We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place of lovely food and welcoming people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afghan Restaurant

Afghan Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 564 Restaurants in Regina
Cuisines: Afghani, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Southey, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place of lovely food and welcoming people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My spouse and I go there regularily. We enjoy trying the various flavorful dishes and chatting with the owners.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    9
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Alwasy Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The lunch buffet is a wonderful array of ethnic food that is satisfying and delicious. The place is small so get there early so you don't miss out. Friendly, efficient staff and quaint furnishings that are comfortable. Definitely a return to place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food, too high of price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The food is great...the staff are wonderful, but the price is high for buffet...their decor is one to be desire and needs to updated. Definately would like a waitress to check on us every once in a while...water, drink, etc.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank reginawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Interesting place with nice owners and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went here not knowing what to expect, but never having eaten Afghan food I wanted to give it a try. I wish I would have made it for the lunch buffet (go between 11:30 and 2:00 if you want that--I forget how much it was, something like $12 for all you can eat) but I was too late and since it was a holiday weekend the restaurant was closed on Monday. It did give me a chance to try something from the menu, and I had Mento. They describe it as similar to won ton, to me it was like an Afghan version of meat ravioli. It was extremely tasty--I ordered a side of naan to go with it once I saw the plate because I didn't want any of the delicious sauce going to waste! They must have thought I was famished because I downed the entire plate within ten minutes or so but it was really good; I couldn't help myself.
I did find the decor a bit odd so perhaps they could work on that, but the food I had really hit the spot and was very good, and that was why I went.
If you want to try something different, you should give this place a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Canuckker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The food here is really good but they have to get rid of the odd decor and get some proper chairs and tables. Plus the service is really strange, maybe a cultural barrier.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank foodguru m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afghan Restaurant also viewed

Regina, Saskatchewan
Regina, Saskatchewan
 
Regina, Saskatchewan
Regina, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Afghan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing