We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Suite hard to book?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Prince Albert
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family Suite hard to book?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling with 3 children and figured that booking a suite was the way to go, but when we got to the hotel, they tried putting us in a regular 2-queen-bed room. The guy at the front desk tried telling me that this was considered a suite with a kitchenette because it had a microwave. I showed him my reservation (through Expedia) and after a bit more talking, we were installed in the family suite. There are 2 rooms (1 bedroom); 2 queen beds + a pull-out couch. The rooms are well-appointed but not as clean as they should be.

I must say that this is the first hotel I've ever stayed at where upon check-in, the first thing greeting us as we get off of the elevator are numerous bags of garbage. We checked in at around 6 PM & saw bags on both the second and third floors. Not a great first impression.

The cleaning is suspect as my son found a bobby pin by his bed, peanuts by the kitchenette table & I found an empty bottle of alcohol under my bedskirt. If we find bigger stuff like that, I wonder about what can't be seen.

On the other hand, there aren't many choices if you want to book a suite in Prince Albert. It is a newer hotel & the finishes are nice but at the very least, the cleaning staff needs better training & I don't know that I'd suggest booking through a secondary agent like Expedia if you want something beyond a standard room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sipme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear sipme,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments about the difficulties you had at check in has been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    31
    5
    8
See reviews for
32
18
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Older hotel, but clean and decent sized rooms. The room warms up fast which is important considering what winter in Saskatchewan is like. Breakfast included is convenient.

Cons: Slowest elevator ever. No automatic front doors (I know this is being very picky, but it's a pain when your hand are full of bags)

Overall, this hotel is average. It serves its purpose and I would recommend it. It probably is the best hotel in the city based on what others in my party who stayed elsewhere have said.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSM-HIEX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your valuable response. We're so glad you enjoyed the hot breakfast and warm room during this cold winter! As a management team, we are looking into your review to see how we can better accommodate. Thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express back in October while on a business trip in Prince Albert. I always dread going to PA for work because of the limited and poor selection of hotels in the city. I was really pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express - the rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and quiet and the complimentary breakfast was much better than I had expected. I will definitely be returning on my next visit to PA!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynCyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Dedicated front desk staff. Bad however that computers were being used by staff in business office. Great Value, by far best hotel in Prince Albert.

They should have security however in tge evenings, not nice to be harrassed by tge local riff raft.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Prince Albert is an Isolated town with few hotels to choose from. Stayed there for two weeks on business as it was affordable and I normally relly like Holiday Inn. The Hotel was clean and comfortable, nice decor inside, Regular Staff were SUPER nice and accomodating trying to fix repeated problems with fridge freezing my food (maintenance man came twice, then the other maintenace man replaced it, the Front desk lady refunded me $25 of lost food, the second fridge froze THAT, they refunded me another $25 on my last day, and finally the GM emailed me after I got home). Part time staff were less knowledgeable ex didn't know anything about how to order movies (you CANT- they don't have that service), the onsite lounge/bar is filled with VERY drunken patrons every night and fights are routine- went once because the restaurant was closed, tried to go back and changed my mind each time after peeking in, but unfortunately as a smoker I was still exposed to the chaos when I went outside to smoke. The included breakfast leaves to be desired some days, but the food at other times was really good and the restaurant staff awesome. If not for the wonderful staff I probably would have left with a sour taste in my mouth, but they really were awesome. Even the waitress in the raunchy bar gets applause because she has to deal all the inebriated patrons and still managed a smile .

Room Tip: as far from the bar as possible- on the second floor for safety. no perishables in fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabareteGirl_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear CabareteGirl_27,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I love staying at this hotel. The one thing that could be improved is the air quality. I find it a little bit dry and stuffy in the room at night. The breakfast is always good and I love the location of the hotel. It is close and convenient to many restaurants and shopping. This is my hotel of choice in P.A. when I travel for business or personal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Merle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Truly did not expect much - that is to say of any hotels in P.A. let alone the Holiday Inn Express. We were pleasantly surprised as the staff were delightful, courteous and very friendly. The breakfast was really great, both warm and plentiful. The hotel's location is perfect.

Two items on the downside: the walls are more or less paper thin so your neighbour's phone call isn't always private and we were accosted by people a few rooms down the hall throwing out racial slurs at ourselves and young son. That's not the hotel's fault of course just the small minded nature of the truly drunk and ignorant. We met a lot of those in Prince Albert.

If you need a place to stay for a couple of nights it's okay. We can't say anything really bad about the hotel. Enjoy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PerMare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear PerMare M,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be friendly. We apologize for the experience you had with the noise and any inconvenience you may have encountered that fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prince Albert hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marquis Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Prince Albert
Days Inn Prince Albert
#4 of 10 in Prince Albert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Prince Albert
Super 8 Prince Albert
#2 of 10 in Prince Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prince Albert Inn
Prince Albert Inn
#6 of 10 in Prince Albert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Prince Albert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert
Address: 3580 2nd Avenue West, Prince Albert, Saskatchewan S6V 5G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Prince Albert offers grand view of Canada's Gateway to the north. Located in the heart of Saskatchewan, Prince Albert is a quiet town that offers a variety of attractions for the business and leisure traveler. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert can provide you with a comfortable place to stay while you explore one of the last outposts on the Canadian frontier. Prince Albert is home to a wealth of historic and outdoor attractions. While you stay with us, consider taking a kayak or canoeing trip. Fresh Air Experience offers several different kinds of guided nature tours and is located three kilometers from our Prince Albert hotel. Other attractions include the John Diefenbaker Historic House and the Prince Albert Historic Museum. Both of these historic sites are just three kilometers from our Prince Albert accommodations. Our hotel is also close to the Northern Lights Casino. Business travelers will find that our hotel is close to many corporate businesses and that lodging in our Prince Albert hotel allows them to utilize our 24-hour business centre with copy, fax and print services, as well as our on-site meeting space. When you stay with us, you can take advantage of our choice hotel amenities, which include an indoor pool and whirlpool that you can relax in after a long day of work or sightseeing. Come to Saskatchewan and start your Prince Albert vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Prince Albert
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Prince Albert Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing