We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the Celtic menu?”

Knotted Thistle Pub
Ranked #57 of 599 Restaurants in Regina
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Irish, Scottish, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Description: Not only does the Knotted Thistle offer a uniquely Celtic atmosphere, we also proudly serve a variety of local and imported beer, wine and scotch along with some traditional Celtic dishes.Whether it’s a Scotch egg, Irish Nachos, or our very own Thistlehead Ale -we have something to tempt every palette. So feast yer eyes upon one of our menus and see what mouth-watering surprises await you.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a look at the menu and there was very little to do with Celtic food. Bangers and mash, fish and chips is not really Celtic food. Irish tacos? Guinness burger? The William Wallace burger? How absurd. Colossal Celtic salad is actually called Chef's salad at other restaurants. That's a joke! The one waitress at the Knotted Thistle Pub with her kilt? What's the point in calling it a kilt when it's more like a pair of tartan boxer shorts. The menu was all over priced it's proper value. It's doesn't even have the feel of a traditional pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Our Celtic pub has influences from each of the original 6 Celtic nations so while Scotland and Ireland are a major part of that, the pub is also influenced by Isle of Man, Wales, Brittany, and Cornwall which may be the reason it’s a little different than the traditional Irish pub.

In addition, the current menu in the Knotted Thistle is largely a spread of American versions of Celtic food. For example, the Guinness Burger – a juicy American beef burger whose flavor has been enhanced with Irish beer. We are, however, in the process of updating our pub menu and will definitely look into the option of adding more authentic, traditional menu items.

With that in mind, we appreciate your honest feedback and hope to see you back to check out the new menu upon its implementation. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have a love hate relationship with the Knotted Thistle Pub. On the one hand they have the best selection of Scotch in all of Regina, and their Yard of Beer is something to try when your out for a party. The best thing on the menu is their Bacon Jam. The perfect appetizer to go with a night of drinking, but the rest of the food is average. As a Celtic Pub I was expecting more Scottish, Irish, and Welsh dishes like Haggis, Cranachan, Bubble and Squeak, and Irish Stew in a Bread bowl, but the only British fair you will find is Bangers and Mash.
On a side note, while the outfits on the servers does add a certain Celtic atmosphere that is appreciated, I think the skimpiness of the outfits tends to draw a more undesirable element into the Pub. It doesn't ruin the feeling of the bar, but it does diminish it some what.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThomasBoxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. Since the pub opened last February we’ve experimented with a few different food items – some more Celtic than others. Our current menu reflects different Celtic influences with American twists to give people familiarity while allowing them to try something a little out of the ordinary. We are also in the process of updating our menu so we will take your comments into consideration when planning. As far as drinks are concerned, it looks like you’ve had a little taste of what’s offered and it’s great that you enjoy the variety!

Thanks again for the feedback and we’ll see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love the location of the pub in the hotel. Its nicely decorated and has a great feel. The food is average. The selection I found to be limited and quality so so. The beer selection is also limited and Guinness is almost $9 a pint!!! Thats too much!
Other than that, you don't have to walk far and you can leave your car keys in your room.

Thank HamRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We’re glad you had a chance to join us in our friendly Celtic pub! Our menu has been designed to showcase a selection of the most popular dishes that delight the taste buds. Each item has a unique take on flavor, so maybe on your next visit you’ll have a chance to try something new on the menu that really “hits the spot”. Thanks for the review; see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My companions and I were taking a trip across Canada and found this restaurant using Trip Advisor. We saw the ratings and thought we would give this restaurant a try. Unfortunately, the restaurant disappointed us in many ways. When we first arrived, we had to seat ourselves. No one greeted us or showed us to a table. After inquiring whether we should wait, we asked one of the waitresses and was told to have a seat anywhere. Ten minutes went by and no acknowledgement from any of the staff. Eventually, another waitress came by to ask us if we'd like water and told us that she is not our waitress, but that our real waitress (Rachel) would come by shortly. Another fifteen minutes went by and our waitress came to the table next to us, but did not even bother to say hello to us or let us know that she'll be back to take our orders once she wrapped up with the folks at the next table. As we sat waiting, we watched her chit chat with the customers at the next table for another 15 minutes. After waiting for a total of 40 minutes, we decided that this was not the place we thought it would be. Furthermore, the food appears to be overpriced.

We decided to go next door to Earl's and was more than pleased with our experience. The staff was courteous and seated us immediately. Our waitress was attentive. Although the price was similar to Knotted Thistle, the food at Earls was excellent and the service was great. We had a burger and chicken tacos. Earls chicken tacos were the best tacos north of the Mexican border and the burger was quite good as well!

So, if you are considering Knotted Thistle, you should go to Earls across the street because Knotted Thistle is not worth your time or your money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank GingerCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to our pub. You’re right, it seems we really let you and your companions down. I assure you, this is not normally like us and we hope you will accept our apologies for the experience you had while here.

Celtic pubs are known for being welcoming and friendly and a great place to stop for food and drinks. We strive to provide this to our patron’s everyday and regretfully it looks like we dropped the ball with your table.

Please be assured that we do value your feedback and that we are sincere in our efforts to listen and act on what our customers are saying with the goal of always improving our pub and the service we provide.

If you’re in the area again, we do hope that you will give us another try. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope you enjoy your trek across the country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My partner and I went this evening around 6:30PM to the Knotted Thistle as she was craving a big juicy burger and reviews seemed to indicate that this was a decent spot to go. It was pretty quiet as we suspect a lot of the "usual crowd" was partying it up at Craven Jamboree. Service was quick and prompt and friendly. As others have commented, the menu was pretty limited and there wasn't anything that really excited me in terms of options. My partner chose the William Wallace burger, which was priced at $19. I had the special of the day, which was a half rack of barbeque ribs with slaw and a couple of small pieces of fried chicken, accompanied by a small dish of mac n' cheese. The food was good, but not exceptional. The burger wasn't any different than any of the other overcooked burgers we've had here in Regina, and we thought that it was overpriced at $19. My special was pretty decent value at only $12.

I think that this place stands out because of the tap selection, not something that my partner and I were interested in. Atmosphere was decent, but food was only average at best and if this is the best burger in Regina, I guess we'll have to save our cravings for somewhere else. Still, not a bad place, just not near the top of the city in our books.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SmartyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeRegina, Manager at Knotted Thistle Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. As you said, the William Wallace is a big seller of ours that people are typically quite enthusiastic about, so we’re sorry to hear your partner was disappointed by it. On the other hand, it’s great to hear that you were pleased by the service and that your meal was enjoyable. Maybe we’ll see you again sometime to try something a little different. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knotted Thistle Pub also viewed

Regina, Saskatchewan
 
Regina, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Knotted Thistle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing