We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“showing its age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Moose Jaw
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here with 12 other family members this weekend
We have been here several times before over the years.
It's starting to get run down and for $300/ night we kinda expected better.
Time for some major renovations!!!
Front desk told us we had 2 fold out beds for the teenagers in our room.
It Only 1 fold out couch....so they brought us a cot and charged us another $10/night for that.
We asked to see if we could get a card table our some type of folding table to our suite, Don't have anything like that was there reply.
Asked to have 4 wine glasses delivered to the room as there were none.....$2.10 charge to get that ...lol..Its not the $2.10 that bothers me but what hotel that charges $300/night doesn't provide a wine glass in the room?
The pictures below show the water damage in the room and the patio door that doesn't shut tight. It was -35 and we had a nice little snow bank inside the door.
There was a portable toilet sitting in the hallway outside for 24 hours and finally got removed when someone called the front desk to complain.....
The pool was ok and only shut down once for Fecal/vomit removal.....
The restaurant was ok and had a nice Sunday brunch.
Front desk advised us that parking on the street was free so we chose that option...but they still charged us 2 days parking on our bill.
We had that reversed and checked out.
Our group had fun but all agreed that for the price of the rooms there are far nicer options out there.
5 star prices for a small town hotel, but only 3 star facilities and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templegardens, Director of Sales at Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for all your observations of our hotel. Your points have been noted and forwarded to housekeeping and maintenance. We do struggle with water leaks this year as we have had so much melting a freezing which is a challenge.
We are looking forward to a major renovation that is scheduled for the near future. We could not be more excited as Temple Gardens is a busy resort that is well used Look for the beginning of renovations in the next few months.
Dave DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,775)
There are newer reviews for Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,439 - 2,445 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We live in MJ, spontaneously decided to book in for the night as a getaway. We last stayed at the spa about 5 years ago and were not impressed then. As a MJ resident I am embarrassed. The spa is supposed to be our prize jewel. It just looks like a tired hotel. The carpet needs refreshing (or at least a regular cleaning!!) both in the hall and in our rooms. The walls in the hallways and in our room all have ding marks and would benefit from a paintbrush.
We stayed in a King room across the street. All 4 of the drinking glasses had water spots and did not appear clean. The bathroom was clean but tired. The shower curtain attacked me all the way through the shower. The shower itself was good and hot. I ended up sleeping with a towel for a pillow because the pillows were HUGE and SUPER fluffy. That is my own fault for not bringing a pillow.
The staff members were all OK, not spectacular or wonderful and that is disappointing. I want friendly welcoming treatment when I am staying at a resort. Several staff were on the elevators with us and didn't even acknowledge our presence. The staff member that checked me in asked me three times how my Christmas was. The first time was nice, the last two times were just weird. We stayed on January 2 and when I was in the outside pool I noticed that there was still garbage from New Year's eve littered around the pool. Really?? The lifeguards clearly wanted to be somewhere else, no eye contact when we picked up our towels, no friendly "hello". The casino staff on the other hand were great as usual-friendly and cheerful. The spa staff need to take customer care lessons. It was an OK stay, nothing I could call up and complain loudly about but next time we will go to Regina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building on the 4th or 5th floor. Quieter area.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rinn2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Me and my daughter were going to be alone for Christmas, so we decided to book in at the spa for Christmas Day (hoping to enjoy the hotel's Christmas dinner and relaxing pool). As first time visitors, I had never heard anything bad about the hotel or spa.

THE BAD:
- Upon check-in, we waited in line for about 25 minutes -- even though the hotel was fully booked/sold-out, there was only 1 front desk staff checking people in.

- Because check-in isn't until 4:00 p.m., by the time we got to our room it was about 4:45 pm and we decided to head over to the restaurant to see if we could get in for dinner. We were advised by the hostess that the Christmas buffet had been sold-out/fully booked for the past 3 WEEKS! No mention of this whatsoever on the website when I booked the room. No mention of this by the front desk staff. So, our choices were now McDonald's (The only thing open on Xmas Day) or the very overpriced room service. My daughter opted for McDonalds.

- We had expected to spend a few hours at dinner then go to the pool - but since that didn't work out it was now 6:00 pm and a whole night to kill at the pool or in our room. We decided to head to the pool. NASTY change rooms - obviously peak time, but the floors had hairballs everywhere and debris mixed in with all the water sitting on the floor. UGH. Pool was okay (since it was nighttime and we couldn't see the nasty pigeons circling overhead, the cheap dollar store xmas decor on the patio outside or the dirty patio by the outside part of the pool). Lots of screaming kids, throwing water from cups, splashing you as you went by. So much for relaxation and quiet!

- After 30 minutes in the pool, we headed back to our room.....which I should mention we were apparently in an "economy room" right beside the gym....and then the bombs started! The free weights were on the other side of the wall (where are beds were) and everytime some kid or idiot dropped a weight it sounded like a bomb going off in our room -- this went on from 7 pm until 11:30 pm!

- The room - definitely economy! Shabby carpet, dinted/dinged up walls, outdated, shabby bathroom, old tube TV. Thank God it was only 1 night.

- Parking across the street on the 2nd floor -- couldn't be farther away from our room.

THE GOOD:

I got to spend time with my daughter....regardless of the shabby and disappointed service and condition of the pool and rooms.

Definitely needs an update and some new management! Who sells out the Christmas buffet 3 weeks before Christmas and DOES NOT ADVISE PAYING GUESTS of the hotel??

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT next door to the gym! If you get a room in the 115 range, you will be ge...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templegardens, Director of Sales at Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hotel. I have followed up on some of your concerns. I did check and the front desk was staffed with two agents and one person on switchboard.
The nature of check in at or hotel is that we have rather small window of people arriving.
I also noted that we had open rooms the night of your stay and I wish you had let us know of the noise and we could have moved you.
Weekends are our busiest time in the hotel. Thanks for the idea of posting when Harwood's is sold out. Christmas, Mothers Day and Valentines Days always sell out in advance. We will post that to our Web and Facebook sites. If you would like to speak with me directly please email dos@templegardens.sk.ca.
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Rooms were nice! Everything was clean but found beds very uncomfortable. The mineral pool was awesome and also had a massage which was super. Enjoyed the sites of Moose Jaw plus enjoyed the restaurants. Hotel has a great brunch on Sunday. Plus the casino is attached to the hotel. Everything easy to get too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnthegoSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have been to the Moose Jaw Spa, three times, On arrival the Staff was more than friendly.
We were there for our Aniversary, we ate at the restaurant, in the Hotel, the service there was excellent and the supper was delicious. The pool was great. The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, this time, Very Quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2048Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templegardens, Director of Sales at Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thanks for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were okay. Need some remodelling to keep up with competition. Mineral pool was nice. The rooms were comparable to best western standard. For the price you pay, I expected more. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean. Travelled with infant and they provided a play pen. Ample parking available.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Just moved to Saskatoon from USA. So decided to go there for the weekend:
Pros:
- Convenient parking across the street (CA$7 for 24h)
Cons:
- Massage therapy was the most expensive (CA$115 x 45 minutes), and the worst quality I have tried. My husband thought the same thing about his massage.
- the mineral pool (please note it's only one pool with an indoor part that connects to an exterior part) had a strong chlorine smell.
- the restaurant service was very poor (took them 45 minutes to serve 2 salads) and got the order wrong
- in genera the spa and hotel are very poor in quality ... Will not go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Negroycanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moose Jaw hotels
0.1 mi away
Grant Hall Hotel
Grant Hall Hotel
#1 of 16 in Moose Jaw
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Moose Jaw
Ramada Moose Jaw
#3 of 16 in Moose Jaw
349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Moose Jaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Moose Jaw
Days Inn - Moose Jaw
#9 of 16 in Moose Jaw
343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Moose Jaw
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa

Address: 24 Fairford St E, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan S6H 0C7, Canada (Formerly Temple Gardens Mineral Spa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Moose Jaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Moose Jaw
Price Range: $128 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Moose Jaw, Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa is the ultimate Saskatchewan escape. Come for a soak in Canada's largest therapeutic geothermal mineral water pool. The naturally warm waters in this indoor/outdoor rooftop pool are pure relaxation for weary muscles and sore joints. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gardens Mineral Hotel Moose Jaw
Temple Gardens Mineral Spa
Temple Gardens Hotel & Spa Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing