We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient if Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Convenient if Downtown”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This HIE is very convenient if working downtown. The room was very large - kitchen area, living area, and large separte bedroom. It is an updated hotel in a very old building. Staff were reasonably friendly and helpful. Location is a little rough in the evening. Very short walk to the casino.Typical breakfast included. Overall value was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    69
    40
    11
    4
See reviews for
21
27
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I just spent 3 nights in room 204. I wish Tripadvisor ranked out of 10 or had half-star rankings. This hotel is above average but not quite 4 stars in my opinion.

Regina is not a large city so getting to the hotel from the airport is quite easy. The location is within easy walking distance of anything in the downtown core. My room was quite spacious and easy to get to from the lobby. The service is very friendly. Although, this is Regina, everyone is friendly. cornwall Centre Mall is just a couple of blocks away and the very large Casino Regina is less than 3 minutes by foot. Despite what some people say in their reviews this isn't really a shady area of town. There are a couple of people hanging around and it isn't super pretty but I felt completely safe and comfortable. Those who call this shady should walk around the downtown east side of Vancouver.

Everything worked and was reasonably clean. The beds are serviceable. Keep in mind that the original building is quite old so you get all of the associated character and nuisances. The decor is okay but oddly the desk chair is fantastic. It looks very out of place in the room but it was extremely comfortable. Although the room overlooks an intersection and is only the second floor you couldn't hear a lot of road noise with the ventilation system running.

On the down side, as many reviewers have said, the parking is minimal. I lucked out but found myself hesitant to go anywhere in the evenings for fear I would lose my convenient space. The amount of seating in the breakfast bar is smaller than average but the selection is very small compared to other HIE properties. Although the room is large the bathroom by comparison wasn't big enough to swing a cat in. When "seated" on the loo I could rest one hand on the tub and the other on the tissue dispenser without stretching. I know the hotel is constrained by the era of the building but it seems odd that you can ballroom dance in the main room but can hardly hold your arms out in the bathroom. The desk is adequate but they should provide more outlets via a power bar.

This is a "standard room" so very few amenities. There is no real closet but the hutch is big enough to store a lot of clothes. The TV does not have pay movies or games if you're into that.

Overall it's a good option but not quite up to the standard of some other hotels. Great people, great location, irritating building and parking. If you want to get Priority Points there are 2 other IHG properties relatively close by. They are newer but do not offer the same level of downtown convenience.

Enjoy Regina!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our room was spacious and clean. Both beds were actually pretty comfortable (even the sofa bed!). Our room had a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge, and coffee machine. The room also had a dining table and a living room area. The bathroom was a reasonable size and nice enough, though the shower enclosure was very odd looking. The view of a parking lot did leave something to be desired, though.

Free wifi, parking, and breakfast were a definite plus. The price overall was a good value for the size of the room and being in Regina.

Hotel parking is fairly limited. I'm not sure if they even have enough parking spots for half of the rooms. When we got there at 3:30 there was only one parking space available. There does appear to be a decent amount of street parking and lots nearby, but I'm not sure what the cost would be or how secure it would be overnight.

The breakfast was acceptable, but a but sparse (the only fruit available was bananas). The drink dispenser had also been incorrectly refilled so that water came out of the orange juice spout and vice versa. There is also an interesting fresh pancake machine.

Check in and check out were quick and problem free.

When we came into our room we were immediately greeted by a list of somewhat worrying safety tips including "Don't answer the door without verifying who it is" and "Close the door securely... and use all locking devices". This made made down-town Regina seem scarier than it actually is.

Unfortunately on the Sunday morning of our stay we were awoken at 8:30 am by someone trying to force our door open. For some reason the maid thought we had checked out and was trying to clean our room - she even took the "Do not disturb" hanger off of our door! Hotel management did apologize and offer me a free night in the future as compensation.

Overall I'm not quite sure how to rate this hotel, since it was great aside from the issue of parking, breakfast, and our unusual incident. I would tentatively recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomanynouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear toomanynouns,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Regina and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad our staff and management was able to resolve the issues you experienced during your stay. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were a bit nervous about this hotel as we drove up to it through a fairly rough-looking neighbourhood. The one-way streets around it were a bit confusing to navigate and the parking area for the hotel is a sketchy-looking alley. We were travelling across the country with a good portion of our belongings as we were moving from NS to Alberta. I was very anxious about leaving our car full of stuff out there for the night. The next morning, however, everything was fine and accounted for.

The rooms were pretty basic. Spacious and clean, but basic. Nothing more than a place to rest your head (not that we were looking for anything more). Bed was comfortable and they deliver a newspaper to your door every morning. Breakfast was ok. Mostly cereals and fruit. Typical continental breakfast. They do have hard-boiled eggs in the milk/yogurt fridge and greasy sausages, and one of those nifty machines that makes a fresh pancake in 30 seconds or something.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrowrootcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express was a pleasant surprise. The staff was first rate and friendly, especially Steven, the afternoon shift Front Desk Manager. The hotel serves a free breakfast which has healthy choices -- whole wheat bagels, cereal with fat-free milk, bananas, etc. And the rooms are quiet despite this being a downtown location. The fan adjustment on the room air conditioning allowed me to provide enough white noise to mask any street traffic, which in downtown Regina tends to end at 7PM anyway. My only recommendation would be to get rid of the canned Muzak at the entrance. It's a rather off-putting entry to what is otherwise a fine property.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side of the hotel facing Rose Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbTreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Housekeepers chit chatting and talking down the hall to each other roused us before 8:30am. There is no point in a 12pm check-out time if there is ruckass before 9am.
What dissapointed me was the response from the fron desk staff - she said she is going to speak to the "head housekeeper." Is this not something that is a basic expectation of their employees?
Next time I need sleep after driving across the prairies I won't be visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRVLNCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear TRVLNCDN,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed there a couple days when I came to SK. I travel all of Canada for business. This hotel isn't the greatest aesthetically, very 80's decor LOL but the staff is extremely kind, the room was quiet, I slept really great, wifi works GREAT without any problems (this is key for business travelers!!!)

Overall, great hotel, could use some updated styling but I'd definitely stay there again. It's great for business traveling.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brycek17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Delta Hotels Regina
#14 of 33 in Regina
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
Address: 1907 11th Avenue, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 0J2, Canada (Formerly Chelton Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Regina Hotel Guests Love Staying at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Regina puts you in the heart of downtown Regina. Our hotel's location is ideal for both business and leisure guests who want to be close to everything Regina has to offer.When you choose our hotel in Regina, Canada you'll be close to the action. You can raise the stakes at Casino Regina, catch an IMAX film at the Saskatchewan Science Centre or explore the scenic beauty of the Wascana Centre. Are you a prospective student? We're just a short drive from the University of Regina, making us a favorite among Regina hotels for parents and families.When you're looking for hotels, our downtown Regina hotel is the smart choice for business travelers. You'll be in close proximity to Federated Co-operatives Ltd. and Innovation Place Research Park as well as many other companies. Besides the convenient, downtown location, you can take advantage of our meeting room that can accommodate 5 to 50 guests and a Business Centre with copy and print service. A shuttle to the airport can be arranged with advance notice.Our guests think we're the best among Regina hotels. There's free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a free Express Start breakfast, a terrific Fitness Centre, rooms with a microwave, fridge and a staff that knows what's important to you. Book your stay today and discover why we're the great hotel in Regina, Saskatchewan that guests love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Regina
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina Hotel Regina
Holiday Inn Regina
Holiday Inn Express Regina
Regina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing