We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a North Shore gem”
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still a North Shore gem”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I used to visit the hotel when I was a boy in the late 60' and early 70's so I thought it would be fun to bring my family there for a one night stay and an early morning whale watch.

We booked two rooms for one night. It was a very warm day and because the hotel does not have air conditioning (built in 1941 after the original 1864 building burned down), the guest rooms can be very warm until the combination of open windows and ceiling fans improves things. The wall paper in the dining room is truly something to behold, chronicling military conflicts between the French and English in the 1600 and 1700's. A real slice of history, albeit a violent one.

Overall the hotel is a little pricey for the amenities but still a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    322
    224
    65
    26
See reviews for
227
431
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and each time we have enjoyed it. Recognizing the age of the hotel, it is clean and comfortable. Staff have always be helpful and friendly. Although there is no air conditioning in the room with the fan and the window the scent of coniferous trees coming from the forests is soothing.

Sitting outside in the evening and watching the ships go up and down the river is relaxing.
Several days here, with its ambience and the singing in the main lobby of guests in the evening is like having a full body message. The breakfast is excellent. Never had the dinner as we were out most of the day. Would i go back? YES.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huronhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location and I understand that they have a short season. But.... 250 dollars for a room in a slightly run own hotel, without air con and excluding breakfast seems high. I did also find their restaurant and bar prices similarly inflated - 12 dollars for a bottle of beer?

Room Tip: Lower floor in summer -upper floors bake in hot weather and have no A/C
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Due to the valuable tips I got here and which helped be choose this hotel, I wanted to share my experience for the the next person. The hotel is a grand old hotel, well kept and well located. The package of room, breakfast and whale watching tour was an excellent value and totally worth it. The tour guides pick you up and the hotel door. The staff are courteous and very helpful. There is an outdoor (heated) pool with lifeguard, kids club with treasure hunt and nightly kids movies. We also played tennis on the resort courts (the hotel lends rackets and balls). The view is spectacular from the front lawn. We stayed an extra day we loved it so much and would have stayed longer if we could have! Made for a great vacation. Thanks to all the others who provided their input!

Room Tip: West side rooms are quieter (not above the restaurant), likely higher floors too. Double beds are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromLongueuilQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you very much sharing your experience.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel Tadoussac.

Sorry for the response delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
234 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is huge and in a beautiful location, within a short walk of the harbor area as well as town center for restaurants. Our room was clean and had a view of the water. There is no air conditioning, and our visit coincided with a period of very high temperatures, so getting the room comfortable at night was a challenge (there is a ceiling fan). Restaurants in the hotel are very expensive, but we did try the excellent buffet breakfast. Every staff member we met was very friendly and bilingual. We would rate the hotel five stars if it wasn't quite so expensive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

For our anniversary we travelled to Quebec and the Saguenay Fjords for kayaking and a camping expedition. After that we headed to Hotel Tadoussac for gourmet food and whale watching by Zodiac. The hotel 's dinner package was amazing as there is no place like eating in Canada than in the province of Quebec!The room was simple and clean . The fan was a bit noisy but it was necessary as there is no air conditioning. The views are like no other on the St . Lawrence River even though it is too cold, 4 degrees celsius, for swimming . I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden view as we had already been on the water for 2 days and opted for the more reasona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou5070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a little out of the way and we were there when the hotel was virtually empty but it was grand. We had a balcony room - in the middle of the second floor overlooking the river and a sloping lawn. The breakfast was expensive and an extra but worth it. I would avoid dinner in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrywi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadoussac, General Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments.
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest.

Sincerely.

Sorry for the response delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#4 of 8 in Tadoussac
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge La Galouine
Auberge La Galouine
#7 of 8 in Tadoussac
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Maison Gagne
Auberge Maison Gagne
#1 of 19 in Tadoussac
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Property: Hotel Tadoussac
Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing