We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Magic Marker Elevator Numbers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Reviewed July 7, 2011

To begin, when I write a review I always consider the Hotel's star rating and price. For example, I know not to expect the same service and quality at a motel versus a hotel or versus a resort. So I would rate it accordingly.

Be Prepared to stay in a motel for hotel prices at Chateau Regina.

I could complain about the chipped and bubbling paint everywhere, the dirty floors, the run down furnishings and decor. Or perhaps I could complain about the musty smell and sketchy elevator. I could also say how weary I was seeing the bars on the ground floor windows, boarded up windows on side of building and an strange communal BBQ placed on side entrance and the unlocked hotel doors without card entry or even the shifty people outside. (Tip: you don't need bars on the window if you had the doors locked...)

But I won't. All I want to say, if you take over a hotel and don't have the cash to fix the worn out elevator buttons, an office supply store can provide sticker numbers... maybe that is not the best solution but anything.... please.... anything.... but a black magic marker number written on the button with the penmanship of a five year old. When I saw that, there was no question that within half an hour we would be at Holiday Inn.

Do go here. Do not waste your time.

PS I must add, I have know idea what hotel is depicted on the pictures on thier website.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank authentics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev1110, General Manager at Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

I read your review and am still trying to figure out how one number in an elevator can affect your stay at a hotel.
I am really going to jump to defend our hotel here. The pictures on our website are most definitely the rooms in our hotel. We pride ourselves on the number of compliments we get on the cleanliness of our rooms and the exceptional customer service offered by the staff.

To address some of your other concerns: No, all of our furniture may not be brand new, but our mattresses and linens sure are! The BBQ at the side of the hotel is for use of our guests, who really appreciate it. We have several guests who call our hotel home and enjoy a BBQ with their friends or co-workers after work. As you would have noticed, our windows open ~ the bars on the first floor are strictly for the safety of guests.
We have made massive improvement to this hotel and our next project is to replace the carpets in the hallways.
My staff and I are all very proud of the great changes that have been made to this hotel in the last couple of years and we will strive to be better and better each year!
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Give us another chance in about 3 -4 months when our carpets are installed and be sure to ask for an Executive Suite. You will not be disappointed. It is a five star room for a three star price!!
Sincerely,
Bev Herperger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

My spouse and i travelled to Regina for a funeral. We had nights booked at this hotel. On checkin there was a bit of a mixup as it was under my spouses name - but that was caused by expedia. Lobby was basic but nice. The hall to our room was clean but had a musky smell. Not in the rest of the hotel. The room was small but clearly remodelled - and since it was on the end, the view was blocked by a wall. Not a big deal as we were with family all day. Nice flat screen tv - channels clear. Beds firm but fine. We left to meet the family -they insisted we stay with them. When I tried to cancel this created a problem as expedia is who you deal with not the hotel so I was handcuffed. The hotel mgr stepped in and handled it for us - this could have been very stressful under the circumstances. Our only issue with the hotel was the hot water appeared to be only turned on during morning shower hours. If you tried to wash your hands or have a late shower, all cold. Pool was out of order for the first day, but we were not using it.

Room Tip: Avoid left wing, and end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_D_Nanaimo_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev1110, General Manager at Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. I realize you were travelling under an unfortunate situation. Please accept my condolences to you and your family. It was my pleasure to have been able to assist you with your Expedia booking.
I apologize for the hot water issue during your stay. Our hot water supply was low for a short period of time due to a malfunction of the water heater. This problem was very quickly remedied, but it did inconvenience some of our guests.
We hope that you will someday return to Regina and stay at our hotel under more favourable circumstances. Thank you once again for your review.
Sincerely
Bev Herperger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were on family business in Regina and so we really didn't need much more than a place to sleep while we were doing all our visiting. The Chateau Victoria fit the bill nicely. As a destination hotel it is rather dreary and dismal. Decorated in drab browns and dark lighting it is a mouse maze of undecorated narrow hallways. The hotel does not live up to its fancier name. There is nothing that is chateau about the place.

We did not have reservations when when checked in at two pm but the front desk staff was very pleasant and efficient. They offered us one rate but when I commented that I found a price cheaper than that and she was okay at cutting the price down significantly. Our room was located in a very quiet area at the back of the hotel. This was both good and bad. It was good because it was quiet; it was bad because it was far away from anywhere. The hot tub wasn't working when we were there and the pool was just too far away from our room to use it.

The room itself had a warren or cell feeling to it. Thick drapes blocked the light which in its own was as a good thing because there is absolutely no view. Everything in the room was clean but very well used. There was a large screen tv monitor which was very nice and the beds were very comfortable. We stayed a couple nights which was good to notice the admirable job done by the cleaning staff.

The plusses are clean, economical and efficient. The minuses are dreary, non pleasant, and remote. On e other element to speak favourably of the hotel is that it is located beside a Smitty's Restaurant which was a very good place to have breakfast and apparently it is a favourite coffee place.

Room Tip: Check the internet prices before booking this roo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My friends and I stayed in this hotel. We took advantage of a special they were having to upgrade to a suite for an extra $40. Definitely worth the money. They put us into a suite that was pretty much two bedrooms. It was two rooms with doors in between. The bathroom was huge which was so nice because we are girls. Everyone is right when they say the beds are awesome.
We hung out in the lounge downstairs which was a lot of fun. Overall this was a great place to go if you like comfort, fun, great staff, luxury, so pretty much any good thing you want in a hotel. Lots of people put reviews that are negative and a lot of time you find that they are elaborated. I can say that during my stay I didn't experience anything that I can put as negative.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetgirl21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Revised Review:

Rooms: I have been here once before. Both times I was put into a room on the first floor. I don't really mind but I would have preferred the privacy of a room higher up. Last time I had a regular single room that was a lot like a dorm room. This time I got upgraded to a executive suite because they were at full capacity. The room was much more spacious and much more comfortable.

Location: Near the highway which was great for me.

Value: It was worth the convenience.

Reason for stars: I would give it a 4 stars. I have stayed here before and I didn't really enjoy my stay but I was pressed on time to find a place so I just jumped on this hotel again. The executive suite is much better. I don't know if I would want to pay for the executive suite at full price but the upgrade was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feedthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

When I arrived at the hotel I was informed that my reservation had been made for the previous night and there were absolutely no rooms available, Elton John was in concert that night. While I sat in the Lobby making calls to other hotels, with no sucess, Guest services approached me and said they had a found me a room. Great service, I'm sure I would have driven for an hour to find a room!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscavitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two days. This is my first time in Regina, not to mention I was little disappointed as we had hard time booking room in two of the giant hotels in this city. We finally managed to get a room in Chateau Regina. My first impression about this hotel when I entered the hotel was pleasant. Front desk stuff was helpful and very welcoming. Our room was obviously not the best room in that hotel but they they clean it nicely, carpets in the room is brand new. Wash room is bright and well maintained. Our two day stay was smooth and excellent. We will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodbridge_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev1110, General Manager at Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2011

How fortunate for us that you came to stay at our hotel and that you found it clean, comfortable and friendly - exactly what we are striving for! On your return visit, try out an executive or spa suite ~ pure luxury!
I appreciate your comments.
Sincerely,
Bev Herperger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Regina hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Regina, SK
0.4 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Regina
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Regina
Days Inn - Regina
#11 of 33 in Regina
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Regina
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Regina
Motel 6 Regina
#25 of 33 in Regina
74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Regina
Comfort Inn Regina
#16 of 33 in Regina
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites

Address: 1110 Victoria Avenue East, Regina, Saskatchewan S4N 7A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Regina
Price Range: $68 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites has a great hotel experience ready for you. For the business traveler, it's a place to rest your head after a long day in one of our Executive Suites. For a romantic retreat, our jetted tub suites offer king-size comfort and relaxation in a two room suite. We also welcome long term stays in our Efficiency units, which are fully equipped with a microwave, fridge, cook top and all necessary cooking utensils. Relax at the end of the day in our hot tub or enjoy a leisurely swim in our heated indoor pool. "At Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites, we promise to deliver unparalleled excellence in hospitality at an affordable rate." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Regina Hotel Regina
Chateau Regina Hotel And Suites
Chateau Regina Hotel & Suites Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing