We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated 4 stars but lacks amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sherbrooke
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rated 4 stars but lacks amenities”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a quick overnight stay. First impression of this hotel is that it is very clean and modern. Staff was very pleasant upon check in. The location is great with a walking/running trail that circles the lake just steps outside. Two areas of disappointment: 1. Lack of F&B on site (no restaurant) and 2. Services are limited. For example when I called down to the front desk for additional towels, I was told to come to the desk and they would give me some. Perhaps I am not familiar with the star rating system in Canada as I am from the US but when I book a four star property I expect service, and this hotel while clean and new feels like a limited service property when staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodsnob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    140
    77
    30
    20
See reviews for
76
101
10
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Awesome hotel in a terrific location. Walk out the back into a park-like atmosphere around Lac de Nations with Parc Jacques-Cartier on the far end, about 1 mile away. The hotel decor is interesting with lots of color and artistic design. It's a nice change from the usual hotel decor.
The staff is friendly and bi-lingual (a good thing for me). The free breakfast is minimal - cereal, breads and fruit, but sufficient unless you need a heavier fare of meat and eggs. There is a nice 2 mile long running/walking/bike path around the lake for exercise. I highly recommend this hotel. It's not the cheapest in Sherbrooke, but the nicest I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Let me start with the reason the rating of this place fell all the way to a one star -
The room rates they charge apparently are for one person only!! And even if you have specified 2 people at the time of booking, don't be surprised if you see additional charges in your bill!!!
So either I am a total newbie at staying in hotels or this is just plain ridiculous!!!

Below is the review for the hotel and stay that I had written while I was staying there -
So well, it is a no frills, very contemporary kind of hotel. A far cry from the Marriotts and Hiltons and nothing 4 star about it except the location and the lake nearby.
The breakfast is a selection of some breads, cereals and that's about it. And take it on styrofoam plates! Now which 4 star stay does that to you !
That way I prefer estimont suites n spa in Magog which is where I stayed for 2 weeks on my last visit.

The good:
-Location
-Can walk to nearby restaurants, downtown
-There is a grocery store(Super C) within walking distance
-Parking available in the basement and you can get to your floor directly from the parking.

The room :
Decent sized, carpeted, exposed ceiling (6th floor) , lake view(4th floor)

Closet-
Very small

Fridge, TV, Microwave - Was available in the room we stayed.

Has a gym, a bar and a swimming pool, all of them are small sized though.

Useful tips:
-This hotel has no restaurant. There are a few where you can avail a discount if you are staying at this hotel
-Not sure if there are any rooms that have coffee machines or atleast a couple of coffee mugs that can be used in the microwave. Mine had no coffee mugs or sugar or anything.
-I was told that the locker is available only in suites.
-Maid services are only available during the stated hours.
-Most but not all front door staff could understand and speak English.

Value for money - For a room that is priced at $150+ , I personally don't see the value for money. And this is based on the fact that I am a very frequent traveler (US, Europe, Canada) and usually stay at Marriotts/Hiltons and know and appreciate quality of service and value for money.

Room Tip: If there's more than one person staying in a room, I would suggest you check with them if they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeeSNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sherbrooke hotels

Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious, done in a contemporary style. Very clean. A bit of traffic noise if your room is facing the street, so request a room facing the river. Nice continental breakfast in the lobby was an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was so much fun! Everything was new and modern. As sometime modern can seem cold this place was warm and very friendly. From the minute we walked in the staff was outstanding and very helpful. We received free drink coupons when we checked in and enjoyed a drink in the evening with the view of the water. Our room was large, clean, modern and beds are very comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave. Great location, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Free parking outside and bathroom was well stocked for all our needs. The complimentary breakfast was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iliketotravelwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I can recommend the Grand Times Hotel in Sherbrooke. It is conveniently located in downtown Sherbrooke and is walking distance to several good restaurants. The outside parking lot is free. The hotel has a decent continental breakfast with a good variety of items. Knowledge of the French language though is helpful everywhere in Sherbrooke!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGringoAmistoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Times Hotel during a short stay in Sherbrooke. The staff was friendly, attentive, and speedy. Parking was free. The hotel was ultra-modern appearing. Our room was clean, well-maintained, well-stocked, and tidy. The bathroom was huge with nice towels. This room had a good amount of storage space with a huge TV. The bedding was clean but not the most comfortable. This room did have a well-stocked work space. There was Wi-Fi available throughout for free. There was a workout area and pool. The breakfast was great. We drove past it twice. Although a little out of my price rage I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkennedy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherbrooke
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
412 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sherbrooke Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#11 of 16 in Sherbrooke
85 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites
Quality Hotel & Suites
#14 of 16 in Sherbrooke
51 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke

Property: Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Address: 1 rue Belvedere Sud, Sherbrooke, Quebec J1H 0G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sherbrooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing