We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable B&B gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Maison Gagne
Ranked #1 of 19 Tadoussac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impeccable B&B gem”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We spent a night at Auberge Gagne visiting Tadoussac, Quebec.
The entire experience was delightful from booking to departure.
Taking room #10 on the lower level to mitigate the hwy truck traffic noise we found the noise level acceptable but that the back room on this level may have been better.
Our room was spotless and comfortable.
The entire B&B showed a high level of care.
The breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quest-for-Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    53
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
140
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night at Maison Gagne Labour Day weekend in 2009. It was extremely packed with tourists, so we had to book different B&Bs each night. We didn't mind because the town of Tadoussac was very small, so it wasn't a huge inconvenience at all.

We stayed at Maison Gagne our first night. The B&B was literally meters from the ferry! We were late in booking, so the only room they had available was a room in the basement. At first, I was very wary about this because I was picturing a sort of cold, damp, dark dungeon, but I was pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. It was bright, clean and modern. The beds were comfortable and the best part was, we had the whole "basement" to ourselves. It was very quiet, and we didn't hear any noise from up above.

The service was excellent and staff were very helpful in answering questions and giving advice on cruises/places to eat/things to do. The property was beautiful, we took a look out the back of the B&B and found that it backed onto a small body of water, which was gorgeous.

The breakfast (included) the next morning was delicious, and served in their bright, sunny dining room at the front of the B&B. The servers were friendly and the food was great.

I would definitely recommend this place. Since we were staying in the basement, we didn't hear a thing - some people mentioned they could hear trucks going by, but maybe that was because of the location of their rooms. If you want a quiet stay, ask for the basement!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SexiBexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2009

It's ture that large trucks do pass the property to and from the ferry but in our experience the sound-proofing was great. We occupied one room in the house and one annexe. Both were well furnished to a high standard and the owner and staff were lovely. the breakfasts were innovative and varied and this really is a great base for Tadoussac, to see the whales or the fjord.

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — It is on a main road, but this isn't really a big issue.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OscarRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

This is a small and neat auberge in Tadoussac with a mix of good and not so good features. It is located a few hundred metres on the left up the main road from the ferry, so is easy to find, but you might be disturbed by the big trucks grinding up the hill if your room is in the front - we were lucky, our room was at the back. It all seems to be quite new, decorated in a cottage/pine style with lots of rustic (twee?) adornments. We arrived early but were made very welcome. Our room was immaculately clean, but very small. Fortunately we were only staying one night, so could make do with minimal kit in the room, but I doubt if there would have been room for a suitcase. We felt that too much had been squeezed into too small a space. Breakfast was good, but clearly pre-packaged and all seemed to be the same. Everything felt a little too organised, all the way down to the piped classical muzak which seemed to played all day. At $C136 for two, we had much better value elsewhere on the trip, but maybe Tadoussac is expensive.
The village is maybe 10-15 minutes walk away, but there are two or three restaurants closer than that for an evening meal - we ate well at the hotel immediately next door downhill.

  • Liked — Clean and new
  • Disliked — Small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2008

The Maison Gagne is a B&B situated about 500 m to ferry harbor by the principal road. So, all time big and noisys trucks are driven nex to the house.
The rooms are clean and confortable. The bathroom is nice.
The living room is very small but dining room is nice and the breakfast is great .
Personal are kindly.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Harvey Lessard
La Maison Harvey Lessard
#3 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Maison Gagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Maison Gagne

Property: Auberge Maison Gagne
Address: 139 Bateau-Passeur, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Maison Gagne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A TRUE GEMM Room breakfast inclus , private bathroom, situate neer the lake and the mountain, tichets for whales watching cruise and Fjord. Parking, bike and kayak free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Auberge Maison Gagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Maison Gagne Tadoussac, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing