We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations -and I'm picky :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations -and I'm picky :)”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I can't say enough good things about this hotel as it became my refuge from a very busy schedule. My room was very nice -lots of room, a king size bed, fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, desk, wirelss internet, nice bathroom with marble vanity, nice toiletries, jaccuzzi tub and shower, The hotel staff were very nice and helpful -can't thank them enough. The restaurant -unlike many hotel restaurants- had great food at reasonable prices, they also do the room service. They offer buffets at breakfast and lunch. Cold breakfast buffet was $7.95 and Hot breakfast buffet was five dollars more at $12.95. The lunch buffet was $14. The lobby is very nicely furnished and very relaxing.

I have stayed in many nice hotels in my travels and I gave this one such a high rating because they exceeded my expectations in every way -service, accommodations, food, and atmosphere.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EdmTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    266
    76
    31
    15
See reviews for
111
107
42
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed one night at this Garden Inn, across the street from Midtown mall. I agree with several other postings here: overall, the hotel is excellent.

You can pull in your car (if no others are there) at the front entrance for 10 minutes. Lobby was attractive and inviting. Check-in was prompt, friendly and professional. Elevators a bit slow. Surveillance cameras in hallways.

Pop and Ice machines were on my floor (I'm uncertain of other floors). My room had a comfy king bed with white bedding, desk with excellent office chair, Internet was free and reliable. Modern decor. Closet with folding door included iron & board.

Sheers and blackout drapes on the window. Wall unit includes microwave, bar fridge and coffeemaker. No concerns with the bathroom. My TV remote control was acting up. When I called to report it, I had a replacement in 8 minutes.

The pool has steps from shallow to the deeper section. Larger than your typical hotel pool. Small whirlpool in the corner. Even a playroom next to the changerooms. There is a great open air deck off the pool – an unexpected surprise.

Gym is immediately next to the pool. It’s tight for space. Includes 2 treadmills – both with their own TVs, elliptical, (and other equipment I didn’t use) towels, stuff to clean equipment. Access 24/7 with your room card.

Enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the onsite restaurant (not included with my room price). Free newspapers available in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I stay here once or twice per year, on business. I've probably stayed here around a half-dozen times now.

Always consistently high level of service and cleanliness. Staff are very professional and helpful. I've had to test them with many tasks and they always come through. Can't fault anything really, but do have to agree that the area of downtown is not the best, and you are forced to use the open lot next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

The Hilton is in right downtown Saskatoon. Not considered west end. We did not have that expeirence. We enjoyed shopping that was at the mall right across the street called the Midtown. There are terrific restaurants and little pubs around the corner when you come out of the Hotel about a block away in either direction. And if you walk to the river it is beautiful...

Helpful?
1 Thank NiceSpice39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Not a bad hotel, but a woman was robbed in the parking lot. Saskatoon's down town is quite shady, and this is on the west side of downtown - albeit, downtown is so small east side is only a few blocks away.

Saskatoon leads Canada in violent crime, and from the adjacent surface parking lot, you may well have a chance to be a part of that statistic.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Saskatoon has dirty down town, this hotel is in about the worst part of it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SaskatoonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I stayed at here for two nights for a family wedding. The hotel has improved a lot since its previous life. The check-in went well and the desk manager gave me the free breakfasts that came with my Hilton Honors even though there was a problem with the HH system. And I was told that I would be given an upgrade next time I stayed there because the hotel was sold out and one was not available that weekend.

The room was good. It had a microwave, bar fridge and coffeemaker, two wonderful beds. My only complained was that I had specified no fleather bedding or pillows and three of the six pillows were feather. When I called to complain, I was told the pillows were hypoallergenic. But someone did bring up 3 more, rather limp pillows in a pretty short amount of time. The wall sconce lights in the bathroom quit working part through the weekend and although I mentioned it to both the housekeeping and front desk staff, it was not fixed. Made puttting on make-up a little difficult as the ceiling light was very dim.

The pool and health club were nice. There is a lovely open air deck off the pool that would be great for suntanning on hot summer days.

The food in the restaurant was good. The breakfast buffet with custom omelete was a very good deal. The room service was very prompt (although there was no place for two trays of food as the desk was too small). And the food at the wedding reception was good, given the size of the crowd.

This is a good hotel, probably my second or third favourite in Saskatoon (after the Bessborough of course). If you are working downtown or attending an event at the concert hall, the location is hard to beat. Also one can park underground and in the winter that would enough to make me pick this place.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pengAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I stayed at this Garden Inn for five nights while at a conference. Overall, the hotel was excellent. My room was clean and well furnished, house-cleaning was efficient, and the wireless internet service was free and reliable. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom fixtures were well-appointed and new. The hotel lobby and hallways are bright, spacious and fresh. Front-desk service was always fast and friendly.

The hotel is located downtown and across the street from a shopping mall, one block away from 2nd Avenue, a lively retail area during the day, and a short walk from the main conference centre. But the surrounding area dies down after 6pm and walking the streets is not terribly pleasant after dark. Although I did not use the hotel gym, it seemed quite small and limited.

Minor quibbles: I prefer the bed covers to be white, but they were the old fashioned multi-colored jobs at this hotel. There is no view to speak of from the hotel. And the three slowish elevators sometimes seemed to have a hard time keeping up with demand. Finally, the I sometimes found the house-cleaning staff occupying the chairs in front of the elevators on my floor (slumped and taking a break?), which did not appear very professional.

Overall, I found my stay at this hotel very comfortable, and I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location, Staff Service, Room Furnishings, Bathrooms
  • Disliked — Slowish Elevators
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Infiniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
854 reviews
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
374 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown
Address: 90 22nd St E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saskatoon
#4 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#11 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn is a beacon of downtown style and sophistication, and an ideal base from which to explore the City of Bridges. Overlooking the vibrancy of downtown Saskatoon, this 16-floor hotel is just steps from Midtown Plaza and TCU Place Arts & Convention Centre. Key attractions close to the Hilton Garden Inn include Remai Arts Centre (0.1 km), Meewasin Trail (1 km), the University of Saskatchewan (4 km) and River Landing (1 km). Contemporary furnishings and warm, inviting colours come together in 180 guestrooms. Retreat to the quiet calmness of your room with the city as your backdrop. Offering custom, adjustable beds, free WiFi, flat-screen TV's, microwaves and mini-fridges. Upgrade your room to one of 12 luxurious Spa Suites, with private sleeping areas, whirlpool tubs, living area and fireplace. Accessible Rooms and Pet-Friendly Rooms available at no additional charge. Positive guest experiences are assured with the Hilton Garden 100% Satisfaction Guarantee for every stay. This downtown Saskatoon conference centre hosts and caters groups in 11,500 sq. ft of functional event space. Booking at the Hilton Garden Inn ensures your event is in the hands of professionals, with full-scale catering and banquet services, fresh ingredients and in-house A/V equipment. Stay on routine with a fully-equipped Business Centre and Fitness Centre that are available 24-hours every day. A lobby Pantry conveniently equips guests with sundries at all hours, including snacks, gifts and everyday essentials. A second floor pool and whirlpool offer natural light from south-facing windows. Indulge in a handcrafted lobby latte, chef-inspired plates and locally-sourced classic cocktails in our inviting social spaces. We Proudly Serve Starbucks customizes hot and cold beverages offering pastries, grab-and-go lunches and alcoholic beverages in the inviting lobby lounge. The Garden Grille & Bar serves daily breakfast buffet, plus a full menu crafted with locally-sourced ingredients. Lunch features build-your-own salads and burgers, and dinner features BBQ platters to share in an intimate gathering. Steps Lounge is an uptown gathering place in downtown Saskatoon. Sip on the best bourbons that can be found in this city, unforgettable classic cocktails, local craft beer, appetizers and sharing plates. This award-winning hotel is home to the Hilton CEO Light & Warmth Award. Eco-friendly, rated with 4 Green Keys, Energy Star Partnership and Saskatchewan Environmental Society Partnership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown Hotel Saskatoon
Hilton Saskatoon
Hilton Garden Inn Saskatoon Downtown Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing