We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel does a nice job despite summer crowds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Hotel does a nice job despite summer crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We booked 2 nights here because we planned to kayak with Mer et Monde ecotours north of Tadoussac in Bergerrones. Yes, it was very unorganized at check-in Friday night, but it was the middle of August. Yes, I was concerned about the location of our room (first floor, right off the lobby) because I thought it would be noisy given the crowds. We had paid a premium for a view of the Saint Lawrence - actually on the first floor you see the bay in front of the hotel but you really view the lawn and all the guests hanging out enjoying the harbor view. However, I think we made a terrific decision to stay at the Hotel Tadoussac - here's why: clean rooms - great housekeeping - I left my digital camera charger behind and they located it the day I called (one day after checkout) and mailed it back to me - thank you! - very friendly wait staff in the Cloverdale dining room (we had 1 breakfast and 1 dinner included in the package I purchased) - in fact, we asked to be seated a bit early for breakfast before our kayak adventure and the hostess couldn't have been more helpful making sure we had a hot breakfast (including the coffee - ready to drink right at 6:50am!), etc. And despite the crowds and our first floor room, the place was quiet at night - we were not disturbed once on either night. I think management should just beef up staffing for check in and check out on weekends. Tadoussac is a beautiful town and the hotel is smack in the middle of the pedestrian action. If you go, try kayaking with Mer et Monde. We were inexperienced at kayaking, but had a fantastic day with more whale sightings than I could have ever imagined.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samsmom2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Good morning,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property. We also want to thank you for your good comments. It's alway a pleasure to know that we reach our guest expectation.

The Hotel Tadoussac is always looking for a improvement and this is why I will use your comments about the check-in and check out time to see how we can manage it more efficient.

It's was a pleasure and hopefully we will welcome you back next year.

Best Regards,

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
HOtel Tadoussax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    318
    220
    64
    26
See reviews for
222
426
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Tadoussac for three days as a home base to do a bit of whale watching and to tour the Saguenay Fjord. The hotel is ideally suited for this and we were very happy with our choice.

As others have said, the grounds and ambience are the big assets of the Hotel Tadoussac. We too drank wine while sitting on the Adirondack chairs looking out over the Gulf of St. Lawrence. It was fantastic. The lobby of the hotel is also out of an old Victorian novel and, on a cool day, I spent some time there languishing over a novel.

We found our room, while small, to be entirely suited to our needs. We were on the top floor of the hotel so we had small gable windows -- no big deal. The decoration of the room was very simple and plain -- but the bed was very comfortable and the linens were top of the line. That was a bonus. We were really happy with it.

The service at the hotel was good, but felt a bit "old school". Not sure how to explain it -- it's just that it felt like some things were a bit odd. It left me with the feeling that the hotel was not quite hitting the mark. With some small improvements -- some smoothing out around the edges -- this place could become an exquisite holiday destination. It's good now, but if it met its full potential, it could be great.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and found the service and quality to be excellent. But as an example of "old school", the restaurant had an odd practice that appeared to be quite redundant where guests checked in at the front, gave their room numbers after which little pieces of paper with the guest's name and room number were completed in triplicate and handed to the hostess. Not sure what became of the paper, but we still got the bill and had to sign it for charges, which was all electronic. My guess is it's a vestige of pre-electronic billing systems that somebody is reluctant to let go of.

We didn't try the fine dining restaurant, but did eat in the pub and the bistro. The pub was excellent, with a fine range of beverages, an excellent small menu and responsive service. The view from the pub was glorious, looking right out onto the main grounds and the river. The Bistro, on the other hand, felt like an after thought (which may be because it's open only seasonally). Its interior decor was dated and not up to the level of the rest of the facility. The menu was surprisingly ordinary and was inconsistent with what I understand when I see the name "bistro".

The hotel is pricey, but the location is what you're paying for and it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyDSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Upon our check in, we've been warmly welcomed by the very helpful staff. Our room was providing a breath taking view of the Tadoussac Bay area and the hotel itself is a pur masterpiece. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We also really enjoyed our experience at the restaurant Le William as well as live entertainment provided at the hotel Bar. I am already looking forward to my next stay in Tadoussac!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saute_flocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Expensive, tired decor, small rooms with tiny windows. We paid 160$/night for a very mediocre room. There was nothing wrong with it, in fact the service was quite good, it just wasn't worth the hefty price. The hotel itself has nice views over the St. Lawrence river with a nice main lobby and public open space. Don't stay here, just visit it. Otherwise the area is beautiful and it's definitely worth the trip up to Tadoussac!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortunecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Good evening,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property and also for your comments. There is always a place for the improvement. I'm sorry to here that you been desapointed about our room. I want to take the time to explain that our rate is based on the experience, services and beauty of the area. We are an ancestral hotel build since 1865 and re-build in 1942, and we try to reproduct the story of the hotel.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Have a good evening

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Tadoussac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tadoussac hotels

Maidenhead
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

You can't miss the hotel Tadoussac! Gracing the lawns above Tadoussac bay, the view from the hotel is superb. This hotel is very comfortable, decor is 'Victoriana'. We had a garden view room which was quiet although a little on the small side for a family with 2 small children. There wasn't much room to move once the sofa bed and crib were up.
The breakfast buffet has a wide selection and the restaurant staff are friendly and efficient. The reception staff are also extremely helpful. The hotel was very busy at our visit and the spa was very popular. If you wish to use this I'd advise to book ahead of time.
We ate two evening meals at the hotel's 'Beaupre' as there aren't many restaurants in town catering for children. Food was average. Some of the restaurants in town did look very nice for those travelling without children!
The hotel is closely associated with Dufor cruises. Personally I think AML cruises has the better boat for viewing with larger windows and more outside deck space. AML cruises also pick up from the hotel although the hotel keep this quiet! Whale watching was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac155036, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Good evening,

The HOtel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property and for your good comments. The experience that your family had during your stay concerning the beauty of the area it was we want for our guest.

It's was a pleasure to help you during your stay and hopefully we will welcome you back for 2011.

Have a good evening

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Tadoussac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel with lots of character. The grounds are amazing and make up for any shortcomings with the rooms. We particularly enjoyed the large public rooms overlooking the St Lawrence where we could enjoy the ambiance of the hotel and its surroundings. Sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the beautiful grounds, while sipping on a glass of wine, was like being in an old Agatha Christie novel (without the crime, of course).

We had access to a pool table (free to guests) along with a swimming pool and other activities.

The only drawback - there was no place to have a simple breakfast. A buffet breakfast was the only option which did not work out with our 9:30 whale watching schedule.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adroit_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Good evening,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property and of course all your good comments about our hotel. In fact, the impact that you describe is the one that we want to create to our guest. Nice ambiance and relaxing is one of our goal to made a good experience of your stay.

Also, I do understand your point abour the buffet breakfast in the morning. Your comment is a good way to know about our guest and to improve our service.

Thank you very much and have a good evening

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Tadoussac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Because of the varying reviews of Hotel Tadoussac I had hesitated to make a reservation there. Yes, it's ideally situated. Yes, it's a piece of history. Yes, it looks gorgeous on the website. But all the muttering about over-priced mediocre rooms, service, and food... I wasn't sure. Wow! Am I ever glad I did!

We had just come from several days at Le Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City so a comparison is inevitable. The two properties couldn't be less alike with one exception. They were both fabulous in their own way. Hotel Tadoussac is simple, unpretentious, well-kept, and just a joy to stay at. The staff was attentive. It fit into it's surroundings like hand in glove. No, it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a 5-star hotel. The rooms are not air-conditioned. The cabinetry is not made of rare rainforest woods. But the rooms are very comfortable. Are the rooms overpriced? Location, location, location. Those rooms without the view, history, and charm? Yeah, way overpriced. But in context I thought they were quite reasonable.

The hotel was well-kept albeit not fancy. The grounds are beautiful, the pool nice, the access to the beach highly-appreciated. There just isn't anything I'd like to see changed. It was just really nice.

Much has been said about the dining options. Most people seemed to opt for the buffet dinner -- pretty good food, excellent selection, super family friendly -- but you did not have to. There are two other restaurants onsite with different offerings.

If you are looking for a Ritz, W, Four Seasons, etc., and you need that to relax and enjoy your vacation then Hotel Tadoussac probably isn't the spot for you. We loved it for it's simplicity and testament that you can be a first-tier hotel offering great joy to your guests with the basics done right. If Le Chateau Frontenac is the gorgeous model everyone wants to be seen with, Hotel Tadoussac is the girl next door. I've always been a sucker for the girl next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
Good morning,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for all the comments that you made about our facility. Mostly the description that you made is what we try to create for our guest. One of the most important thing is to give an experience of Tadoussac. See the beauty of our area.

Our team appreciate very well your comment and it nice to see that our work is recognize.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in 2011.

Best Regards

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Tadoussac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Maison Gagne
Auberge Maison Gagne
#1 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
Motel de L'Anse a L'Eau
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Property: Hotel Tadoussac
Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing