We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn - Saskatoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn - Saskatoon
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Let's start by saying that no one expects the Days Inn in Saskatoon to be like a night at the Ritz-Carlton, but for the price we paid I'd expect it to be better than a Motel 6 on the road to nowhere. Travelling with two kids we needed some space after a ten hour drive. We arrived later than we expected and pulled in to request a quiet room with a separate bedroom.

We were given a very nice room at the end of the second floor. I have no idea what the late night staff was like but my wife didnt complain about them so my guess is they were fine. The room was clean, the size was comfortable, but it was anything but quiet as it overlooked the freeway and picked up every engine that went by. Because of that sleep was hard to come by.

When we went down for the FREE breakfast it was nothing but some dried bagels and muffins, flake cereals, juice and coffee. Thank god for coffee but even it was bad. If a hotel is going to advertise free breakfast they should make an attempt at actually having something that resembles breakfast. The breakfast staff were a bit surly and seemed overrun by people who expected more. Add to that some old fart who felt he needed to see the same golf tutorial on his phone again and again and again at full volume to drown out the TV and I was sure I was about to trash his phone. Instead we just turned up the TV until he could no longer hear his video and he left.

This was the worst hotel we stayed in all summer. The staff were less than helpful, the room was not quiet, the breakfast would have been better at McDonalds, and they didn't care about our complaints. We travel a fair bit and stay in a wide range of locales but I don't think I'll ever attempt another Days Inn . . . I'd have been happier sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: Avoid anything on the west side if you like to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DISaskatoonManager, General Manager at Days Inn - Saskatoon, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am a bit confused by this review, as in the second paragraph you write that you were given a very nice room that was clean, a comfortable size and that the staff were fine.
The hotel is situated along Circle Dr. which can be a very busy street, unfortunately there is nothing that we can do about traffic, but what could have been done if you would have called our front desk is we could have moved you to a room that is further away from that road, and my staff are trained to accomodate this whenever possible, when the road is busier than usual.
The breakfast room provides, 3 types of fruit, oatmeal, 5 or 6 types of cereal, (one that is gluten free) bagels, assorted muffins, white, brown, rye, raisin breads and english muffins and butter tarts, coffee/decaf, tea and 2 fruit juice. Protien bars available in vending machines.
The complaint that I read is that an older gentleman was watching his video too loud and this disturbed you. Unfortunately we cannot control what guests do, perhaps if he was told that it was disturbing you and could he please turn it down he might have.
Perhaps if you look back at your stay at the hotel you may find that it was the circumstance of other people that bothered you, the old man, the unusual traffic noise, not the hotel itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    281
    101
    36
    13
See reviews for
251
99
28
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Would recommend hotel, good location for events at Credit Union Centre, good parking cleanrooms, very helpful and friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DISaskatoonManager, General Manager at Days Inn - Saskatoon, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always nice to be able to give my wonderful staff a pat on the back for a jobe well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The only problem we encountered was the breakfast staff on the 2nd day. They seemed very apathetic and left the garbage to pile up almost 2 feet above the top of the garbage can - very gross. Other htan that, a very nice time, we will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DISaskatoonManager, General Manager at Days Inn - Saskatoon, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have talked to our breakfast staff about your comments and they ensured me that they will ask for assistance before ever letting the garbage get overstuffed. I apologize for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saskatoon Airport
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
#5 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 39 in Saskatoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#16 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Saskatoon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Saskatoon

Property: Days Inn - Saskatoon
Address: 2000 Idylwyld Dr N, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 7M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#9 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Saskatoon 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn - Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Saskatoon Hotel Saskatoon
Saskatoon Days Inn
Days Inn - Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing