We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

I booked a room in advance two weeks before my arrive, at 99 dollars per night, but they charged my credit card at 120 dollars per night for the same room because, they said, a rock band had a concert in Regina so they decided to increase the rate of the rooms. But they did not tell me that when I arrived. They offered wireless internet, but it did not work. The room and bathroom were clean, although I had to wait around 15 minutes to have hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyaguer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    52
    55
    35
    56
See reviews for
67
59
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

One of the beds was completely lopsided, paint falling off of walls, hard crust on rug, not a clean smell at all. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjctv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

My friend and I planned a weekend get-away and booked a room here for the weekend. Our experience (even for two people looking to get away and have some fun) was horrible. The staff was incredibly unprofessional. The woman at the front desk was in normal every clothes instead of wearing a uniform or even a nametag. They were in the process of renovating so the floors and most of the walls in the lobby and hallways were ripped up. Which was the least of our problems, when we went in our room we found a pair of used black socks on the floor hidden underneath the comforter by one of the beds, we managed to get them out of our way without actually touching them and when we informed the housekeeper the next morning she said for us to "just throw them out". HELLO, we did good enough to at least get them out of our way; we didn’t want it to spoil our trip so we didn’t make near of a fuss, as we should have.
The hallways smelled like food and the whole place was just old and unpleasant.
We didn’t let it ruin our trip and tried to laugh it off, but never have I stayed in a chain hotel such as this one, that was really this horrible. It certainly doesn’t give Howard Johnson’s a good name.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationer081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

I've had some bad hotel rooms in my day and staff with attitude but this hotel takes first prize. Outrageously overpriced $106 P/N - a staff that are not helpful and a room that came over with Noah and should go back with the ark. Pass on this one.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Kapulanikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

We made a pre-paid reservation through [--]. Check-in was smooth. The common areas were not well lighted and appeared worn and a bit dingy. The room (234) was on the small side and had one queen sized bed. The room had a TV and a coffee maker but no refrigerator or microwave. The bathroom was neat and clean. However, while in the lobby there were several other guests at the desk complaining that their bathrooms had not been cleaned properly. In the morning when I asked at the desk about the hot beakfast that was supposed to come with the room, I was informed that the room I had didn't come with breakfast. When I showed him the printed reservation that indicated that a hot breakfast was included, he reluctantly gave me two chits for pancake breafasts at Smitty's Restaurant next door.

  • Liked — Relatively inexpensive. Convenient location.
  • Disliked — Dreary look, lots of kids and pets wandering around.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

The main reason that we booked this hotel was because of the pool
We left our daughters place in Edmonton on our way to Winnipeg early in the morning so that we could relax from the trip and enjoy the pool. When we arrived and asked where the pool area was we were told that it is closed for renovations. We were so disappointed since the main reason for booking this hotel was the pool. The front desk told us thats ok because the pool will be better for us the next time we come to Regina. I think that was a smart [-] answer when in fact he should have apologized for not telling us about the pool being closed when we did the booking. I feel that this information was intentionally not provided so that the room could be booked.
It is really too bad about the employee not being totally honest with us because otherwise the room was great. If you plan on staying at this place ask a lot of questions because they do not offer information willingly

  • Liked — The room was clean and tidy
  • Disliked — Not being forth coming with information that the pool was closed for renovations
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuckie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

This hotel is not worth the $100(with taxes) per night. The entire stay (five nights) was noisy with intoxicated people all hours of the day. It was not a place for young people to be. The halls smelled of cigarette smoke. The rooms are in dire need of repairs and updates (there was mold coming through the drywall around the shower walls).Although the staff tried hard to be accommodating it just is not possible to make a five and dime motel into a nine! Don't stay there unless you are there to party.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The smoke and noise
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JRBAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Regina
#8 of 33 in Regina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Motel 6 Regina
#26 of 33 in Regina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites

Property: Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites
Address: 1110 E Victoria Ave, Regina, Saskatchewan S4N 7A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites has a new hotel experience ready for you. For the business traveler, it's a place to rest your head after a long day in one of our Executive Suites. For a romantic retreat, our jetted tub suites offer king-size comfort and relaxation in a two room suite. We also welcome long term stays in our Efficiency units, which are fully equipped with a microwave, fridge, cook top and all necessary cooking utensils. "At Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites, we promise to deliver unparalleled excellence in hospitality at an affordable rate." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Regina Hotel And Suites
Chateau Regina Hotel Regina
Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing