We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Clean, Questionable Value, and Charged For Parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Questionable Value, and Charged For Parking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel I usually stay in for pleasure in Regina was fully booked and the only rooms available were much too expensive.
So I decided to book the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Regina.
Having not stayed in Holiday Inns for a number of reasons in the past, I thought this Holiday Inn Express hotel, located in the heart of Regina, Saskatchewan, had a good potential when I found it on Expedia.
What looks like a renovated property in an old building, it is typical of Holiday Inns, compact lobby, small rooms, and pretty much all self service. The room was clean and comfy, (however dark), and the hotel was very quiet. A free breakfast in the morning had a variety of food, including bacon, eggs, pancakes, cereals and fruits. Unfortunately, no one seemed to be working in the restaurant to insure that pancake batter was full, or the coffee replenished. A small issue I had with the hotel was the $10.50 they charged for parking. I don't mind the self service one has to deal with at Holiday Inns, but with no parking service at the front door and then having to park your car around the corner in the lot and lug your baggage into the hotel, then having to pay for it, is annoying. Its located right downtown in Regina, and at night there is not a lot going on around there in the evenings. (A symptom of the city itself) The only bright spot about the location was the proximity to the Cornwall Centre mall and the city's casino. I would only stay here again, but only if the cost was below $100 per night. Its not worth anything over that, based on extensive hotel stays.
Oddly, I was told however that if I had called the hotel directly, I would have had a better rate than the $140 per night Expedia was selling it for, so my lack of research resulting in me paying about $40 more than they would have charged me. 100$/night or lower would have been more palatable for what we were getting at this hotel. Not sure if there is a pool or exercise room, as we did not seek these out.
Pros : Beds seemed to be comfortable and clean, free wireless, central location, free breakfast with lots of choice.
Cons: Overpriced (on Expedia), small rooms, carpet in room needs cleaning, lack of service and personell who have absolutely no enthusiasm (front desk), difficult to get to hotel, as there is construction and many one way streets in downtown Regina.

Room Tip: Stay on higher levels to avoid street noise. There really isnt any scenic views however, if you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotex29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
26
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
jillsicle05
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have stayed in several Holiday Inn Express hotel & suites in the past few years and have never been disappointed... until now. For the record, this appears to be a renovated older hotel so this is likely why it falls short - many of the other H.I.E.'s are brand new. We found the room to be small and dark. The bed looked reminiscent of a Holiday Inn, but the rest of the room looked like any older Super 8 or non-name hotel. The bathroom was cramped and if I have to be picky, there was a visible hair in the tub. I want to be clear that we are not super fancy people and we have stayed in our fair share of dives... this is not a dive, by any means. However, I was disappointed perhaps because my standards were higher, given the hotel chain. The perks are the nice lobby and the downtown location (you can order from Copper Kettle nearby - great pizza). The downside is $10 parking (unless you park on the street until 8am - then you have to plug the meter) and the cheaper hotel atmosphere. We would stay here again if the price was right and there weren't a lot of options. Otherwise... meh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillsicle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear jillsicle05,

Thank you for your review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and regrettable our hotel did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

On a recent business trip in Saskatchewan, we stayed at several Holiday Inn Express. Most were new and if not they were very clean/friendly. This one was old and in poor/dirty condition. To be kind, the front desk clerk was not well trained or helpful.... acted like he didn't want to be there.
It didn't help that our room was at the end of a long hallway overlooking the roof/ventilation equipment.
Lucky for us we arrived at 19:30 and left the next morning at 05:00.... short stay!

Room Tip: Avoid staying here if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear 007Advisor,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear the experience you had with the condition of the hotel property and level of staff service was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went to visit a friend for a long weekend. My room wasn't ready when I arrived so the nice girl at the counter apologized and told it would be 30 minutes. When it wasn't she upgraded me to a very quiet suite. The room was spotless, had a desk and living area and a separate bedroom. It was quiet. There is parking at the side and the hotel is convenient not only to the airport but lots of downtown eateries and shops.

Room Tip: Ask them for an upgrade and for one of the corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshWinnipegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had a late flight into Regina and checked in to the hotel around 1 am and was checking out the following morning, so my stay was very brief. However, it didn't take long to come to the conclusion that I would try my best to avoid staying there again. The hallways were cramped and there were very noticeable security cameras everywhere (a little big brother-esque). The rooms were big and relatively clean, however, the T.V was about as big as the screen on my cell-phone. Location doesn't really matter when one stays in Regina so perhaps I will look outside of the "downtown core" next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lxgldsmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear xgldsmth,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel probably 30 times over the past few years. One thing I have noticed is a deterioration of what I have come to expect w this hotel.
The rooms are overall large but very average regarding amenities. Case in point the flat screen tv was slightly larger than my computer monitor in a huge room. Why ? Last time I checked flat screen TV's were very very affordable.
The pillows on my bed have become those you would find in a discount motel.
The breakfast was as basic as I have ever seen at a hie!
Lastly, this hotel now charges $10 per night for parking! I guess u have to save up some money to replace those 28 inch flat screens !!
Anyway this hotel is falling from what i have come to expect. Like they say in the business you either lead or you follow. If you do neither , you fall out of the game

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJRCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear DJRCanada,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. It is unfortunate that you were disappointed with the condition of parking and TV in your room. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The suite we were in was dated but functional. It was also clean and large. Breakfast was enough to get you going. The hotel is close to Casino Regina (a block south). Overall the place was just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravlr_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear frequenttravlr_101,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our suites. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotels Regina
#15 of 33 in Regina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
Address: 1907 11th Avenue, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 0J2, Canada (Formerly Chelton Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Regina Hotel Guests Love Staying at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Regina puts you in the heart of downtown Regina. Our hotel's location is ideal for both business and leisure guests who want to be close to everything Regina has to offer.When you choose our hotel in Regina, Canada you'll be close to the action. You can raise the stakes at Casino Regina, catch an IMAX film at the Saskatchewan Science Centre or explore the scenic beauty of the Wascana Centre. Are you a prospective student? We're just a short drive from the University of Regina, making us a favorite among Regina hotels for parents and families.When you're looking for hotels, our downtown Regina hotel is the smart choice for business travelers. You'll be in close proximity to Federated Co-operatives Ltd. and Innovation Place Research Park as well as many other companies. Besides the convenient, downtown location, you can take advantage of our meeting room that can accommodate 5 to 50 guests and a Business Centre with copy and print service. A shuttle to the airport can be arranged with advance notice.Our guests think we're the best among Regina hotels. There's free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a free Express Start breakfast, a terrific Fitness Centre, rooms with a microwave, fridge and a staff that knows what's important to you. Book your stay today and discover why we're the great hotel in Regina, Saskatchewan that guests love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina Hotel Regina
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Regina
Holiday Inn Regina
Holiday Inn Express Regina
Regina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing