We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Square Inn & Suites
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst experience of my life”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hottel attendant very rude. Checked in for a smoking room after a 8 hour road trip... when I get to my room there was no ashtray so I called the front desk to ask them to bring me one, she then informs me it is a non-smoking establishment. I immediatley packed my things back up and asked for my money back. They refused and when I'm upset over it the manager Waqar Younous then tells me to "SHUT UP!". UNBELIEVABLE!!! ...more discussion and still refusal to refund my money. Only after 45 min and if I were write an apology and after a room inspection to ensure I hadn't smoked in the room did they finally refund my money. So incredibly humiliating. This motel hasn't a clue about hospitality. Verging on dirty, low-life stealing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrugstoreHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    13
    7
    10
See reviews for
16
24
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Cigarette smell throughout the room (so bad in the SHOWER I thought it was on me), super lumpy old pillows, no ACTUAL fitted sheet (just two flat sheets), loud honking directly outside our window for roughly half an hour, bed so eerie and gross we slept on top on the comforter. Definitely WAY overpriced for the quality.
When I called to get my reservation confirmed, the phone rang for roughly 45 rings. Yikes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in the suites this time. It was great! Nice walk to the river trail, Main St & Broadway St. In the past we stayed at the hotel on 8th street & explored the main road. Much prefered the suite with the kitchen facilities since we stayed for the minimum 7 days. We were visiting our mother in a home, so the extra space in the suite was nice to have, just like being at home. It was also nice because we could park the car at the apartment and walk to peaceful areas. We could cook and stay in or walk a short distance and eat out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathykaplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for New Years Eve. Despite the holiday and the onsite bar and offsale, our room, the hotel and the surrounding parking lot were quiet and we went undisturbed for the night.

Check in was quick and easy. The staff was polite and efficient. Our room was comfortable, clean and cosy. I made our reservation online and was able to choose what floor I wanted to be on and the room/bed sizes were all the same price. In other words, there was no extra charge for the comfortable king size bed. Our only complaint on the room was it was much to warm for our comfort but I didn't think to turn the heat down until late into the night and hot water heat takes a very long time to regulate itself. Had I turned the heat down when i first noticed, it would have been very comfortable. The hallways and decor are very plain and perhaps a bit sterile but really, I don't care about what the place looks like as long as it is clean.

The location of the hotel is on the east side of the city right on a major street. As stated there is a bar and an offsale in the same parking lot. The restaurant is fairly priced with superb food. There are also grocery stores and many other good restaurants within site of the hotel so don't worry about getting lost.

My partner and I had a very enjoyable experience and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishbear27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed on a Friday night. Check-in was SLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWW . . . .checkout was SLLLLOOOOOOOWWWWWERRRRR. Bed was ok, but the all-night party in the parking lot (motel has a late-night bar and off-sale outlet in the same complex) woke us up more than once. The $200 deposit demanded was excessive, and delayed checkout while our room was reviewed by staff: this policy appears to be specially directed to First Nations individuals. (I'm 56, and my significant other is 48, so I guess we look like "wrecker" types.) The hair dryer started so slowly I thought it was a jet engine warming up. Paint job in the washroom was incomplete, and washroom door interfered with toilet use. Paper-thin walls mean the idiot who ran his car for 20 minutes at 6 AM (while showering) contributes to your sleeplessness. Unfortunately, this is now the only motel on the east side of the city within a 5-minute drive of downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ttbclav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We chose this motel for its proximity to our daughter's house by the university. Accommodations in Canada are generally overpriced and at $120/night this is no exception. Room was large and clean but the bed was hard and poorly made (had to tuck the sheets in ourselves). Stairwell was filthy, with muddy carpets and chunks of mud. Front desk staff was efficient but cold and unfriendly. We begrudging got a half-hour late checkout. I doubt I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdwernychuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed in the extended stay apartments. Recently renovated unit, however, not that clean. Very dusty with bottles under the bed. Upon entering unit, greeted by sound of air conditioner shorting out. Called the hotel desk, janitor came and pronounced it dead. Could not replace it that day. Asked for fans as it was 29 degrees and very humid. Told to buy some and they would pay me back. Was offered a room at the motel for the night. Did not really wish to move twice. Unit was replaced at 0745 the next day.

The apartments are adequte and for the price a deal. The motel looks a bit sketchy. Several liquor outlets either in the motel or the parking lot, probably would not stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidRNCalgary_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#19 of 39 in Saskatoon
258 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
#29 of 39 in Saskatoon
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
247 reviews
Comfort Inn
#28 of 39 in Saskatoon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Square Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Square Inn & Suites

Property: Colonial Square Inn & Suites
Address: 1301 8th Street East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7H 0S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Varsity View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Square Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial Square Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Square Hotel Saskatoon
Colonial Square Inn & Suites Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing