We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Burrowing Owl Interpretative Centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre

Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre
Ranked #7 of 24 things to do in Moose Jaw
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Saskatchewan Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre (SBOIC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the conservation of the endangered Burrowing Owl and their prairie habitat through education, stewardship and eco-tourism.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Loved the Burrowing Owl Interpretative Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Well worth a visit--- you will not be disappointed. We had a junior staff member take us on the tour --- she was excellent. Knew her facts about the owls, their habits, behavior etc.
We arrived on a cool day and all the owls were out, we got some excellent pictures.
As the owls are becoming extinct --- what a wonderful facility to help the diminishing population.
If you find yourself in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan -- take the time!!
Excellent educational facility.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank panbk4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Eco-museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

But depends on the staff and time of year. We've visited off and on for several years. Sometimes staff are friendly and sometimes they seem too busy to explain much to you. Last time we took some International students and they were quite happy to bring out one of their tamer Burrowing Owls to perch on people's arms. A real exciting time for our International student.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanO853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Sasktachewan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Waste of time and gas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

So, what to buy a man who doesnt need anything? How about sponsoring a burrowing owl? that is what i did for my husband for Christmas. He got his certificate and a stuffed burrowing owl and a picture of the owl he was supporting. so what a dissapointment to drive for a couple of hours each way to see our little owl that to find out he was dead and in fact it seems he was unlikely to have been alive when we sponsored him. The lady at the centre was likeable and took us to see a few cages with a couple of owls in but really there was very little to see and certainly not worth a long road trip and a waste of a day. Sorry to not give a positive review of a good cause but i really cant this time.

Helpful?
3 Thank ReginaBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited with grandsons, they were able to feed the owls by catching crickets and grasshoppers themselves. Very informative, with a personal touch. Can adopt an owl and receive a tax receipt.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank adnilmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assiniboia, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had no idea how precarious life is for this little owl. Everyone should go to this centre and learn abouit the fast disappearing species.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mfwanfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre also viewed

 
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Burrowing Owl Interpretive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing