We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect - but historic, beautiful, and with limited options.. adjust your expectations!”
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The service is excellent. The woman that helped us book (Vanessa) and a gentleman at the desk (Stephan) were just great. Friendly & helpful. The hotel is old. It doesn't have amenities you might expect from big cities. And the prices are kind of "big city", which does affect expectations. But your options in the area are limited and you need to keep this in mind. It is a very old, seasonal, historic hotel. The pool was great, the rooms were clean. If I was there in the heat of July/Aug, I would be worried about the lack of room air conditioning. This was our 2nd stay at the hotel, and I would stay again. You can't beat the grounds, the views or the service. Everyone wants to make sure you're having a good time. Ask about sightseeing, mini-golf, the pool, tennis & lawn games. We had breakfast included each day and it was excellent. There are a lot of complaints about Hotel Tadoussac on this site - but you just have to remember: this isn't Manhattan.

Room Tip: The river views are gorgeous, but the sun comes to wake you early! and with no air conditioning, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 956 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Apart from little B&B's and such, this is pretty well the only place to stay in the actual town of Tadoussac. It looks right out on to the docks where all the whale watching cruises leave from (about an 8 minute walk from the hotel) and looks right over the beautiful massive bay, you can see whales from the hotel grounds if you're lucky!
The staff was really great, we had a few minor issues that needed to be dealt with and the staff took care of them quickly and professionally.
The room was very nice, our window looked out right over the bay. Gorgeous. /spotlessly clean, however, they are a little outdated. Everything is beautifully maintained, but it is not modern.
We really did enjoy this hotel.
Worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicUpland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is most certainly the grand old lady of Tadoussac. Built in 1865 in the style of Canada's grand hotels. While not as classy as hotels built by CP in the 19th century, it certainly merits honorable mention due to its imposing presence, outstanding vantage point overlooking the bay, a very courteous & helpful staff and well maintained lawns with lots of flowers. Undoubtedly, the best hotel in Tadoussac.
The property is somewhat dated & could use some upgrades such as air conditioning a repainted roof + reupholstered furniture. What it lacks in creature comforts, it makes up for in good service.
The 3 restaurants are decent but overpriced. I recommend meals at restaurants on rue des Pioniers.

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the 2nd floor, for quick access to a large terasse as a great place to sit w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cubandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

First of all... Tadoussac is such an amazing area that there can be very little wrong with a stay in the grande dame hotel. Really. We stayed two nights in a comfortable room - not even one of the waterfront rooms. But we actually spent almost no time in the room, except to sleep. And the room and bed were cozy and comfortable.
The view from the lobby is also superb, as is the seating in the lawn which overlooks the water.
The hotel staff was quick to arrange for a remarkable whale-watching cruise... And helpful with other ideas of things to be seen and done. They suggested the short walk to the rocks along the shore where we watched minke whales just offshore. And a trip to the dunes which had a lovely expanse of almost deserted beach.
It is true that we did not dine at the hotel... And we have seen some reviews saying that the meals there were lacking. But there are several very good restaurants within walking distance. And a super boulangerie where croissants, pastries, and sandwiches are amazingly good.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sigotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked this hotel in mid-June for a 2 day stay as part of our vacation throughout Quebec. This location was chosen for a whale-watching cruise, which we included in our hotel package for a very reasonable price.

There is not a bad word I can say about our entire experience. On the contrary, it was probably our most relaxing and enjoyable trip in a long time. The hotel staff was excellent, the food was great and included a chef-style buffet breakfast, the room was a perfect size and nicely appointed, the large 2nd floor deck overlooking the scenic bay offered a tremendous panoramic view, the expanse of the grounds were very well maintained... just an amazing place that we highly recommend to anyone travelling that way. Surprisingly, there is a lot to do in Tadoussac, besides an incredible 3.5hr whale-watching cruise. There are several small restaurants, shops, and stores to explore, as well as some beautiful trails to walk and discover this historical region.

A well-worthy adventure for romantics, families, or just a group of friends looking for a great place to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reallynormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Grand hotel. Gorgeous location. Rooms small but comfy. Main reception area stunning. Nice staff. Buy your whale cruise through them and get breakfast buy. Cheap upgrades to riverview available at checkin

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you very much to share your comments regarding your stay at Hôtel Tadoussac. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it through this input directly from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel Tadoussac.

Tina Tremblay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely visit of Charlevoix. It is quite a beautiful drive with lush greenery, windy roads and spectacular views. We stayed at Quebec City, La Malbaie and Tadoussac. We had originally booked two nights then after reading TA reviews and seeing the grounds of Fairmont Le Manoir we cancelled one of two nights at the Hotel Tadoussac. I'm very glad we did. Hotel Tadoussac is a classic yet it is tired. The furniture in the lobby is more suited for a older cottage and the hotel room is small. Gorgeous view but average. It desperately needs some money invested in it. For the money spent per night we were pleased with our decision to stay at a Fairmont instead. Getting way more value per night. It is quite cool there so the heated pool is not open till July I believe. There was one restaurant open that suited our family of four. It was the Café Boheme. It was amazing!! Highly recommended!
I would stay at a B &B instead or camp at les Bergeronnes!

Room Tip: Choose one with a view but it is pretty pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadieFrost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, Directeur général at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Bonjour,

We are very sorry and we sincerely apologize for not providing you with the hotel experience you expected. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Tina Tremblay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge La Galouine
Auberge La Galouine
#7 of 8 in Tadoussac
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#3 of 8 in Tadoussac
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range: $127 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing