We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find in moose jaw”
Review of The Mad Greek

The Mad Greek
Ranked #10 of 106 Restaurants in Moose Jaw
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice find in moose jaw”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Love Greek food. Came here for my wife's birthday when at the spa. Delicious calamari and we had Greek platter (definitely recommend). Server was super nice and friendly. Similar to spa mentioned it was my wife's birthday and server just smiled and gave us menus- o well again. Eat here if u like Greek, lots of garlic, good spot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaskTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    36
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent affordable family dining”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had lunch here last week with our family of 6. Huge portions of food for the price. We took lots of food home with us(could have fed another 2 people). Enjoyed the greek selections as well as their pizzas. Even my picky son had no complaints. Would definitely visit again if in Moose Jaw. Also had a gluten-free menu available, very helpful for me.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank albertaloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Four of went to The Mad Greek based on reviews read here. We aren't sure how this place got such good reviews. We went at 6:30 and each of us ordered a different entree. Without exception, every single entree was so overcooked that the meat was difficult to chew through. In the case of the boneless Greek ribs, several of them were so hard that they couldn't be stabbed with a fork.
One of our party thought that the food had likely been pre-cooked, and then reheated by someone who forgot them in the oven. This made sense since there was only one other party in the restaurant and our food took more than half an hour.
Garlic toast was only toasted on one side- the other side was doughy.
Greek saladh ad a generous amount of feta cheese, but was drowning in a creamy non-descript dressing that tasted a lot like Kraft ranch.
We ate a few restaurant meals while we were in Moose Jaw, and this was the worst meal of our entire road trip. I'm sure that there are restaurants in MJ that serve delicious food. This just isn't one of them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmcdlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Favorite Moose Jaw Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is still our favourite restaurant in this beautiful city. We have never had a disappointing meal and the yam fries are wonderful. We recommend this place to all our friends and have been thanked time and time again for doing so. If you want a delicious meal, give it a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We decided to re-visit this location as a result of several recent reviews viewed here. The decor, cleanliness and friendliness were the same, that is, good. We ordered the chicken breast stuffed with spinach and feta. The rice on both of our dishes was cold. You know how chicken gets stringy as you saw through it because it is so overcooked and dry? That's what it was like. The Greek fries were OK, and my partner stated her Greek salad was quite good. Their solution to our concerns was to provide some additional (hot) rice, but no chicken, and no discount on the bill. It will be quite some time before we return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daveinthejaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Greek also viewed

Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
 

Been to The Mad Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing