We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canadian Shield - Comfort in the Wilderness”
Review of Thompson's Camps

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saskatchewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thompson's Camps
Ranked #55 of 225 Hotels in Saskatchewan
REGINA BEACH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Canadian Shield - Comfort in the Wilderness”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thompson Camps offers a great location on Otter Lake, part of the Churchill River System in the Shield Boreal Forest of Saskatchewan. The cabin was a large modern 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached unit with full fridge and stove inside. Outside was deck, with BBQ and fantastic view of the Lake and Forest. Service with guides, boats, shore lunches were all above average.
The only down side was they were short dock staff a couple of days so we had to dock and tie up boat on return ourselves, not a problem though.

This is a rather expensive outfitter for August fishing in Sask. but you do get value for your dollar in comfort and peace of mind. For families the pontoon boats they have would be fantastic for fishing and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Any of the Log cabins are great, some detached , some new duplex luxury cabins have great enclosed d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAO722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife bought me a wonderful birthday gift of an 8 hour guided fishing trip. Turned out to be a wonderful day for our guide. We first had to buy minnows even though we wanted to fish for pike. Then we spent all except 20 minutes fishing for walleye, or rather we watched our guide catch fish. I had to put in and take out the anchor all day, we didn't get a shore lunch even though that was supposed to be the highlight of the day, I had to bait my wife's hook, and take off all but one of her fish. We didn't keep any pike and fortunately between my wife and I we caught three small walleye as this was all we got to take home while our guide took about ten walleye home. And the kicker was, WE paid for the guides minnows and we had to pay for the ice. Basically we paid for the guide to have a nice day of fishing and a nice feed of fish for his family. Won't be back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wadero1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been to Thompson's Camp twice now and we really enjoyed it both times. Our latest trip was the first week of June. We took a canoe trip and did some fishing on our own one day! Then we went fishing with Dylan one of Thompson's Camps guides, wow we had a wonderful time with him and caught a ton of fish. We caught a Northern Pike that was over 40" long and over 20 pounds, that was fun! We always stay in a one bedroom lake shore unit, they have a small kitchen area, with a futon and then a bathroom and queen size bed. Nice little units and we were also allowed to take our dog. We would definately recommend Thompson's Camps to anyone who wants to experience a great fishing trip and experience the outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedldf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice log cabins, a great place to stay to get out on the lake and enjoy some downtime. A bit of a drive to get there, but so worth it to get away. Great for couples or families, lots of room, plus barbeques and firewood!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Been going to Thompson’s for several years (some of the group over 30 years). Always a great time, the fishing is good, we always limit out. The staff is friendly and helpful, the cabins are good and provide everything you need. There is usually a group of 8-10 of us and we come each and every year to this same spot.

We always take a couple of 18' Aluminums and the pontoon boat. Love that pontoon boat, sit back, have a few drinks and catch some fish.......

Note to the one review: This is not a 5 star hotel, if that is what you are looking for take a fishing trip in Down Town Vancouver. This is a fishing camp and you get exactly what you expect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 56offsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is a great place to retreat form the hustle of big cities.Four of use guys have been going up there for the last three years,and have booked agin in 09.The accomodations are comfortable for camp standards ,but the staff are great.The fishing has always been exciting and recomend a fly-in if possibe>>BLAIR LAKE ROCKS>The nice thing about this camp is you can bring your own boat,and the staff will always be there at your service to help out in any shape or form.To m e--this place -you cant go wrong. Cheers
Dave Turcotte.Calgary Ab.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trapper58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moose jaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

stayed at Thompson camps for three days excellent fishing nice athmosphere. had a verry good time and I would reccomend it.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — the long car ride
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatchewan hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Regina
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Regina
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Regina
Residence Inn Regina
#9 of 33 in Regina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Regina
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels Regina
Delta Hotels Regina
#14 of 33 in Regina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Saskatchewan, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson's Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson's Camps

Property: Thompson's Camps
Address: Otter St | Missinipe, Saskatchewan, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 225 Hotels in Saskatchewan
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson's Camps Otter Lake Resort is an affordable wilderness camp for friends, families and co-workers to unwind, touch base and have fun together. Our resort is located on Otter Lake, Saskatchewan in the settlement of Missinipe, 80km north of La Ronge, Saskatchewan. We offer comfortable surroundings, deluxe banquet and convention facilities, and exciting activities for the entire family. Your home-away-from-home, Thompson's Camps offers boat rentals, professional guiding services, fly-out fishing excursions, wireless high-speed internet in the main lodge, a common fish filleting house, barbecues for each cabin and access to a gasoline pump for vehicles and boats. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing