We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes being made”

Wanuskewin Heritage Park
Ranked #6 of 82 things to do in Saskatoon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can learn about the culture of the Northern Plains Indians at this historic site, with reenactments of native dances, pow wows and games.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Changes being made”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had been at Wanuskewin before and the place seemed a bit empty . The outside pathways to the buffalo jump were still interesting and they did have a native storyteller/dancer presentation which was good. The galleries however seemed bare. While we were in the cafeteria (bison burgers avialable) a staff member heard out discussion and indicated that the board was aware of the issue and work was being done to make more things avialable to the public.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 643retiredguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    21
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
413 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time at Wanuskewin. We brought some friends that came to visit us from England and we had an amazing day.

A great display of First Nations Culture. From the gift shop with really unique handcrafted pieces to the restaurant that features amazing food, this place is a must visit.

Go on a Saturday to watch come cultural dancing and ensure you walk the trails in the summer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding First Nations heritage!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Wanuskewin Heritage Park is a great place to browse the interesting gift shop, or to go for a contemplative meal, and to sit and just absorb the atmosphere of a place where people have come for thousand of years to gather, hunt buffalo and celebrate their culture. But the real magic of Wanuskewin is in its trails where you can get some interpretation and imagine what it must have been like at one time with families in their dwellings, smoking camp fires, and children laughing and playing. If you like to find yourself wandering the trails where people have come for thousands of years and imagine the thundering buffalo coming over the edge where the interpretive centre now sits, this is definitely for you. My family, who are grown up now, go there every time we are in the area. But make sure you go when you can walk the trails and take your imagination with you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A prairie experience.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited this place a number of years ago and took the stroll through the park. Educating and enlightening. The up and down hills may be an issue for some, but plenty of resting spots. Try the Bannock at the cafe.

Helpful?
1 Thank ProsaicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice place to go for the day. Cant wait to see it in summer.
Very informative about native culture, and a huge park for walks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering_Irish_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanuskewin Heritage Park also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Wanuskewin Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing