We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Steakhouse”

Lakeshore Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 571 Restaurants in Regina
Price range: $11 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Hillsdale
Description: Regina Steakhouse Since 1974, Lakeshore Restaurant has been Regina's best steakhouse and cocktail lounge. Family owned and operated, we provide good food and find dining. Bring in your family for a fun night out or come to our fully licensed lounge with your friends on a night off. Our excellent customer service will bring you back over and over again. Located in the Lakeshore Mall, we take reservations and have gift cards available. Lakeshore Restaurant's distinct charm sets us apart from our competition. Paul and George Flengeris became partners and owners in the summer of 2013, keeping the family traditions alive while bringing their own ideas to the table. We're currently working on adding a patio and more windows to make your dining experience even more enjoyable. Try one of our cooked-to-perfection meals for lunch or dinner, such as our steak and lobster plate, Greek Chicken, Alaska King Crab, or Filet Mignon. Stop in after a busy day at work or refuel from a day on Wascana Lake. We look forward to serving you
Regina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old School Steakhouse”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of those restaurant institutions that every city has. It's been around since the 1970s and, to all appearances, has not updated it's decor since. But they likewise preserve an old-school approach to customer service that has been forgotten in many newer restaurants. From the moment you walk in, you will feel like you are in a scene from a Godfather movie. This is the sort of place your parents would have gone for a fancy meal and the sort of place you would still want to take your parents to treat them.

The menu is also full of old reliables: steak, seafood and a few chicken dishes. The difference is in the special attention their chefs invest in preparing the food. Their star dish is their Chateaubriand for two - absolute melt-in-your-mouth.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the new manager is snotty and leaves a bad first impression for the place. Fortunately, our server was very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable (we discussed wine with him at length) so he made up for this.

Other negatives: a bit pricey and, as mentioned, the faded decor could use a bit of a revamp.

The overarching positive: if you have a family gathering with a mixed crowd including older people with conservative tastes, you can't go too far wrong at this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrairieMentok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New. Manager Paul needs to go!!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have been going to this Restaurant for 25 years at least once a month. The other night we went with friends and the meal took over two hours to come. We were abit upset and asked the Manager Paul what was going on and very rudely said can't you see we're busy tonight and that this was totally acceptable that one can wait over two hours for their dinner! He didn't offer any compensation as far as would you like some more garlic bread or a drink or anything. Very unprofessional how he dealt with the situation. We will not return to this Restaurant until Paul the Manager has been removed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Javen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Less than average”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Food is adequate but service is below average, seemed liked we were inconveniencing the staff.
We made a reservation if they were too busy, should of turned down the reservation. I left a 15% tip because I was with clients it should have been zero.
Do not go here

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Reginafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Greeted and assigned table immediately. Courteous staff and quick food service for formal dining. Meats were excellent quality and done to perfection; vegetables and salads could use improvement and imagination; a bit pricey for the proportions.
Upgrading the decor, or even the lighting would also improve the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hard working manager? Not likely.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and I went to the Lakeshore Steak house for a nice meal on Feburary 15, the day after Valentines day, already prepared for the busy restaruant and long waits. When we got there at 630, our reservation time, we noticed a long line of people and only one hostess up at the front taking every ones payments, jackets, AND reservations. So it got us thinking, where is the manager or another hostess. Well, to our surprise, there wasn't anyone else up there. The poor girl was handling all these people by herself and had to deal with impatient customers demanding for their tables.
Sooner or later, a few servers came by and help the poor girl by taking some jackets an payment, but still no manager.
My family and I did not think it was fair to this girl that she had to handle this all by herself.

When we finished our meals, we asked the hostess how she handles it all by herself. And her answer was "honestly, I couldn't even tell you!" Even after that busy rush left, she still had a smile on her face. Only 2 members of our family check their coats, but we gave the young lady a $20 tip for her outstanding service.

Point of the matter, the manager desperately needs to step up, it hire a second hostess.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nevernevernever12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeshore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lakeshore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing