We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ride, lots of whales”
Review of Otis Excursions

Otis Excursions
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Tadoussac
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great ride, lots of whales”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We took the three-hour 9 am Zodiac tour and were not disappointed. The Zodiac makes the experience more intimate and direct and adds a sense of adventure - especially for our teenage kids. Every seat is outward facing which means everybody has an unobstructed view. Every passenger gets a waterproof outfit consisting of rainpants and full sized life jacket, which in the end helped more to stay warm as there was no significant watersplashing. We were lucky with the weather (sunny and calm) and even more with the whales of which we saw many. One blue- fin even passed under our boat and surfaced right behind us. By the way - do not expect National Geographic type sightings of majestic tail fins slowly entering the sea. Most whale views consist of a back fin or slight bump above the water at some distance, and all viewings are very brief. Next to whales, there were large groups of seals. Captain Sylvain was very experienced and gave adequate explanation. He was clearly pleased that all passengers understood French. He gave us the feeling that we had been exceptionally fortunate with the number of whales we had seen.

Helpful?
1 Thank FernIze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    43
    11
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible experience with Otis Excursions - Tadoussac”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went on this whale watching tour at the end of June 2012. The weather was not good, raining, cold and windy. The water was very rough. I'd like to inform everyone of our terrible experience for 2 reasons: 1) The zodiac that was used was not the one displayed on their website. It was a much smaller zodiac with unpadded seating. You actually sit on a big wooden box placed in the middle of the boat. 2) Due to the rough water, the waves were indeed very high. However, the captain of the boat did not make any attempt to slow the zodiac down. As a result, the passengers kept being bounced up almost 1 foot in the air and out of their seats and then landed back down on the hard wooden surface. This kept on going for a good 45 min as we were trying to get to the whale area. The first 10 mins of this bouncing was tolerable, but for 45 min each way (there and back)? It became absolutely unbearable. My husband and I, started out as healthy people (in our late 40s) with no back pain, we came back at the end of the whale watching tour with bladder as well as back pains.
We really felt that it was truly unnecessary for the captain to keep driving at full speed like that when he should have slowed down taking into consideration the high waves. If we had known that this was going to happen, we could have taken the big cruise (catamaran from other companies) and see just as many whales but without being bounced up and down and breaking our backs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Violet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average trip!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose this company thinking that smaller might provide more personalized service. It didnt! We took the zodiac boat which was good fun but the driver didnt add any commentary/value/info whatsoever. The tour left on time but came in a bit early. We did see some whales but saw way more the next day at Cap de bon Desir sitting on a rock for a fraction of the price with much better commentary by the parks canada guides.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank regentlamoureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had the best time ever on this zodiac ride. We saw a bunch of whales, they're beautiful! Captain Sylvain was super cool, let the kids on board "drive" the zodiac for a while and kept taking us closer and closer to the whales. We totally recommend it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiazwarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best!!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just returned from Tadoussac and enjoyed the zodiac otis whale excursion so much that we went twice.
Both times we saw lots of whales up close and a variety of types - Belugas, Minke, Big Fin,humpback and tons of seals and some porpoises. The whale watching was fantastic as was the captain of our boat.
We speak very little french and although he spoke little english we could communicate very well and both times they put us on a boat with a bilingual group of people that would fill us in on one trip and a bilingual guide on the next.
We would highly recommend Tadoussac to whale watch and Otis excursions!!! Put this on your bucket list.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otis Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Otis Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing