We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge La Galouine
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked late on the long weekend and were put in "La Garage". Just the name alone was a poor decision on management's part. There was no window, the mattress was horrible, and it would have been better to have no furniture rather than what they added. I was scared to sit on the sofa and when I did I could feel the metal base. There was a small kitchen and two chairs, and when we asked for a table they told us that there were none left. What is a kitchen without a table?
We changed rooms the next night and were happy we did. For the price, "La Garage" was a rip off and it felt like it had been furnished at a garage sale. Compared to the other restaurants we ate at, La Galouine was overpriced, low quality, and not fantastic service. We would not book there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    33
    19
    8
See reviews for
20
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went there with boyfriend for whale watching. For $89 a night, breakfast included, it was the best value we could find in Tadoussac in June. Upon arrival, we went into the restaurant where we had been told we could check in. One of the waitresses welcomed us - welcomed is a stretch, she pretty much just gave us our key and mumbled something about breakfast. So the service is really so so.
But the room was comfortable, with air conditioning, a large bed, it was clean, we had a nice view. Breakfast was really ok for the price.
I would recommend it, I think there are better and worse places in Tadoussac.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherkan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading some of the other online reviews, but found the inn to be charming. I stayed for 3 nights and did not dine at the inn, but found the room to be clean and comfortable - and the complimentary wireless internet was a nice surprise. The only complaint was the room did not have a television and the parking lot was a bit tight, and other guests seemed to park wherever they pleased rather than in their assigned spot (a bit of an inconvenience, but not the end of the world). Also, some 'larger framed' folks might find the bathroom a bit cozy.
The inn is in a nice location, with shops, restaurants and a market right next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street - they are quiet and the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

It seems that La Galouine cannot keep up with the town's success. Intentions are good, friendly and available staff but the quality is less inviting.
I found hair on our bed and another one in our bed :S
Charming but not very clean and inviting (missing knob on bathroom vanity gives you a hint).
Breakfast was .... unusual (minced bacon mixed w eggs and cheese stuffed in a grilled croissant accompanied by a glass of canned fruit....)
Had we paid less I wouldn't complain as much... but at 120.77$/night i would expect something more... at least no hair !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tadoussac hotels

Versailles, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Upon arrival, I had the impression I was disturbing the staff. Not one single smile. No help to carry a huge suitcase upstairs. The room was okay but extremely small and the bedlinen smelled musty.
Because it is situated above the restaurant, it is pretty noisy until quite late.
I also had dinner at the restaurant. I had asked if I needed to reserve a table. Being a solo traveller, they gave me the hidden table, you know, the one where you're forgotten after a while. Not a very pleasurable experience. Though breakfast was average, service at least came with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

It is hard to find a room with a queen size bed in Tadoussac (b&bs inns and hotels usually offer doubles), so we chose La Galouine mostly for this reason. We booked a room with a queen size bed and a private bathroom. The price was $95 +taxes, continetal breakfast included. The inn is located in the heart of the town of Tadussac, a 10-15 minute walk from the Tadoussac wharf. Upon arrival we didn't find a single person speaking English so we had to use our quite limited French language skills to communicate with the staff. The room was full of interesting, decorative marine detail but it was very tiny and felt cramped. There was no single night table, which I find to be a huge inconvienience. The bathroom was also very small. The room was clean, walls were covered in natural wood and there was no signs of mould. The breakfast wasn't too fancy (continental, service not included). We were offered a small fruit salad and one croissant from the menu. The whole package (room and breakfast) was acceptable but overpriced. The price was at the level of a 3 star establishment and the services were at the level of 1 or 2 star.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, room decoration
  • Disliked — Small room size, small breakfast, price too high
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank prudenttrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

Staying at this auberge was a positive part of the whole Tadoussac experience. Like most others, we were in this town to whale watch and location was not an issue- everything is close by. Originally, we were registered at Hotel Tadoussac, but reading some of the reviews on this site pushed us away and we were glad when we got there. We spent $90 a night and switched rooms once. Opt for the bigger rooms if you have a choice. The first room was too stuffy. No tv, but there was a clock radio, ac, and hair dryer. The food was good. Details like having raw sugar, a little sweet cream to dip your buttery toast, fresh fruit - this made me happy. My husband liked the caribou medallions for dinner and my lobster was not bad. Some members of the staff spoke English. Next door there was a convenience store and then Cafe Boheme which is really key to comfort in this town. Wireless interenet access if you have a laptop, yummy stuffed waffles, Inuit teas and cool music there. We went with Captain Julien on AML zodiac tours and saw three types of whales, including the elusive Beluga. Much fun!

Helpful?
16 Thank tapny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#4 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Maison Gagne
Auberge Maison Gagne
#1 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Galouine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Galouine

Property: Auberge La Galouine
Address: 251, rue des Pionniers, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge La Galouine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge La Galouine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Galouine Tadoussac, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing