We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suite and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful suite and great staff”
Reviewed October 12, 2008

The suite, staff and shuttle to and from the airport were fantastic. The suite was beautiful, quiet, clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The inn is a 15-20 minute walk to the Delta where my conference was.

The breakfast bar was below average. The coffee and cooked food were good and the woman who prepared the cooked food was great. The oranges were old and mottled, the orange juice was heavily diluted, the danishes and muffins were stale, the cereal selection was nutrionally poor and the english muffins had blue mold on them.

Allocation of a slightly higher budget by senior management to provide a quality breakfast to hotel guests would place this holiday inn in a truly superior class.

  • Liked — the beautiful suite
  • Disliked — the breakfast bar
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nammyohorengekyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    104
    46
    16
    10
See reviews for
55
38
23
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

From the moment we arrived, the experience was excellent. The check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. Not 10 minutes after we had checked into our room, the front desk called to make sure that everything was all right and that we were satisfied with the room. What a great business practice, and how rare!
Our room was unusually large, with a very comfortable king bed, and a separate sitting area. The décor was modern, sophisticated and restful. Everything was clean and well-prepared. Towels were big and fluffy, not small and worn.
The hot breakfast, included in the room rate, was excellent. The breakfast room was clean, large, well-decorated (fireplace and easy chairs included!) and the staff made sure there was ample food, well presented and served hot as it should be and cold when it needed to be. The coffee was great.
The hotel is located very near to the city centre and the parking is ample and free.
Somehow, HIE Saskatoon has figured out how to provide first class services and amenities at a very affordable price.
If you ever need a hotel in Saskatoon, do not miss the Holiday Inn Express. Pass on the others that cost far more money and are far less enjoyable. I know from experience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoneAgain47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

This hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from downtown Saskatoon. It was very nice, clean. Staff were anxious to help. They have a pool and a hot tub (we did not use due to lack of time). Breakfast was provided - average quality (good pastry for people like me who like their sweets). It was quiet at night which was appreciated.

If there are any cons-it's that there isn't a great selection of restaurants nearby (there were a couple-neither of which interested us for differing reasons-more because we weren't in mood for italian food etc). We drove a few kilometres to find "restaurant row" - staff were anxious to help us find a restaurant which appealed to us. The only other negative is that hotel appeared to be in borderline neighbourhood. I'm not sure I would have walked to hotel at night by myself - but it would certainly have been easy to call a cab if needed.

This hotel made a good impression on us. We would love to stay here again - it "sparkled". All 5 of the people in my family were very happy after 1 night here.

  • Liked — Excellent staff, handy location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

I tried booking online, but the website froze halfway through the transaction. I called the toll-free number, and they obviously are not familiar with Canada! I ended up booking an extended stay suite with a "provinical government" discount. I called the hotel directly after the booking to confirm my room, no problem.

We check into the hotel, I guess they had given me a room with a federal government discount, which is actually cheaper (!) than a prov. gov discount. They said it was the 3rd time that day someone checked in with the wrong booking discount, but gave me the quoted rate anyway :o)

The room was great, had a full-sized fridge and freezer, stovetop, microwave and sink, with all the kitchen bits you need. No sofa, but everything else you'd expect in a room (queen bed, desk, full bathroom).

We made full use of the hot tub and swimming pool, the hotel needs to monitor this area and tidy it up a bit during the day, but overall was great.

The free breakfast was great, it would have been nice to have full access to coffee/tea and creamer and sugar all day, rather than just in the morning.

Overall, our stay was great. We were centrally located, so we could easily get onto main routes to travel around, and we were 10 mins walk to the Midtown mall, so we saved on parking there. I will defintely consider coming back to the Holiday Inn Express on my next trip.

  • Liked — hot tub, free breakfast, free downtown parking
  • Disliked — really slow elevators
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank u2addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Everything about the hotel - beds, rooms, breakfast - was fantastic. The problem for us was the 'pet friendly' attitude - no rooms were off limits for pets. Our room had obviously had a dog or cat in it the night before - my husband could not breathe or sleep due to pet dander in the air and on the furniture. Also, the room next door had a dog that barked all night and morning. When we complained, we were essentially told that guests with pets came before guests without. I suggested they treat it like smoking rooms by having certain designated rooms/floors for pets. Unless they are carpet cleaning the entire room and all furniture each day, it is impossible to rid the space of pet dander. It is sad, as I really enjoyed the hotel otherwise, but we will never be able to return. $300 for two nights and my husband got no sleep. I guess at least the pet owners did.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Pets being more important than people.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spillque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have stayed here several times over the past few years since it opened and it has never disappointed. The hotel is as clean as the day it opened.

We had occasion to stay here twice recently and both times we were impressed. The rooms and all common areas are always clean. The breakfast area could use some more staff to clean up during busy times, but it's more than offset by the free breakfast offered every morning.

We booked our rooms a few weeks in advance online. During our second stay, I heard the girl at the front desk tell a walk-in customer that the hotel was fully booked, but we never encountered any "bumping" or overbooking issues.

For our first stay we booked a two-queen bed room, which was great. On the way back they gave us the 4th floor suite and man o'man, it was GREAT. We hadn't planned on spending that much money for the night but I'm glad we got the suite even if we didn't have a choice.

The hotel has a business centre with a computer and printer and a pool. The pool is a bit small, but who cares as it is not meant to be a resort.

We look forward to staying here everytime we are in Saskatoon. The management and staff obviously make an effort to keep the place ship shape and it shows.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, professional staff
  • Disliked — Recreation facilities, specifically the pool size
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank InsideTrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed at the HI Express due to its convenient location to downtown. We had a suite and it was terrific. It had a couch, table and chairs, and tv. We were able to close the french doors after the kids went to sleep and did not have to worry about waking them up. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cooper-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 315 Idylwyld Dr N, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Caswell Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an Award-Winning Hotel in Saskatoon, Canada The multiple award-winning and smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saskatoon is located adjacent to downtown Saskatoon and close to many area attractions and businesses. During your visit to Saskatoon, our hotel is the ideal place to stay. You can catch a stock car race at the Auto Clearing Motor Speedway, enjoy the Saskatoon Zoo and Forestry Farm Park, or raise the stakes at the Dakota Dunes Casino. We welcome prospective students of the University of Saskatchewan. The savvy business traveler will find that among local hotels in Saskatoon, Canada we are the smart option. Our hotel's location is near industry and businesses that include mining, scientific research, and technologies. You can easily get to the central business district. In addition, we make it easy to conduct business in Saskatoon, Canada. Our hotel's Business Centre is fully equipped, and we offer two meeting rooms with natural light and A/V equipment. When you need a hotel in Saskatoon, Canada look no further than ours. We offer upgraded amenities that include free high-speed Internet access, the free Express Start breakfast buffet and an indoor pool and spa for your enjoyment. There's a well-equipped Fitness Centre with cardio equipment to help you stay fit. Reserve your rooms today and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Saskatoon, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Saskatoon
Holiday Inn Express Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Holiday Inn Saskatoon
Saskatoon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing