We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising and tasty!”
Review of Bistro Kapzak - CLOSED

Bistro Kapzak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Polish, Eastern European, Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprising and tasty!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Newcomer in town, excellent Polish and european menu. Meaty, tasty, hearty dishes: not for the meager stomach!
Friendly staff and atmosphere; near corner of King and Wellington st. (used to be a run-down end of the city; places like this are growing and changin the aera for the better!)
A little pricey but definitely worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank yaburo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Do not let yourself be fooled by the restaurant's exterior appearance, the inside is a lot cosier and elegant!
Kapzak is specialized in Polish food, even though I had never tried it, the menu seemed delicious: duck, choucroute, veal or fish to suit all tastes.
The price is very reasonable for the quality of the food; I took the veal with a sweet potato purée which was outstanding! Then we could have as a dessert, a Polish donut with red fruits: a pleasure.
Service is discrete and polite.
I will go again for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Frenchie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Whilst visiting Sherbrooke with my girl friend Francoise to help move her son to Montreal, we ventured down town for dinner. I ordered Duck breast which turned out to be the best cooked duck I have ever eaten, added to this a great bottle Spanish Tempranillo "Canforrales" at $29.00 We were also very fortunate to have a very attentive Bilingual waitress who made the whole night very enjoyable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Scouserted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing after all the great reviews”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Based on the reviews decided to try this place while we were visiting. Lunch came with appetizers but extra charge for some of the appetizers. Soup of the day was onion & beer which was ok. Chef's salad was a pasta salad instead of the usual green. Perogies were good with sauerkraut which was not as acidic as some since it is house made. The cold cured herring & smoked salmon came In nice sweet tangy vinaigrette. Polish sausage came with soggy fries and house made sauerkraut (average tasting), pork chops with soggy fries & veg (good size chop but nothing remarkable taste wise) & what was supposed to be grilled veal chops on mashed sweet potatoes with veg (instead got a chewy pork chop with little taste). Overall not recommending as a great place. Just average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Atmosphere & service!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful space, delicious food and lovely staff! The food is fresh and tasty! Very authentic and great variety. they even vegetarian option! The owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly. If you in township area you definitely want to check Bistro Kapzak!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank NAWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Kapzak also viewed

 
Sherbrooke, Quebec
Sherbrooke, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing