We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad but not what we were expecting”
Review of Hotel Georges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Georges
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I stayed at BW Hotel George 2 weeks ago. We booked it through the hotel website. We took a package with half board and cruise.

The girl I used to write via email told me to contact them if we will arrive later than 6 pm. At 5 Pm on my arrival day I contact her telling that we would arrive at about 9 pm (350 km left + the ferry for tadoussac).

as we arrived at the hotel at 8.45 an unfriendly men told us without greeting us that the kitchen was already closed because we were expected fo 8 pm. (stats at 5 pm + road speed limit + 350 km on CANADIAN ROADS + 1 ferry....it would have take only 3 hours to us? HOW?!?!?!?!?!?)

Anyway...We went to our room that was not so clean and also with very old furniture. Fortunately we were very tired so we falled asleep soon and we didn't hear the Trucks all night long. at check in time he told me that a shuttle service for the cruise will pick us up at the hotel at 9.15 am,so we went to take our little breakfats at 8.45 am...also in this occasion he didn't greet us and told us that we were in late in an unfriendly way!!! (the cruise pick up service was at 9 not at 9.15 I'm mothertongue french so I'm sure that I understant everything in the right way!!!!)

I will suggest you to find another accomadation!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirpa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights to go on a whale watching cruise during our trip through Canada.

It is located just 200 meters from the ferry which is needed for all vehicles on highway 138. As the cars and especially the big trucks have to go on a slope to the ferry, it is incredibly loud when they stop and when coming from the ferry they have to accelerate to go up the hill.

They gave us a room in the reception building with one window opening to the street and we did not get much sleep the whole night whether we closed the window or not. On the other side of the street is a youth hostel and they managed to play music half the night, too.

The next day we could change to another room with one window to the front and as well windows to the lake on the backside. We closed the front window and the noise was o.k. but unfortunately, youngsters from the youth hostel held a party-night at the lake and we had loud noise (incl. fireworks) from them up to 5 am in the morning.

Additionally, they only offer two different breakfasts: a continental one and an american one (5,95 and 7,95 CAD+tax). Both were not really satisfactory, in fact they were the worst we had in 3 weeks in Canada. With this experience we did not try the restaurant.

The rooms are clean but a little dark and quite small, especially the bathroom.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and do not think that it deserves 3 stars.

Better choose one of the other accomodations but take care that they are not located along highway 138.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Taff007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Germany
534
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We stayed there in July 2005. The room we were offered just had one very small bed. So I was given an upgrade for 25 Canadian Dollars. Our new room had the same small bed, but also a second bed, which was a childrens bed and my spouse nearly got seasick. Our room had no AC and it was very hot. So we had to open the window. But the ferry over the fjord is just a few hundred meters away. This cost us actually the sleep. Never again! If you travel to Tadoussac you better stay at Hotel Tadoussac. I wished I would have chosen it.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
125
Reviewed August 30, 2004

This is a motel in the very picturesque Tadoussac on the north shores of the St Lawrence river.
It's not located in the "main tourist area" or the beach but it's only a 5 minutes walk to get there.
The rooms are clean, but small. Beds are double and not queen. The staff is helpful and polite.
The main problem that this motel has in my opinion is the fact that it is located right next to a 2 lane highway and also very close to the ferry crossing over the Saguenay river. That causes all the big heavy trucks ("18 wheelers") to slow down on a slope literally right in front of the motel to board the ferry. They have done a good job soundproofing but if you're a light sleeper or you want to hear the crickets at night, this place is not for you.
The motel has also a nice restaurant. The food is good but for the money, we've seen better.

25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tadoussac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Tadoussac
#2 of 8 in Tadoussac
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auberge La Galouine
Auberge La Galouine
#7 of 8 in Tadoussac
115 reviews
21 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#2 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Restaurant Chantmartin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Georges

Address: 135 Bateau Passeur, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range: $81 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Georges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant George, ideally located at the entrance of the village of Tadoussac, is in the immediate proximity of every touristical activities in this heaven of the North Coast. Leave your vehicule in our parking and discover the typical charm of the oldest village in this corner of North America. At the opening of the Saguenay fjord and the St-Lawrence River, on the obligated path of the whales, the Hotel Georges welcomes you with its legendary warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georges Hotel Tadoussac
Hotel Georges Tadoussac, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing