We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You would expect a high class place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saskatoon Thriftlodge
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You would expect a high class place for the price”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Terrible place wouldnt recomend it to anybody.High price and it seems like a place you would take a hooker to,condoms in parking lot,wind drafts through the door,cant shower without getting burnt just terrible expierience.Very small rooms,terrible beds just stay away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikekozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Mike,
Thanks for your feedback. Am sorry to hear you didn't have a great stay and can tell you don't typically stay in exterior access properties. Exterior access are great as you don't have to carry your stuff down hallways. We have a lot of construction and work crews as per our kitchenettes and long term prices. Not only do you get a great rate when you book for more then a week you get a full breakfast included. New furniture, TV's that are new and larger then most 4 star brands, fridges in every room, new beds in every room(not sure why you had a rough sleep)

My advice to you if price is a big issue, book well in advance in Saskatoon. Hottest hotel market in Canada and 3rd highest average daily rate due to our economy. I understand that sometimes you can't plan but we price accordingly to our brand and value provided. I will point out many downtown properties will be $175-$200+, $15-20/parking, and no continental breakfast($10-$15) Our property will be $100- $140 less then that with all value added.

Cheers
Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    45
    33
    24
See reviews for
35
23
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Started off by having to walk back to the front desk because was told to go to the wrong room. Not sure if it was the furnace or what but the room smelled of cigarette smoke at times.The furnace was right beside your head and was noisy when it was running and made a ticking sound when it shut off, with a fairly loud single one about 10 mins later. They put me near the stairs and I had to listen to loud stomping guests until around 12 am. The people beside me sounded like they were talking in my bathroom till 1am. Would not stay here again. The shower in the morning was scalding hot to cool with bursts of cold mixed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Kendall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I appreciate your review and taking time to post. I will bring these comments to management as communication is an important part to daily operations. We continue our renovations into 2013 and are switching out our furnaces to electric heating and cooling units(May/June) so there will be no issues moving forward as you discussed. We hope to see you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a road trip. This is a motel style hotel with the room doors to the outside and since it was a cold February night you could feel some cold air coming in through the door but the heater was adequate. The room was very small and barely fit the bed, dresser and table. It was, for the most part very clean and you can tell they are slowly making improvements to the rooms such as new furniture and carpets. On the negative side, in the morning I found old mouldy coffee in the coffee maker and the coffee maker would not work, also the tray the coffee maker was on was stained and sticky with old spilled coffee. I notified the front desk and they stated it would be addressed but since I was only there for one night I don't know if it was. Secondly, there is very little sound proofing between the rooms and there is quite a bit of noise that can be heard from other rooms. This woke me a few times through the night.

One other positive was the service on check in. The clerk who checked me in was excellent, efficient and thoroughly explained the hotel facilities to me.

Overall, I would stay here again for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherriTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi! I appreciate the comments. It is important to hear our customers opinions and being a smaller property we can react a lot quicker then most. We look forward to helping you next time you are in the busy growing Saskatoon.

Cheers
Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have been involved in Bringing Irish Immigrants and they are given a good welcome and find the Hotel very accomodating.
The owner has just bought the Property and is working hard to have the place fully furnished and
will be one of the best values in Saskatoon.
Close to Airport and 4 Kms from down town.
I have had many compliments on the service and price
Norman Wallace

Room Tip: The owner is trying hard to establish one of the best values in Sakatoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normanwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments! We appreciate you pointing out the positive value added features of our property.

Renovations are still on going as our current projects are granite counter tops in all bathrooms, bathroom flooring, and upgrades to all bedding, drapes, and mattresses.

We have a dedicated owner that invests back into the property and is involved in daily operations which is one reason things get done.

In Hospitality
Travis B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#20 of 39 in Saskatoon
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Saskatoon Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#28 of 39 in Saskatoon
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn - Saskatoon
Days Inn - Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saskatoon Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Property: Saskatoon Thriftlodge
Address: 1825 Idylwyld Dr N, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saskatoon Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensuring that our service exceeds your expectations we provide an affordable, comfortable and pratical place to stay while in Saskatoon. We have 56 guestrooms conveniently located close to the airport and many popular restaurants/amenities. Less Fuss, More Value. Amenities include free parking, free wireless internet, Continental Breakfast, Business Centre, Suites available, Fridges/microwaves available, and Long Term Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saskatoon Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Thrift Lodge
Saskatoon Thriftlodge Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing