We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“turn up the heat and let in some light” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bodega

La Bodega
Ranked #64 of 561 Restaurants in Regina
Cuisines: Spanish, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Cathedral
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“turn up the heat and let in some light”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited for lunch yesterday. This is usually a summer haunt but decided to visit out of season.
I usually eat in the bar area but regretted the choice today. It was cold and dark in this area. They had a portable heater on the bar but it was chilly the whole visit. It was also very dark.
My usual fare ,falafel ,was not good. What use to be crispy patties is now bean mush. It is served with a mutant dill pickle and the soup of the day,cabbage roll, which was very good.
For a restaurant that describes itself as a green establishment,it should look at the comfort levels. Eating a soggy wrap in the dark while shivering is not my idea of "please return" moment. I hope this is not what the restaurant has morphed into.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    114
    44
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best place for Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Absolutely love this restaurant for their Sunday spread!
There is everything on the menu you could ever want for brunch including some extras!
However, I must say, you need to get a Mimosa!
They are served with a glass of ice, separate OJ, and a mini champagne bottle (so cute) for mixing the way you desire!
Perfection :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KashleeAndTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
“That's all?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Completely over rated. Service is excellent, but food could be better for the price we pay... The size of the plate are disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Why don't they remodel and/or CLEAN?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We go here fairly frequently. The food varies but the staff is fabulous (Tony and Kate we're looking at you!) The salmon baguette is good and the mussels are a go-to. The lava pot is excellent and brunch while pricey is really good. Some selections i.e. pizzas are too salty. We would love it if they would spend some of their earnings cleaning and remodeling. Both are long overdue...my ratings on atmosphere would be higher if not for the latter. The half price wine Wednesdays are a real positive - keep getting lured back with cheap wine and great servers...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroLaRocque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“consistently top notch!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Finding a restaurant for special occasion dining can be a bit of a crap shoot, so when in doubt go with what works. La Bodega has been our go-to dining spot for years. Consistently good atmosphere, service and menu. The fresh menu is excellent with something for everyone. MEAT EATERS will absolutely drool over the Saber which is 20 oz. of ultra tenderloin. The only iffy item was the apple strudel which was a disappointment (tough crust on a strudel is a no-no). Nothing puts a damper on an evening as much as over-rated, over-priced and under performing dining. Kudos again to the management and staff for continued great performance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc4623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega also viewed

 
Regina, Saskatchewan
Regina, Saskatchewan
 

Been to La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing