We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personal experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saskatoon Thriftlodge
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have read some of your reviews people of this motel and i just wanted to say i have not experienced any of these occurences.The staff was very friendly and help-full in many ways.i never had one concern that i can even think of.I stay at this hotel 3 times a month and there professional conduct courtesy and friendly enviroment they provide is up there to a class and star hotel.Kudos to your staff Mike i commend you on how you treat people and all there concerns.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

I shared your comments with the staff. It's important for them to see how their hard work and customer service helps guests like you. Yes, we are doing lots of renovations and moving forward with positive customer focused services in mind. You'll be happy to hear that we are putting kitchenettes in with cabinets, sink, fridge, and microwaves for your longer future stays. Late summer we will have all new furniture so each room will have a new look as well as fridges in each room. we look forward to your next stay.

In hospitality,
Travis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lets see. The hotel was as good as can be expected. The hotel did not use fitted sheets on the beds and that left part of the mattress exposed. I don't expect much when it comes to bedding at budget motels, but this is especially bad.

The mattresses seemed to be pretty new, and they are the typical hard as nails cheap motel mattress, the place was clean. The gas furnace between the bathroom and the main room left much to be desired. It did a great job of letting all the bathroom noise out, and filling the whole place with the lovely sound of the pilot light firing up every so often. Electric heat would be much appreciated.

The room layout was odd and very cramped, but had a very large open corner next to the bathroom, unfortunately the area was so dark it wasn't useful at all.

The other tenants are exactly what you can expect at a budget motel. We often heard car alarms going off and the sound of the people upstairs dropping beer bottles and falling over drunk.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. No problems with them. The central parking lot was fine and the overnight clerk watches it like a hawk, the parking lot towards the mcdonalds leaves a bit to be desired.

The internet was pretty sketchy but somehow only went out twice over a whole week.

Room Tip: Go anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jason9945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

We appreciate your comments. New ownership took over March 1st. We'd love to have you back as there are some great value added amenities coming to the property. Thank you
Travis Batting
Owner/Operator
Thriftlodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Would not recommend this hotel if you need internet service. We stayed in room 209 and was told that the hotel had two routers one on each side of the hotel (we were in the middle) and that I would probably not get internet service!! I did but very sporatic, kept disconnecting. Very frustrating when I had to have service....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank KenoraTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

I just took over ownership and it's one of my top priorities. Internet is crucial and that middle section has been a blind spot. If it wasn't for customer feedback I wouldn't have made it a top priority. For the value of our property we want to ensure you are getting the amenities you need. I want to point out that we are also getting a business station for the breakfast room so you can also have another option for internet access. Internet rules the world now and is why we're reading these reviews. :)

Appreciate your business and your comments
Travis Batting
Owner/Operator
Thriftlodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Firstly let me say that you really need you avoid this hotel, only book as a last resort. I am not a fussy person nor do expect mansions or 5 star hotels. But this place is in serious need of repair. The ac doesn't work the rooms smell funny, the bath exhaust fan that is not hocked up is haning from the ceiling, the bath tub is chipped, missing head board appears to have been ripped offf the wall, there is some metal wall contraption leading from the bathroom the the main room. Generally it appears that the room just needs to be gutted and done over.

On the plus side the sheets smelled clean and the room was as clean as you can get a room that is worn out. Also they allow pets which was a must for us and the price was low. The location was good as it lends easy access to Hway 16.

All in all avoid if possible and really wishing I had done my homework before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mp_dude45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis B, Owner at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Yes, we do take pride in a great housekeeping staff. In a small property(we have 12 staff) housekeeping and customer service are the most important. I do want to communicate that I am the new ownership as of March 1st. Last Summer/Fall there was not a reliable maintenance assistant and you pointed out some areas of interest. We are moving forward and building a better property to serve your needs. We'd like you to come back and enjoy our brand standards. Don't forget you get double the rewards with Travelodge Canada and HBC rewards. We appreciate your business.
Travis Batting
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Wow! We got bed bugs!! And not to mention the used tampon found beside the bed by my 3 yr old. No help from management as there isnt any, and the hotel help are all immigrants, another turn off. The bites never went away for weeks. Stay as far away as possible from this dump!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank thedonofjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secormik1, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

We have had no instances of bed bug infestation as our regular monthly inspections can attest. We are certain that our award winning housekeeping staff who achieved a perfect score on our last inspection would never miss such an item. As manager I can also assure that our fully Canadian staff is always attentive and helpful. None of these complaints were at anytime reported to our staff at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeffQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Monia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis306Batting, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Saskatoon
Comfort Inn Saskatoon
#24 of 41 in Saskatoon
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
2.8 mi away
Motel 6 Saskatoon
Motel 6 Saskatoon
#22 of 41 in Saskatoon
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#20 of 41 in Saskatoon
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
#28 of 41 in Saskatoon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saskatoon Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Address: 1825 Idylwyld Dr N, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: $64 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saskatoon Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensuring that our service exceeds your expectations we provide an affordable, comfortable and pratical place to stay while in Saskatoon. We have 56 guestrooms conveniently located close to the airport and many popular restaurants/amenities. Less Fuss, More Value. Amenities include free parking, free wireless internet, Continental Breakfast, Business Centre, Suites available, Fridges/microwaves available, and Long Term Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saskatoon Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Thrift Lodge
Saskatoon Thriftlodge Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing