We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME - Gotta Go Back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nit's Thai Food

Nit's Thai Food
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“AWESOME - Gotta Go Back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

When I found out a conference I was attending was being held in Moose Jaw I was so excited and my first thought was I gotta go back to Nit's for supper...I had eaten there one other time and it was so excellent! The amount of food you get is plenty, it's very reasonably priced and is so flavorful and succulent!! Highly recommended!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank watergirl306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    19
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still one of my favourite places to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I remember the first time I ate at Nit's, about 20 years ago, or so. At that time, it was located in a tiny place a block north of the current restaurant (the current location was a greasy-spoon "family" restaurant back then). I really admired the owner's pluck, leaving behind Toronto's noise and hustle for a quieter, saner life, somewhere to raise a family without worry. Nit's has changed a lot since then, probably moved onto an entirely new generation of owners/operators, but I still enjoy going.

There's a lot on the menu that I haven't tried, and I'm not sure I will. I know the items that I like. Going to Moose Jaw to eat at Nit's is a special occasion, considering that I live in Saskatoon, two hours north, so I'm pretty much looking forward to the old favourites: Meing Com (roasted coconut, lime, peanuts and other things with a sweet sauce), Guy Satay (thinly sliced, broiled, skewered chicken marinated in spices and coconut milk, with peanut sauce), and any Gang dish.

Two of us arrived from Saskatoon about 2 p.m. last Wednesday, racing against a blizzard approaching from the northwest. We went straight to Nit's. The lunchtime rush over, there was one person on staff (the owner, perhaps?), but he saw us from the kitchen as soon as we walked in the door and quickly ushered us to a seat. Like I said, we have our favourites, so we were fast with our order, and the chef was equally fast getting the food to our table, along with a large pot of jasmine tea.

One thing to keep in mind about Nit's is that the meals aren't generic "Asian" or "Chinese" cuisine. These are real family recipes, likely originating from a particular region of Thailand. Not everyone is going to like everything on the menu, and you're sure to find some combinations of tastes that just aren't to your liking. Find something you like, with the help and recommendations of the owners, and stick with it. Mind you, if you're adventurous you could very well like most of the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
“Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I speak honestly.
I don't care about write ups.
They deliberatlely treat me like crap..
Dishes are taken befotre I am done.
Prices are too high for what you get..
I am sorry but the last time I was in I ordered chineese and got abosolute lowest on the the scale and worse yet it was deliberate because they did not want me there.
Now I make my own. I don't go out much.
I have a chineese aquaintance and have a very good idea of waht is expected. He would flip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon5155040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not so good anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

poor food, so so service and price is much too high for what you get, unless you want to pay up for a huge bowl of white rice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Love the authentic Thai cuisine, but the dining room could use some updating. And some of the decorating behind the counter looks dirty and messy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trippy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nit's Thai Food also viewed

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Nit's Thai Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing