We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, helpful staff, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Mexico
Level Contributor
327 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“OK hotel, helpful staff, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

What you are paying for here is the beautiful view of the St. Lawrence so try to get a bay-facing room. Our room was adequate, but the bathroom was small and didn't have enough racks or hooks for towels. The shower curtain smelled of mildew. We were given only one bar of soap, sp provided our own for the shower. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, but the management appears to be skimping on amenities. The large living area and lawn are lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you to share your comments regarding your stay to Hôtel Tadoussac.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    319
    221
    64
    26
See reviews for
223
427
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fingerlakes Ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We came here looking for some place elegant to celebrate my husbands birthday during or travels in Quebec. Unfortunitely we didn't get to stay here. We did however stay for dinner.The food was fantastic! The music was Grand and the wait staff made us feel like we were royalty! I would definitly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesFingerlakesNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your comments.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel Tadoussac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel as part of whale watching trip. The hotel premise was lovely and picturesque, sitting on the banks of the St Lawrence. But the rooms, though clean, were small, for 4 people (2 adults, 1 teen and 1 kid), we had to book 2 rooms, which were expensive. And some of the reviews comments were true. Even my 10 yrs old daughter commented how a queen room only had 1 night table with 1 table lamp (she was fighting with her sister for the night table and light). But I think we were quite lucky with the location of the rooms which were by the terrace and have some river view and were bright in the morning. $15 extra per person for breakfast seems quite steep especially after we paid more than $500 for the rooms. There are much cheaper options on the main street. Overall, I think we were paying for the scenery, which was quite impressive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest. Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in an extraordinarily beautiful setting. It's the kind of place where it is worth it to pay extra for the view from your window, and it was a splurge for us to stay here. The room was on the smaller side, but fine for two adults and two children. While they probably have limits in updating some of the decor, they did seem to splurge on upgrading the bedding, toiletries, etc. The room was very clean. All that said, we were disappointed by the service that left an overall unfavorable impression of the hotel. One of the things that sold us on the hotel was the kids club. Despite double checking about its availability, we found it canceled the afternoon we wanted to use it without notice or explanation. We could have dealt with it being canceled for the day, but we regretted having wasted a day waiting around for something that never happened. The manager was not helpful. I did receive an apology email from the company after completing a survey, but you expect better for these prices. In general, one got the sense that the staff was being pushed really hard and that sometimes shows in interactions with guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor if you are paying for a view. Otherwise, all the people lounging on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

First of all, sorry for response of delay and sorry for not sending an email following receiving your survey.
Your comments are extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.
Please accept our apologies that we did not delivery our kids club service.
This is not the normal course of business at Hôtel Tadoussac.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is located beautifully. The view is fantastic and the deck chair are nice to relax on if its not to cool. The rooms themselves however are average. The rooms are noisy the first night we could hear the person above all night. The bathrooms are small. The food at the restaurant was really good. We got the breakfast buffet (extra $20) and it was good. The dinner and desserts are good too. When we arrived there was a bit of a wait for check in. There is complimentary wifi. Overall the location and history of the place was fantastic it just needs a few refurbishments.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you to share your comments following your stay at Hôtel Tadoussac.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Sorry for the response delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I agree with some of the other reviewers that this is an older hotel with small rooms that require some renovations. The first time I saw this hotel was in a documentary about Canada but knowing that this is a historic landmark hotel, I adjusted my expectations accordingly. A lot of the furniture in the lobby is old and worn and the whole place has a cottage vibe. However, that's what contributes to the charm of this hotel. The hotel overlooks the beautiful Tadoussac bay and we had a river facing room. The breakfast buffet offered a very extensive selection from eggs and crepes to cold cuts, croissants, fresh fruit and joghurt. I found all the staff from front desk to dining room to be very friendly and attentive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but instead walked across the street where you will find a selection of local restaurants.

I think this is a great place to use as a base when going whale watching in Tadoussac.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you to share your comments.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel Tadoussac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Anyone who doesn't like this hotel , just doesn't "get it". We stayed the night before in a very expensive hotel in Quebec City (395.00), this hotel is different, it is historic. It reminded us of the USA national park hotels in Yellowstone, etc. So, here's the scoop.
We took the free car ferry (15 min) over from the mainland and arrived at the hotel. It is beautiful and the check in and service was fantastic. When we booked I added a breakfast and the whale watching excursion to the room. It was a value when booked together.
The hotel:
You walk into a large lobby with views of the lawn and water. There are board games, a puzzle and lots of chairs and tables to sit. This is not a NEW hotel, but a HISTORIC one. So, relax and enjoy the way things used to be in hotels. The desk has loaner putters for the putting green. There is a heated pool and tennis court. I guarantee if you don't stay here you will hang out here. Yes, it isn't a modern marriott, but it is not an "old people' hotel. It is lovely. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are the usual size. There is no air conditioner, but we slept with our windows open and it was cold in August. The breakfast was AMAZING. Everything you could ever want and the whale watching trip the next morning fantastic. We saw 3 humpbacks and a blue whale.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#4 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auberge Maison Gagne
Auberge Maison Gagne
#1 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Property: Hotel Tadoussac
Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing