We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notre-Dame-du-Cap”

Our Lady of the Cape Shrine
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.82*
and up
Guided Sightseeing Cruise in Trois-Rivieres
More Info
$71.71*
and up
Arrábida Natural Park and Sesimbra Day Trip from Lisbon
More Info
$50.79*
and up
Private Tour: Arrábida Natural Park and Sesimbra Day Trip from Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Notre-Dame-du-Cap”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful setting and church on the edge of the St. Lawrence River. Lovely grounds with the stations of the cross in statues.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mossylog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    75
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and spiritual visit. Beautifully upkept”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Beautifully preserved Basilica and gardens. The architecture is incredible as are the stained glass windows The gardens are very inviting. The Rosary bridge, the Stations of the Cross are lovely. A beautiful visit for sure. Right on the banks of the St. Lawrence River. There is a gift shop, restaurant and bathrooms on site.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peteluma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Liked the restrooms?”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

How sad a person would attend the culturally significant location of Our Lady of the Cape Shrine and refer to it as ugly, yet happy to use it's washrooms.

We see what we expect to see at times and what is in our hearts.

Sometimes prior research before a visit yields great benefit to one's experience.

Our Lady of the Cape Shrine is a wonderful treasure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful sanctuary”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This shrine is not to be missed! The basilica is beautiful, serene, and creatively constructed. The grounds are stunning and the whole atmosphere is ethereal and peaceful. Believer or not, this lovely spot is worthwhile visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Canada’s national shrine to the Blessed Mother”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

it's a very special place. The religious significance of the place - the miracle of the eyes - is clear from all the literature available and the fact that Pope John Paul 2 visited as a pilgrim with 75,000 Catholics attending was impressive. The chapel itself is big and conducive to meditation and contemplation. The grounds are well manicured, under the supervision of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate.

Two other pluses - the lunch dining facility is very adequate, with several options available. We were in a large tour group and of course the food ran out for the latecomers but the staff were quick to do special order sandwiches. The other is the gift shop with an incredible range of art and religious objects on sale.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lady of the Cape Shrine also viewed

Trois-Rivieres, Quebec
 
Trois-Rivieres, Quebec
 

Been to Our Lady of the Cape Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing