We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average steak resturant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Diplomat Steakhouse

The Diplomat Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Diplomat Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 561 Restaurants in Regina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average steak resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

the atmosphere was back in time which was good but for the prices I would not return! - steak was cooked ok but not correct and for the price should have been much better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbeasley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    20
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were looking for a good dinner and tried the Diplomat based on Trip Advisor reviews. What a find. The Diplomat is an old fashioned, great service steak house. The decor reminded me of the opulent dining establishments of the past, with rich dark colors and velvet cushions. I started with the beef barley soup followed by a pepper sirloin. Both were wonderfully flavorful. My husband had the beef stroganoff prepared table side. He enjoyed it very much. Our waiter was wonderful. He explained items on the menu, was very attentive and gave us tips on things to see and do while in Canada. He was very intent on making our dining experience special. I'd like to have a similar restaurant in my hometown.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frequent63Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not thrilled...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Diplomat is a traditional old-school steakhouse... It has pictures of all the Canadian Prime Ministers... But I found the food really lacking this time. I asked for a prime rib and they gave me a rib steak. I asked for rare to medium and it came medium-well. For the value, I'll go somewhere else next time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place wirh good Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The rearaurant style is nice and the environment comfortable.
The food was well prepared and the menu offers good variety
Worthy to try

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogerio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband & I went to The Diplomat with his parents and everyone loved it. Very comfortable, good lighting & best of all- no dress code. Still has that old 70's style resturaunt look but at least it doesn't look warn out. Nice if you're going out with older family members who remember & like that sort of thing.
Our server was an older man, very friendly, knowledgeable & attentive but not in an awkward pretentious way like Golf's.
Prices are average & the quality of the food is high. Thier steak is amazing! Cooked the way you order it & served with garlic butter that just adds amazing flavour. I did wish they has baked or mashed potatoes, I had to get thier garlic fries but they were good.
Was also a little disapointed in the dessert menu too. The flambé is for a min 2 people. If one person wants a $13 dessert they should be allowed the option. So my husband missed out on dessert on his birthday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slaney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diplomat Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Diplomat Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing