskatoon
Days Inn - Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#28 of 39 in Saskatoon
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#16 of 39 in Saskatoon
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Saskatoon

Property: Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Address: 310 Circle Dr W, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Saskatoon 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect blend of comfort, quality, and service, Sandman Hotel Saskatoon has everything for both corporate and leisure travellers to make your stay ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing