We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at the Delta Bessborough overnight on our way to and from a vacation in Mexico. Staff was wonderful, accommodating and friendly. Our room was comfortable and the bed was unbelievable. We had a little bit of trouble regulating the temperature and the room seemed cool. Great for sleeping. We had room service twice and ate at the resteraunt once all good. My husband enjoyed working out in the gym. The only bad thing about the stay was on one night the elevators were not working.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreezingWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear FreezingWinnipeg, Thank you for posting your comments. We are undergoing an elevator modernization so the situation you experienced, in that regard, should not repeat itself.

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    187
    69
    26
    14
See reviews for
68
141
22
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

First let me say that I have stayed at this hotel many times throughout the years. Location, charm and friendly helpful staff what more could you ask for?

Sadly it appears that things are slipping at this once marvelous hotel. One of the biggest perks of staying at The Bess in my opinion has always been the gym facility. The sauna has been out of order for well over a year and hotel staff tells me that management has turned a deaf ear to repeated requests to have it repaired. During our last stay we wandered down for breakfast and were told by a less than friendly server that we would be well advised to "take advantage of the 26.95 per person buffet or be prepared to wait a very long time if we order from the menu." No water offered when we sat down and she poured coffee into a dirty lip stick stained cup, unbelievable! Needless to say we left and wandered across the street and took advantage of the 17.95 buffet at The Sheraton.

There are 3 very nice Hotels in downtown Saskatoon and I suggest you check out The James, The Sheraton or The Park Town It is saddening to see this once wonderful property so poorly managed and we have already made reservations to stay with the competition next trip through.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawsonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear dawsonjk, I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your most recent stay. I would however like to correct some misinformation for the TripAdvisor community. The pool and fitness centre are scheduled for renovation early in the new year. The dry sauna will be refurbished as a part of that project but is certainly not being ignored. Our Breakfast Buffet is 16.00. Sunday Brunch, which is a very extensive offering, is 26.00

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed overnight for one night and upon arrival, staff are exceptional. Our room smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking so staff immediately came up to a new room and met us with new keys instead of us having to go back downstairs again. The rooms are nicely updated and the beds are comfortable. A nice gym and great restaurants. I got a corporate rate which is actually cheaper than many of the other lower notch hotels so if you can get a good rate come here instead of another option!

Room Tip: get a room facing the river which is a nicer view and quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amzpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear amzpet, Thank you for your kind review. Our hotel is 100% smoke free so It is unfortunate to hear that someone was smoking.

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drgmobile
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Delta Bessborough for a work function for the second time in a year. The property appears to be in the midst of a renovation (work itself not noticeable) and the floor I was in had been redone, rather elegantly. The meeting rooms have yet to receive the treatment, but nevertheless the hotel retains its railroad era grandeur. Not a typical Delta.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank drgmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear drgmboile, Thank you for sharing your opinions. I am pleased to advise that all guest rooms and corridor renovations were complete as of April of 2012.

Regards,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bring earplugs. The Bess is an old hotel with big heavy doors that slam when they shut. It is noisy all night long. (Front desk staff asked why we didn't phone to say something? How do you ask everyone of your guests to stay in their room all night? It's not the fault of the guests. They're old doors that swing shut quickly.)

Internet on 5th floors spotty at best. Found myself using the towel rack in the bathtub to rest my iPad on to get a signal I could use.

There is a Starbucks in the Sheraton across the street. You will use it if you enjoy a decent cup of coffee especially when this Delta premium brand hotel serves Nabob in the room. Nabob? Seriously. With all the premium coffee choices out there this is what you get for your premium cost per room. Rooms have fridges but no coffee creamers (which would be easy to do but they don't.).

Ordered room service (toast and jam) but they brought no knives to spread the jam. Coffee was dreadful.

Had to have a conversation with housekeeping about how to prop open a door when cleaning. Otherwise, they open the door, activate the deadbolt and let the door slam steel-on-steel a dozen times as they wander in and out of the room. this is disturbing if you plan on sleeping late - which you can't do in this hotel. Theres just too much activity in the hall.

Front desk offered to give me a free night the "next" time I came to Saskatoon. I asked why I had to wait months before they would fix a problem today? They discounted my stay immediately.

I really wanted to have a great experience at the Bess. I love what this hotel could be I suppose. But I find myself having to tolerate what it is. It is a majestic building but the supporting staff and facilities are not up to the task of premium experience which is too bad because this property could be a reason to visit Saskatoon. Sadly, the Sheraton across the street offers better. Will probably stay there next time. Better value.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AttitudeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear attitudeguy, While I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay, I appreciate the feed back and thank your for taking the time to post a review. I would like to clarify that all rooms are equipped with door closures. They can require adjustment from time to time and I will ensure that your comment is follow up on. I am pleased to advise you that as a company Delta Hotels has just converted to Starbucks coffee. While the in room coffee is still in discussion, Starbucks is now the only coffee served in restaurants, lounges, in room dining and at lobby kiosks.

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable. It has been refurbished and the rooms are lovely. Nice decor. Widescreen tv. Fridge, Tea and coffee maker with real cups and not plastic. Towels changed every day and the pillowcases on the bed. The sheets were changed every second day. It has a superb gym, sauna, swimming pool and jacuzzi. Right in the centre. 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the bus station. The restaurant had lovely food and room service was good too. However I would not recommend staying there on a Saturday night if you are at the front of the hotel. The noise does not stop til 3 in the morning. I phoned the front desk and was informed it was the establishment across the road. There is no double glazing in the hotel so the noise is terrible. Unfortunately I had to get up at 4 in the morning to catch an international flight. So I was really tired and angry. The management just said sorry! No refund, no nothing. Fine if you can lie in the next day. I would go back. But not at the weekend

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dance4lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear dance4lynne, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to see that you like the all the recent renovations! At the same time it is disheartening to read that you were disturbed by people outside the hotel. While difficult for us to control we are in discussions with the establishment responsible in an effort to ensure others are not impacted in the same way.

Sincerely,

Andrew Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had to visit Saskatoon for work and this hotel was selected as the place to stay. Arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome. Room was nice and tastefully decorated. Really liked the Delta pillow on the bed, nice touch. The bathroom was a little small with not much counter space, but it was clean and still functional. Ordered room service for dinner and it was delicious. Prompt service and just very tasty. Also enjoyed the breakfast buffet the next morning and was happy with the selection and price. Walked all over Saskatoon from this hotel and it was very easy although a bit cold now that winter is setting in. LOoking forward to my next visit to this hotel in late November.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmABTDeltaBES, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear getmarshall, Thank you for sharing your comments and thank you for noticing some of the small details of our recent room renovations such as the accent pillow. The crest on the pillow is from the hotels opening in 1935 and incorporates the Bessborough family crest.

Your Truly,

Andrew'Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
375 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Address: 601 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3G8, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels Bessborough)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#10 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic heritage hotel located in the heart of Downtown, on 5 private acres along the banks of the South Saskatchewan River, Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough is Saskatoon's only CAA/AAA 4 Diamond hotel. We are a top choice among hotels in Downtown Saskatoon and Saskatoon hotels near SaskTel Centre. Our accommodations feature recently renovated guestrooms designed by the world renowned Anderson/Miller group, a full service spa, pool, fitness facility, 2 restaurants, and exclusive club level accommodations. Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough is located only steps away from many restaurants, bars, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Bessborough Hotel Saskatoon
Delta Saskatoon
Saskatoon Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Bessborough Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing