We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cash isn't good enough”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moose Jaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prairie Oasis Tourist Complex
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Moose Jaw
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cash isn't good enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

On March 5th, 2014, my 80-year old father travelled from Manitoba to Medicine Hat, Alberta. He arrived in Medicine Hat in the late afternoon, and headed back for Manitoba immediately.

The highway conditions were poor due to blowing snow. As the night approached, the weather worsened and the highway conditions deteriorated; there were several vehicles already off the road. By the time he reached Swift Current, my dad felt it was best to get a hotel room for safety reasons. However, he was refused lodging by two hotels in Swift Current and another in Moose Jaw because he did not have a credit card with him.

Neither the Best Western nor the Comfort Inn in Swift Current would give him a room despite the fact he had ample cash and plenty of photo identification. He continued on to the Prairie Oasis in Moose Jaw. Apparently his cash was good enough when he filled his truck at the Prairie Oasis, and it was also good enough when he had a meal at the Prairie Oasis, but it wasn’t good enough to secure him a room. As a result he continued on the treacherous highway until he reached his home in Manitoba at four o’clock in the morning.

In the midst of a winter blizzard, these hotels denied an 80-year old traveler a hotel room, when clearly he had cash and identification. Shame on all three of them.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Audri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
23
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The rooms are very dated, but could be considered quaint, if it weren't for all of the issues. I loved the little kitchenette, which had a small fridge, a sink, an oven, microwave, dishes, cutlery, and a few pots and pans, as well as dish soap, cloths and towels.

The first night that we stayed there, the toilet in the bathroom ran every 20 minutes or so, and woke each of us up at least a few times during the night. The Wifi was very sporadic, and made for doing anything on the Internet difficult, and the air conditioning unit was very loud. The pool and waterside are were great fun, but only one slide was open, and the whole place, pool and motel, could have used a very thorough cleaning. The carpet in the room felt gritty under bare feet, and it just didn't seem all that clean. Although it was not great, we could look past all of that, especially since we were only going to be there for 2 nights, with a week in between each of those nights. We were just going through Saskatchewan to a family reunion in Manitoba, and the Prairie Oasis seemed like the perfect place to stay, considering that we needed a motel room for one part of the family, and a campsite for one part. (There were issues with the power for the campsite, as well, but we weren't the ones staying there)

The second night we stayed there was extremely bad. We walked into the room, and right away, I was gagging, thinking that I was going to be sick. The room smelled very strongly like urine. I didn't think that I would be able to stay there at all, so we went to the front desk to see if we could switch rooms. We were told that the motel was completely booked, so we couldn't get another room, but they "compromised" by giving us an ancient air freshener in aerosol can form. After spraying it in the room, we had to leave for almost an hour and leave the windows open before we could breathe. We had to do this 3 times before the urine smell was masked enough that we could handle staying there. Again, we had to deal with glitchy Wifi and a loud air conditioner, but at least the toilet in that room didn't run. There was also a short-circuit or something in the kitchenette area, which caused a shock if you touched the counter when something was plugged in and turned on (like the microwave or toaster).

I had really been looking forward to staying there, as their website made it seem like a great spot, and relatives had stayed in the campground part before with no issues. To say that I was disappointed is an understatement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moose Jaw hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I found the staff very friendly when we were getting checked in. The kids enjoyed the pool very much. Although only one waterslide was working it wasn't busy and there was no line up for it. The girl working at the mini golf was not friendly and made it clear that we were bothering her by playing. We ignored her bad attitude and had fun playing mini golf. We found it very loud when we were trying to sleep from all the traffic on the highway and ended up packing up the tent very early and leaving. May try this place again but not in a tent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped here to camp overnight on our way through Saskatchewan. The sites are dirty and small and the bathrooms needed a good cleaning. Service was fine but not friendly. The pool (which you are charged extra for) was disgusting. The water was grey and the sides were filthy. We couldn't get out of here fast enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked a 12 person mobile home for our large 11 person family adventure, feeling a little apprehensive after reading many reviews. Upon arrival they said they had 2 units large enough to accommodate our group and we could take a look at both and pick the one we wanted, so I thought that was very nice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Both mobile homes we looked at were clean, roomy, nicely decorated, not newly renovated but there's no need when everything is in great shape and cared for. Since there were 11 of us I thought we might be a little crowded in one unit, but not at all. The unit had a nice size kitchen, family room with tv, living room, 4 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. The weather was 30 some degrees and the air conditioning worked great. It was definitely a comfortable and relaxing stay for all of us. The pool and water slide area were clean and lots of fun. The staff in the pool area were not overly friendly but they were young girls doing their jobs testing the water, life guarding, and making sure everyone followed the rules. The pool was quiet being mid- week. Overall we would all come and stay here again in a snap. Not sure how the restaurant was as we brought our own food. Mini golf did not open until noon so we did not get a chance to try that out. Location was also great being close to grocery stores, restaurants and easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall it was ok. The water slides were filthy and smelled of urine. One of the two were out of order. The kids liked it, but I was grossed out. The laundry facility is shared with hotel house keeping, so a bit of an inconvenience to get a washer on time and completed before closing at 8pm. Playground was dated, not suitable for kids under 5.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nanootka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was my inlaws who decided to camp here. Pulled in and the site with rocks was dirty like scummy looking. However full service was great and price was alright. We took our kids swinming and the "lifeguard" sat on in his cell all night texting and the girl working the pool desk had 3 friends visit her the entire time we were there. It was ridiculous!!! Won recommend this place to anyone for safety reasons thats for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank doozey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moose Jaw hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Moose Jaw
Ramada Moose Jaw
#2 of 16 in Moose Jaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Moose Jaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Moose Jaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grant Hall Hotel
Grant Hall Hotel
#1 of 16 in Moose Jaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Moose Jaw
Days Inn - Moose Jaw
#9 of 16 in Moose Jaw
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 16 in Moose Jaw
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Oasis Tourist Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Oasis Tourist Complex

Property: Prairie Oasis Tourist Complex
Address: 1400 Ninth Avenue NE, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H-4N9, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Moose Jaw
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Moose Jaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Prairie Oasis Tourist Complex Hotel Moose Jaw
Prairie Oasis Tourist Complex Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing