We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food”

Knotted Thistle Pub
Ranked #57 of 599 Restaurants in Regina
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Irish, Scottish, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Description: Not only does the Knotted Thistle offer a uniquely Celtic atmosphere, we also proudly serve a variety of local and imported beer, wine and scotch along with some traditional Celtic dishes.Whether it’s a Scotch egg, Irish Nachos, or our very own Thistlehead Ale -we have something to tempt every palette. So feast yer eyes upon one of our menus and see what mouth-watering surprises await you.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Located on Albert St. just outside of downtown Regina, is The Knotted Thistle, an Irish pub and restaurant. Mid afternoon, the restaurant was relatively empty, tables filled mostly with hotel occupants and retirees.

For lunch, we ordered the fish and chips and the Guinness Burger.

For the fish and chips, the fish was cooked well, however, the chips were a little tough for my taste. However, the fish was moist and flaky and the crust was crispy and didn't pull away from the fish.

The burger was all right; burgers are difficult and can be hit or miss at restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your lunch experience. We’re glad you were able to have a good meal and were pleased by the fish. We hope to see you back to enjoy the Celtic atmosphere and try out some of the other menu items!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Really nice Pub. Friendly atmosphere, Good ambience and attractive setting. Highly recommended for a pint. Bar staff was nice. However they don't know have a clue how to draw a proper pint of Guinness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeaLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks for the feedback! We’re glad you like the pub, and we’ll be sure to look into what happened with the Guinness. Our servers go through an extensive training process which includes pouring a proper pint of Guinness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a look at the menu and there was very little to do with Celtic food. Bangers and mash, fish and chips is not really Celtic food. Irish tacos? Guinness burger? The William Wallace burger? How absurd. Colossal Celtic salad is actually called Chef's salad at other restaurants. That's a joke! The one waitress at the Knotted Thistle Pub with her kilt? What's the point in calling it a kilt when it's more like a pair of tartan boxer shorts. The menu was all over priced it's proper value. It's doesn't even have the feel of a traditional pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Our Celtic pub has influences from each of the original 6 Celtic nations so while Scotland and Ireland are a major part of that, the pub is also influenced by Isle of Man, Wales, Brittany, and Cornwall which may be the reason it’s a little different than the traditional Irish pub.

In addition, the current menu in the Knotted Thistle is largely a spread of American versions of Celtic food. For example, the Guinness Burger – a juicy American beef burger whose flavor has been enhanced with Irish beer. We are, however, in the process of updating our pub menu and will definitely look into the option of adding more authentic, traditional menu items.

With that in mind, we appreciate your honest feedback and hope to see you back to check out the new menu upon its implementation. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have a love hate relationship with the Knotted Thistle Pub. On the one hand they have the best selection of Scotch in all of Regina, and their Yard of Beer is something to try when your out for a party. The best thing on the menu is their Bacon Jam. The perfect appetizer to go with a night of drinking, but the rest of the food is average. As a Celtic Pub I was expecting more Scottish, Irish, and Welsh dishes like Haggis, Cranachan, Bubble and Squeak, and Irish Stew in a Bread bowl, but the only British fair you will find is Bangers and Mash.
On a side note, while the outfits on the servers does add a certain Celtic atmosphere that is appreciated, I think the skimpiness of the outfits tends to draw a more undesirable element into the Pub. It doesn't ruin the feeling of the bar, but it does diminish it some what.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThomasBoxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. Since the pub opened last February we’ve experimented with a few different food items – some more Celtic than others. Our current menu reflects different Celtic influences with American twists to give people familiarity while allowing them to try something a little out of the ordinary. We are also in the process of updating our menu so we will take your comments into consideration when planning. As far as drinks are concerned, it looks like you’ve had a little taste of what’s offered and it’s great that you enjoy the variety!

Thanks again for the feedback and we’ll see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love the location of the pub in the hotel. Its nicely decorated and has a great feel. The food is average. The selection I found to be limited and quality so so. The beer selection is also limited and Guinness is almost $9 a pint!!! Thats too much!
Other than that, you don't have to walk far and you can leave your car keys in your room.

Thank HamRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We’re glad you had a chance to join us in our friendly Celtic pub! Our menu has been designed to showcase a selection of the most popular dishes that delight the taste buds. Each item has a unique take on flavor, so maybe on your next visit you’ll have a chance to try something new on the menu that really “hits the spot”. Thanks for the review; see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knotted Thistle Pub also viewed

Regina, Saskatchewan
 
Regina, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Knotted Thistle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing