We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Unimpressive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Unimpressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had high hopes staying at this hotel because I like the Ramada chain. I was surprised that there were as many things that were impressive as disappointing. The main highlights were everything besides the room; the pool, the friendly staff, the WiFi, and the restaurant were great. The room itself was really small and outdated. Even the wallpaper was peeling. I was also disappointed by the added expenses of paid parking and no continental breakfast.

Room Tip: The elevator is very fast, don't hesitate to stay high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina_Ramada_GM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear MarcG,

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your last trip to the Ramada Plaza Regina. We have done extensive renovations as you have noticed and we have even more planned for this summer to address many of your kind comments. One thing we will not change is our amazing staff and our industry leading Wi-Fi which we are very proud of as well. Plus you are a very insightful individual may I say, you did notice we have the quickest most efficient elevators in the city after we completed a substantial upgrade to this great feature.


My sincere apologies and all our best as well


Terry Groff
General Manager
Ramada Plaza Regina
terry.groff@saskramada.com
306-569-7476
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    113
    110
    58
    32
See reviews for
64
64
41
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Recently stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. The old charm is a great feature, I'm a little dissapointed that I didn't need a haircut as the barber shop looks awesome.

The front desk staff was very friendly on our arrival and the check in was quick and efficient. We had a couple of cocktails and appetizers in the lounge, the staff were super helpful with menu reccomendations, and the bartender obviously knows his drinks. The Old Fashioned was excellent. The decor of the lounge is really classy and looks like something out of a 50s movie, fun atmosphere and a cool spot to relax.

We also spent some time in the hot tub, steam room and exercise room. The attendant was great and the facilities really well looked after.

Our room was quite nice, a really comfortable bed and a decent size for tha age of the hotel. Some things are looking a little dated and worn, but that is to be expected with an older hotel. They seem to be doing a great job of keeping things maintained and still keeping the old charm.

I would definitely stay here again. I also think it speaks volumes that management takes the time to respond to every review on this site. They obviously care a lot about the guest experience and seem genuinley concerned about quality of the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puck34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina_Ramada_GM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear puck34,

Nothing pleases us more than when a seasoned Trip Advisor contributor comments on our Ramada Plaza Regina. You are the main reason we love this program so much. It allows us to interact with our current and potential future guest’s in a very positive direct fashion. I find it so kind of you to express your positive comments regarding our amazing group of staff at the Ramada Plaza Regina. Many hotels may say they have great staff but we let you the valued guest state this, which I feel is the most honest opinion of our hotel, which we thank you.

Thank-you once again for your kind words and please stop by and say hello the next time you are back in our beautiful Queen City.


Thank-you once again and all my best


Terry Groff
General Manager
Ramada Plaza Regina
terry.groff@saskramada.com
306-569-7476
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
335 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My recollection of Ramada hotels was of so-so quality, so I was very pleasantly surprised by our stay here. Has Ramada as a chain upgraded? Is my memory incorrect? Is it just this particular Ramada? I don't know.

This hotel is centrally located, and looks perhaps as though it has been recently renovated. Reception area is spacious and kind of funky. Rooms were also spacious, clean and beds were very comfortable.

Staff is friendly, price was reasonable. We were happy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina_Ramada_GM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear readytoretirecalgary,

It was our genuine honor to have you stay with us at the Ramada Plaza Regina. We always enjoy seeing your smile when you walk in the door and brighten all our day. You truly are a great person who is always willing to make us happy too. We are glad you call our hotel your only destination when travelling to Regina.

All my best and please stay in touch as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here two nights with my dog. Really appreciate the fact that a nice hotel downtown is pet friendly and has pet friendly rooms. It was really surprising to get a nice gift basket for my dog upon check-in, that was really impressive. The front lobby was really nice. My room was pretty decent, although the carpet was stained in several areas, I am assuming from previous pet owners pets. The 12th floor was very quiet and there was no noise to bother me at night. It would be nice if they included parking in the hotel fee, rather than charge extra for it. Location is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina_Ramada_GM, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Salsajo,

Nothing pleases us more than when a seasoned Trip Advisor contributor comments on our Ramada Plaza Regina. You are the main reason we love this program so much. It allows us to interact with our current and potential future guest’s in a very positive direct fashion. I love the fact you were able to bring your pet to our Pet Friendly Ramada Plaza Regina. I too am a pet owner and I know how much my little Koko means to our family and she is always the first in the car when we travel, so I love being a Pet Friendly hotel. I also feel that allowing the small pet a little treat basket when they check-in is the perfect compliment as they feel part of our hotel as the owners of the pet see we go the extra mile to make them feel welcome as well. We have made a note about the carpets and we are assessing them daily as we do have a strong carpet cleaning program we follow.

Thank-you once again for your kind words and please stop by and say hello the next time you are back in our beautiful Queen City.


Thank-you once again and all my best


Terry Groff
General Manager
Ramada Plaza Regina
terry.groff@saskramada.com
306-569-7476
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotels Regina
#15 of 33 in Regina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Days Inn - Regina
#8 of 33 in Regina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown

Property: Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown
Address: 1818 Victoria Avenue, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P OR1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Convention Centre
Ramada Convention Centre
Ramada Regina
Ramada Hotel Regina
Regina Ramada
Ramada Plaza Regina Downtown Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing