We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiant, clean and perfect for a bunch of close friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet-Camping Domaine des Dunes
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiant, clean and perfect for a bunch of close friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were a group of 6 adults, that started planning a trip to Tadoussac in June of 2010. We found Domaines des Dunes on a Tadoussac site, and decided that that we wanted to spend our evenings in a nice cottage. We were more than pleasantly surprised with the quiantness of the area, and especailly how clean the cottage was. There were two double beds upstairs and a separate room on the main level. It was a cooler week, and the two wood stoves ( one in and one out), were a welcome site. This would also be a fantastic place for families, camers, or anyone who wanted to enjoy a beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flora101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
45
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mofra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

we stayed in the easy camping (ready to camp) where you only bring your sleeping bags. it was great. The tent was big with all the commodities. the hill was a bit steep to come back from the main washroom but it kept us in shape.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mofra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here, Now
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

I've been there twice. Great spot (3 minute drive from "downtown" Tadoussac). Just love going for a walk to the sand dunes, then along the St-Laurent all the way back to the village. Chalet is clean and comfortable, only thing missing was cable tv!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

We wanted to do something a little different after a week in 2 bedroom condo in Smugglers Notch in VT followed by these, chalets with 2 floors )a downstairs bedroom with a double bed and a loft upstairs with a double bed. So there is and privacy for parents or couple travelling together. There was a tv with only French channels (and only a couple at that). For us it was great for the kids to see a piece of the world that is not oriented to Americans. It was really wonderful. It felt like was lucked up a hotel on the road less travelled here (not untravelled, just less travelled. The people who work here a very nice as well.

It's a couple of miles from town but the ride is brief and the bus that takes folks to their respective tours stops there and everywhere else. There was fresh white bread in the mornings (for a nominal fee). And we had a little food with us so it felt like a feast.

It's plain and simple and clean. We were in a condo in VT for a week and then here and then at a Marriott in Montreal. And ths was our favorite place. As my son wrote in a poem for mother's day: there were so many whales it felt like there was no need to save them.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_anas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

We stayed at the Domaine for two nights during a tour of Quebec, and loved it. As other reviewers have noted, it is about 2km outside the village of Tadoussac, but you need a car anyway in this part of the world. The Domaine is made up of chalets (in the States we would call them cabins, but they are much more comfortable than that) and of hookup sites for RV's. Cabin was very comfortable and sparkling clean, with a fully equipped kitchen and a fine bath. Furnishing is simple, but no more so than is appropriate -- this was hardly "roughing it", even for a couple of New Yorkers.

Laundry facilities are available at the Domaine, which is most welcome on a driving trip. There is no Wifi that I found, but one can after all live without it. Also, there is a terrific bakery/cafe in the village, right next to the small supermarket, which has free Wifi.

The staff was very helpful and most tolerant of my efforts to speak French, and of my problems with the dryer, which were entirely due to a failure to read the directions. They recommended good restaurants, helped us arrange whale watching, and were in general most welcoming. They also welcomed our poodle, who had a great time.

We happily return, and will recommend it -- along with Tadoussac overall -- to friends.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — No wifi
  • Tips/Secrets — Drive out to the dunes as well as back to the village
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

We really enjoyed our short stay at Domaine des Dunes. The chalet/cabin was lovely, very clean on arrival and equipped with all you would need - especially full kitchen utensils, delf and plenty of towels for the bathroom. We feel that it's a great place to stay summer or winter, whether you were a family or group of friends. The chalets are cute and cosy. The complex is set amongst the trees a couple minutes drive from the town (so walking wouldn't be recommended). The whole complex was well laid out and the grounds maintained very well. There was a games area for children and with all the wider area had to offer in general, you wouldn't be stuck for things to do during the day. The town of Tadoussac is pretty, it's small and has a couple of nice places to eat (Bar/cafe Pierre Coqart (for pizzas etc) and a lovely coffee shop opposite the large church called Cafe Boheme- great for breakfast/lunch). Restaurant (can't recall name) to the right of the small supermarket opposite the church wasn't that great. We used Otis Tours (booked through Domaine reception) for our whale watching by zodiac - which was unbelievable to see Minke and Fin whales who sailed right past our boat - wow!. We would recommend Domaine des Dunes - its' a really lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElizHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2004

This place is close to paradise on earth - I was fortunate enough to spend 3 nights there in August 2004.
I went to Tadoussac to see the whales and finding accomodation there involved a fair bit of internet research as, apart from the Hotel Tadoussac (which was full) none of the other accommodations seem to have a high profile. Domaine Des Dunes is 2km out of the village centre (you really need a car here) on a quiet, dead-end road that ends at the Complexe des Dunes ( a stunning area of beach, forest and sand dunes).
The chalets are charming and set in a peaceful birch wood. Think there are 10 chalets and also a camping ground for tents and RVs. The welcome from proprietor Bernadette was warm - she speaks french the european way (she is Swiss) and nothing is too much trouble for her and her staff.
I hope to return to this place some day.
Oh and the whales are superb - not to mention the black bears to be seen a few km up the road!

Helpful?
23 Thank PeteOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auberge Maison Gagne
Auberge Maison Gagne
#1 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Camping Domaine des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Camping Domaine des Dunes

Property: Chalet-Camping Domaine des Dunes
Address: 585 Moulin a Baude, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet-Camping Domaine des Dunes 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of a birch woodland, each of our 11 non-smoker, furnished cottages can comfortably accommodate from 2 to 6 persons and offer all the necessary commodities such as: 2 rooms with bedding and double-bed, a bathroom with towels, an all equipped kitchen, a dinning room, a living-room with sofa-bed, cable color TV and a wood stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet-Camping Domaine des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet-Camping Domaine Des Dunes Tadoussac, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing